We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absoultely Fantastic - Wonderful Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Montague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
“Absoultely Fantastic - Wonderful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was in town for an a all day bike ride and couldn't get a room at the local hotels so, I tried Amanda's Bequest. What a FANTASTIC find. I believe I had the best accommodations of the group I rode with. Very comfortable room. Incredibly peaceful location. I slept great both nights!!!! The best part, though, were my hosts, Valerie and John. They went out of their way (or so it seemed to me .... I think they treat all their guests this way!!) to make me feel comfortable & welcome. They exceeded all my expectations. Oh, and since it was a B&B the breakfast was truly spectacular. I don't ever think I've every started breakfast with a slice of homemade apple pie, cheese and fruit. Then onto a full breakfast!! Excellent!. I will definitely stay again for next year's ride. And, if I go back to the area for any other reason I would definitely want to stay here again.

Room Tip: They have 3 rooms. One downstairs that's small but perfect for a couple. The 2 upstairs are la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidkcc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
You certainly are a dedicated bicyclist! What a big ride that ODRAM was in one day. It was truly our pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to a return visit. That we exceeded your expectations is so nice to know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I agree with the positive reviews. According to their own write-up, landscaping is still underway in the front of the place, and this is not one of those overdecorated Victorian houses. At the same time, we found the inside to be perfectly charming, our room to be more spacious than many B&B rooms, and everything to be blessedly clean. We also appreciated reading about the history of the place and how the owners have worked on the house. It was also fun to feed grass to their chickens, ducks, and rabbits, and we even had a nice stroll in the woods behind the house.

Our only small quibble was that the wifi was quite slow and kept knocking us off the server, but that could be caused by a number of things and may have been a temporary problem. At any rate, the gods of vacation were probably irked that we were using wifi when we should have been exploring the coast more.

We were actually doing some business in Muskegon, but we are so glad we made the relatively short drive north. The area is much more scenic, and this B&B is far better than the hotels down there. The town is pretty small, but it's fun for antiquing and close to places with more tourist attractions (it does, mind you, have the world's largest weathervane).

We've stayed at a few B&Bs and had the pleasure of meeting friendly owners, but John and Valerie were the most welcoming, forthright, and helpful of them all. Further, Valerie is not only an excellent cook and host, she is also a diver, history buff, soap maker, and farmer. I'm sure a few more quirky things could be added to the list, but suffice it to say that an interesting host makes for an interesting stay.

If you are looking for a place anywhere in the area, don't hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: There is one room that is smaller than the others; I think it is 1900s. Be sure to ask the host abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiselleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you!. Sorry it took me a bit to get a response back to you. We really enjoyed your stay with us. <Chuckling> Yep, turns our restoring a very old home includes the lawns too that have fell into despair from previous owners. You'll be surprised to discover we now have a sitting patio, garden and fish pond landscaped into the rear lawns. We are in a constant state of improvement. Come on back and see the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at this B&B just over a week ago and it was fantastic. The owners, John and Valerie, are some of the most generous and friendly proprietors you'll ever meet. The B&B is situated withing walking distance to downtown Montague, and just a 10 minute drive from the wonderful beaches of western MI. As far as home made breakfasts go, you'd be hard pressed to find anything that could surpass Valerie's cooking. From the cheeses she makes, to three course breakfasts of farm to table eggs and vegetables, you'll never be disappointed sitting down for breakfast. In fact, that might be the only large meal of the day for you. The only (incredibly) small drawback of our stay was size of the 1900's room. You'll have to be strategic about suitcase placement because the room is small. This is not enough to detract from the experience though. Amanda's Bequest is sure to become an incredibly popular and well known destination in Montague.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Amanda's Bequest B&B. Such descriptive reviews as yours are always a great guide for others who are wondering what a stay here would be like. The Atkins 1900s Room is small in comparison to the two huge upstairs rooms. Putting the in-room bathroom took up some floor space. It does give folks who don't wish to do stairs a great main floor stay and is quite a pretty room with a garden view and easy in and out of the house access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were in the Montague/Whitehall area visiting friends at a nearby fine arts camp and my husband wanted to stay at a local chain hotel and I wanted to camp. Our compromise was booking a stay at Amanda's Bequest and we are sure glad that we did. I can't say enough positive things about our stay but let me mention a few.

The B&B is clean, quiet and tastefully decorated with many interesting antiques. Valerie and John (owners) are really fun to visit with and they are both extremely enthusiastic about the history of the house (a former parsonage) as well as the history of the Montague area.

Valerie also runs a cooking school and you will get a better meal with her delicious and generous farm to table breakfasts than you can get at any other restaurant in the Montegue/Whitehall area. I was so full from my first day's breakfast that I couldn't even try to eat until dinner even though I had kayaked around the entire circumference of the White Lake that day. If you are really lucky, you might arrange your stay at a time when Valerie is offering one of her cooking classes. She was teaching a class on cheese making when we were there and I was sorry that I couldn't attend it.

Having chickens, ducks, bunnies and a garden in the backyard adds to the fun. During the winter, Valerie and John offer a trail for XC skiing on their property. And the property is near boat launches, trails and both downtown Montague and Whitehall.

If you have trouble managing stairs or can't live without central air, you should email or call Valerie and John to make sure that the room you reserve meets your expectations. They are very honest and straightforward and will make sure that you are comfortable. If you book directly through Amanda's Bequest website (www.amandasbequest.com) as opposed to an intermediary site, you can communicate any special needs or dietary concerns you may have directly with the owners, and ask plenty of detailed questions about your accommodations.

We are now really "spoiled" by Amanda's Bequest and I hope we can always stay there on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augiethelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
What a thorough and wonderful review! Thank you. It is so nice to know we have met ...and exceeded...expectations. It is true that we work hard to make our food from scratch and do use our own grown-on-premises natural foods, or source it locally when possible; and so we are pleased it is noticed and appreciated. We look forward to your return stay...things are always changing and so will be interesting for you to see the changes. For instance, there is now a patio and fishpond in the rear lawn. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Every review here is spot-on. I needed a place to stay for one night in the area, which turned into a lovely break from my week. Stayed in the 1920's room: very spacious and private, great bed and bathroom suite.

First class, generous treatment throughout. I highly recommend Amanda's Bequest!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your getaway to Amanda's Bequest and took the time to leave a review. It is good to have such support for all the kind comments left here on TA. Thank you for choosing us and we do hope to see you again when you get to Michigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Gratiot, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were in the area working on a Discovery Network film shoot. Which might sound exciting but really means we are coming and going at all hours of the day and night. Our schedules and plans change with the wind. Some hotels and even some B&B's frown on 'excessive' gear and equipment being carried through their place. Which is why, when we stay some place that is completely accommodating to all our crazy needs and feeds us better than our mothers, we have to give them a shout out! So how good is Valerie? At bedtime we requested a hot lunch for the whole crew (10 adults) be served at noon. At 10am we called to say we need a cold lunch served dockside at 1pm. At noon we called back to beg for hot food at 2pm when the film crew would finally come in after filming on Lake Michigan. It was one of the best meals we had the entire trip! Meanwhile John was helping to arrange boat trips and gear storage and well you get the idea....five stars across the board!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KJFB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
WOW. thank you for your review. It certainly was a memorable stay for us too. Serving high tea to 20 film crew and T.V. personalities from U.K. was a bit intimidating! And the dinners too. :) We did see that John was actually on the film when it aired on Animal Planet in the U.K. FUN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hosts, Valerie and John, were very genuine and down to earth and provided a very comforting experience. It was a very well maintained home that had comfortable balance of old and new. They were very relaxed about their antiques and let you play the victrola. The king sized bed was very comfortable, the room spacious and clean. It was an ideal location for us as they are just a mile from the small quaint town in a quiet neighborhood area and a block away from a bike path that connects to the hart montague trail. The breakfasts were excellent and the hosts emphasize utilizing food from their large garden and few chickens that they have. Valerie runs her own cooking classes emphasizing traditional techniques of cooking and breakfasts had all homemade jams, cheeses, and yogurts. It was a wonderful stay, and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDnWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansonv, Owner at Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
It is wonderful to know that the care we put into our foods and taking care of our guests, shows. :) thank you so much for detailing some of the things you enjoyed while staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
1.3 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#3 of 5 in Whitehall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5200 Anderson Rd, Montague, MI 49437-1506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B! Located in the city but on 2 acres near beautiful White Lake. Enjoy seasonal activities and events, charming farms, and thriving arts & cultural communities. A unique heritage farm-style stay. Wonderfully comfortable rooms with private baths (one with a jacuzzi), a central parlor/socializing area, as well as the on-site culinary school (Requires preregistration. Contact for more information), a farm garden, strolling forest, biking/hiking/skiing/snowshoeing, flower gardens, and heritage cultural & cuisine experiences; for its guests, and nearby Medberry Park with its light house great public beach and sunset pier stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing