We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Weathervane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weathervane Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Weathervane Inn exceeded expectation in all regards. We chose to stay here on the way to pick up our child from Blue Lake Fine Arts camp. The price was high and a two night minimum was required. Yet we decided to splurge a bit, especially because the Inn is dog-friendly. It was charming and has very nice amenities. Fireplace, tub spa, double shower, huge towels, DVD player in TV, iPod-friendly clock, microwave and fridge, and a lovely balcony. Breakfast is pretty standard fare, but not outstanding. Warm cookies at 8 pm! Also, the Inn is right on the bike trail, with a full grocery store and ice cream shop right across the street. Lake view is just that- a view, not for swimming.

Room Tip: Second floor was quiet. Many of the first floor rooms are right at entrance and across from check-i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A2Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    84
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
38
168
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the WeatherVane Inn and had a wonderful stay despite the rainy cold weather in July of all months. The Inn is just charming, friendly stall, clean spacious and comfortable with a fireplace which we did use and a hot tub which we didn't. All the rooms had a beautiful harbor view with your own patio. It is located right in the middle of town where you can walk to everything, even a short walk across the bridge to Whitehall which has some unique shops to browse through. The Inn does not have beach access so you shouldn't expect that but Lake Michigan is just a short drive away. Check out the lighthouse on Channel Drive, the first left up the hill in town and a couple miles down the road and there is beach access there also. The Visitors center is across the street from the Inn and were very helpful in guiding us to different destinations. Also across the street is the bike, kayak etc. rentals. Montague has a awesome bike trail that runs 40 miles long! You can't miss eating at Dog N Suds that is right across the street too. All and all we had a wonderful weekend getaway and would recommend the WeatherVane Inn and the surrounding area to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWestfall2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We thought "lakefront" meant you could swim here. NOT the case! The water outside the rooms is full of seaweed and lily pads. The lake is off in the distance! The pool is for the people who live in the condo's next door.The only lake access is Lake Michigan which is a 15-20 drive away. They "HOLD" a 110% "incidental" charge on whatever card you give them which is held for a min. of 6 days! We have stayed in much more "fancy" hotels that do not HOLD a ridiculous charge such as this....So for a 2 night stay= $460+ for room (on a weekend) AND (you have to commit to a 2 night stay) plus $512+ on HOLD! ...You better have a thick wallet! We also had to leave early (family emergency), so could not stay the second night, and the only explanation/assistance we got was "there is a 5 day cancellation policy" so we paid $466 for a one night stay! (Not to mention the money still on hold)
Although the room was clean...it smelled like a bottle of fabreeze (had to open windows to air it out). The sink was clogged and water backed up with every use. The 'continental' breakfast is literally in a hallway with minimal choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because the kids wanted to use the hot tub, so we were greatly disappointed when we tried to use it and the water came out brownish green! We expressed our concern with the lady at the front desk who told us to just let it run for 15 minutes. We let it run, with no change. Tried running it for half hour again the second night and still no change. Actually called the lady into our room to look at it. She said it had been tested and was safe, but I was not willing to let my little ones in without any proof. We were told we would get a $25 per night credit, but are only getting a $25 credit total. Very unhelpful staff. Also, the ringer on the phone at the front desk was set so loud that we heard it loud and clear from our room. Also, the front door traffic, as well as the "ding" every time someone went into the attached boutique, were very annoying sounds that we heard from our room. Had to find dishes and cups in the cupboards ourselves at breakfast. Will NOT be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have now stayed at the WeatherVane Inn on 3 separate occassions and will definitely stay again. The staff is very efficient and friendly, giving honest direction to places to eat and where to avoid! The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. THe continetal breakfast is perfect to start your day and the evening freshly made cookies are a delight to end it!

Room Tip: I have stayed in 3 different rooms and all have been great. Room 111, you cannot open the pull out c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpdmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were visiting family in the area and needed a 2 night stay close to their home. The stay could have not been more comfortable. The room was super large, bed very comfortable, there was a large Jacuzzi tub and even a gas fireplace! and to boot It was extremely clean. What else could you ask for....only thing could have been better coffee and better breakfast choices.
Thanks for the lovely stay and we would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: First floor near lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosiet150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Weathervane one night and enjoyed the convenient location to the bike path which is next to the parking lot. Since it was a Sunday night during the off season there weren't many people at the inn so it was quiet and my husband and I enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evening with a glass of wine which overlooked the lake/marina. The room was nicely updated. I used the spa which was great, but really loud. Nice shower with two shower heads. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scullysioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
13.0 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
417 reviews
18.8 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Inn

Property: Weathervane Inn
Address: 4527 Dowling St, Montague, MI 49437-1299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weathervane Inn is a boutique lakefront hotel featuring 23 contemporary designed guest rooms. This "home away from home" offers fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and balconies to soak in the beauty of White Lake. Take in a movie from your couch, catch up with friends or work with our wireless internet or head outside and enjoy a book while unwinding in our gazebo or napping in a deck chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Weathervane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Hotel Montague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing