We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Montague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carleton, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stepping back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Where to begin...John and Valerie are excellent hosts! Upon arrival a tour of the homestead and grounds took place. The home is very well kept and Val and John have worked hard to maintain the atmosphere of days gone by.
This was a mom and daughter get-a-way and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.
We took part in Bygone Basics' pastry class on Friday evening. We made Depression Era Apple pies that turned out beautifully. This was followed up by a fantastic dinner made by Valerie.
On Saturday we took part in a Chocolate and Biscotti class with six new friends. It was so much fun (not to mention delicious)!
The breakfasts served on Friday, Saturday and Sunday were all very different. The extent that Val goes through to provide a unique meal does not go unnoticed. Val makes her own butter, cheese and yogurts (just to mention a few). So much is self-sustained.
The true tell of a good experience is: Would you do it again? ABSOLUTELY!
My daughter was so impressed with my choice of our get-away she is also looking forward to a repeat visit. Thank you Val and John!

Room Tip: The main floor room is small. If you want a place to lounge, choose the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gramsbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We fondly remember you stay. When guests choose some of the extra options available here, through our cooking school, Bygone Basics, we really get to know our guests. (Which is awesome fun as an activity) Of course we are glad you enjoyed it so much...we did too! We look forward to a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived an hour late but Valerie was unphazed. We were made to feel welcome right away. I love to garden and it was fun to share our experiences. My husband is an experienced renovator and he loved to see their work. Valerie prepared a supper for us from White House recipes from 1900. We loved it. The breakfast was fine also. One warning, bring your appetites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here. We surely enjoyed swapping restoration and cooking/canning stories with you two. :) And we are pleased you enjoyed it as well! Thanks for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montague, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a very small winter wedding, looking for a place for a intimate dinner setting and have out of town family stay-we found Amanda's Bequest. Its a relaxed, down home atmosphere. Even our 10 year old nephew was blown away by the home feel. Its true what Valerie and John say, you come in a stranger and you leave a friend. Our experience can be summed up in one word, AMAZING.
They prepared snacks and dinner-was out of this world. They decorated for our winter wedding, Again, they out did themselves. Changed the rooms around to suit us, before and after for a little "dance floor." Myself, new hubby and some family stayed the night, had a wonderful breakfast.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. If I ever have family stay over from out of town, they'd be my first recommendation, If ever wanted another intimate setting for a party of some sort I will definitely do it here again.
If you are looking for a relaxing place to unwind look no further.
Thank you for easing a lot of my wedding planning stress. You made our day absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: We filled the house with guests, Every guest loved their room. There is a suit with a hot tub, Anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are SO VERY pleased we could remove your wedding planning and wedding day stress for you two! It was a memorable experience and we were honored to have your special day here. Thank you. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Amanda's Bequest was my first Bed and Breakfast in the states, and it was fantastic. The home was warm and inviting and Valerie and John could not have been any more gracious. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cherrypez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Wow. <blushing> That was a nice review. Thank you. It is such a pleasure meeting so many great people and we treasure all of our guests. We are so glad it shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was by far the best B& B experience! The owners were fabulous and so sweet! And they are amazing cooks! The location and house was beautiful and I loved all the wilderness around them. Very secluded and peaceful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pinkyspix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Peaceful does certainly describe it here. A nice and relaxing time can be had just sitting in our rear lawns or by the firepit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here at the start of our bike trip north along Lake Michigan. Amanda's is a super B&B with the opportunity for gourmet dining thrown in. Very good location and the owner's could not be more hospitable. Worth a bit of a detour to stay here and experience great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you! We are pleased you enjoyed the food. We love to serve delicious farm to table foods. We make/grow much of it ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were looking for relaxing escape from the city and daily routines and came back with a smile on our faces. This b&b is located between nice little towns, parks and beaches, close to the lake. It is quite, offers great food and is run by good people. Book directly over their website or just give them a call - we never had hidden costs!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bastian1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you. So glad you had a nice relaxing stay. It is certainly one of our goals for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
1.3 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#5 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.3 mi away
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5200 Anderson Rd, Montague, MI 49437-1506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B! Located in the city but on 2 acres near beautiful White Lake. Enjoy seasonal activities and events, charming farms, and thriving arts & cultural communities. A unique heritage farm-style stay. Wonderfully comfortable rooms with private baths (one with a jacuzzi), a central parlor/socializing area, as well as the on-site culinary school (Requires preregistration. Contact for more information), a farm garden, strolling forest, biking/hiking/skiing/snowshoeing, flower gardens, and heritage cultural & cuisine experiences; for its guests, and nearby Medberry Park with its light house great public beach and sunset pier stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing