We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Monroe
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beware!!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here, only because we had prepaid and didn't want to be out all that money. Managment was not there at all during our stay, and their "I don't care attitude" has spread through entire staff (except for 2 ladies) like a bad stomach bug (possibly caused by the "yellow stuff" or "mystery meat" served at breakfast.). Front desk employees work excessively long shifts and are expected to do the work of 2-3 people, causing the front desk to have a sign saying "ring bell for service" or "call this number for service" almost constantly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 933jennifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnmonroemi, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for this useful feedback about our staffing and for staying multiple nights with us. As part of an overall improvement program, we’ve made some staffing changes and many other changes to the hotel since this stay. I challenge you to try us again to see how we’re better now than we’ve ever been.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    18
    16
    13
    22
See reviews for
36
20
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Upon arrival the lady at the front desk was by far the rudest person I've encountered while staying at any hotel. Thankfully during our 3 night stay that was the only time we had to deal with her. The room was nice, but it was very obvious it hadn't been swept (fuzz, paper, and a toy) were on floor. During the second nights stay I saw what resembled an earwig on the wall. Pool area is nice. A fan or better ventilation would of helped the STRONG chlorine smell. Had a pretty good sized breakfast that was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Wouldn't stay near the housekeeping area. Had a strong chemical odor down that hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misskole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comstock Park, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

room was great. However the staff was very rude. The front desk alerted us to the pet fee by calling the room. We went to the front desk to pay said fee and nobody was there. Then, they started calling our HOUSE! Then the afternoon desk person visited the room. I say, my dogs were much less of a disturbance than the children running up and down the halls for several hours! We also had staff pounding on the doors when there is a sign that clearly states: Do not disturb. They also tried to hurry us out of the room a half hour before regular checkout after we had arranged for a late checkout. With all the years I have travelled, this is the rudest and most unwelcoming staff I have encountered. As a choice privilages member, I expect better than to be harrassed and treated like a second class guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnmonroemi, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for this valuable feedback. As part of an improvement effort, we’ve made a number of staffing changes recently that have contributed to an overall more pleasant atmosphere at our hotel. We’ve made many other changes as well. We hope you’ll try us again soon to see how we’re different.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monroe hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I were in the area for a family function. We stayed two nights. The room appeared to be clean but after we were in there for a while what did I see but an insect on the wall. My husband went to the desk and complained they offered us a double queen room (we specifically wanted a King room) but it was very late and he didn't want to pack up all our stuff and move it by ourselves.
Desk told him they would spray the room the next day. The next night we were in the bed watching TV and he saw crawling on the bed another bug that the desk identified as an earwig. Again another room was offered and turned down. I doubt that we will stay with this chain again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnmonroemi, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying two nights with us. We value your business. While I must refute strongly any suggestion of an insect issue at our property, I can tell you that we’ve made a number of changes and improvements recently and we’re better than ever now. I hope you will try us again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicksville
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel was clean and the room was nice. They had a continental breakfast and a workout room. When you walk into the hotel, the air conditioning wasn't working so well. The hallways were warm and outside was the 90s. The walls must be super thin because at night when I was getting ready to go to sleep, I could hear everything in the hallways. I could hear a neighbor flushing the toilet and someone upstairs walking in their room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Upon check-in around 4:30 PM, no one was at the front desk, had to ring the bell for service. Employee wasn't sure the rooms were ready? She sent housekeeping to check? Luckily both rooms were ready. They must be having issues with the room card keys, they didn't work on one room when we dropped off our luggage. Maintenance changed batteries and it worked. Later, after dinner, neither room keys worked! Front desk replace both sets and we didn't have any further problems. TV channels were okay, not very many being so close to Detroit, some channels were snowy. Rooms were adequate. Beds were pillow top soft. Pillows were thick, but half the normal size. Bathroom was clean, but the shower curtain should be replaced. Breakfast was okay, make your own waffles, processed scrambled eggs and ham, dry cereals, breads, sweet rolls, muffins, juices, fruit, milk and coffee. Would be nice to have a microwave in the breakfast room. Check out was slow, no one at the front desk! The same person for that was also the same one that took care of the breakfast room. Maybe it was because of the Memorial Day weekend? Anyway ended up leaving the keys in the rooms. Price was good, would stay again, hopefully things would improve?

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mkh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nav G, Owner at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We strive for perfection in our hotel rooms and the service and comfort of our guests is a top priority.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and suggestions, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.


Sincerely,

Nav Grewal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't reccommend that anyone stay more than one night in this hotel. When we tried to open our hotel door (#103) we had to ram our shoulders into it because the door was cracking and sticking. Our room was right next door to house keeping and smelled of chemicals and smoke. The walls are very hallow and every time someone walked by our room we could hear it. The beds aren't too bad but the pillows are half the size of regular pillows and twice as thick. The furniture in the room was scratched. Overal for just sleeping one night it was okay, but my family and I wouldn't be able to spend any longer here.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnmonroemi, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for enjoying a pleasant night at our hotel. For any ways we fell short of your complete satisfaction, I sincerely apologize. Please know that we’ve changed and improved in many ways since your stay and hope you’ll try us again to see how we’re better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Monroe
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
#1 of 9 in Monroe
256 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
20.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Milan
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe

Property: Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
Address: 6500 E Albain Rd, Monroe, MI 48161-9594 (Formerly Monroe Hotel and Premier Banquets)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monroe
Monroe Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing