We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, warm, and jacuzzi is great”
Review of Weathervane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weathervane Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Enjoyed my stay here in the winter in December. I love that each room has a jacuzzi and fireplace, but the fireplace did not work very well due to the heater being on. I'm not sure how that works out...The kitchen appliances were small but neat and useful if you want to cook while you're there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The room and amenities were mostly fine. We did have an issue where our bathroom light broke and found out that the maintenance staff/man had the weekend off and there was no back up so we just had to deal with it.

The Mgmt awful bit was when I returned home and found my cc statement was more than my receipt. When I called, and the front desk girl was rude and kinda lied. Which I guess wasn't her fault, her manager Britt I think was her name, made her tell me there was no manager on site. But eventually they came clean and I spoke to the manager, but I wish I hadn't, she was scary mean, like super horror movie mean, yelling and cursing... So I hung up and emailed. Luckily someone else wrote me back and I dealt with that person.

Really unfortunate cause it was a great weekend and the Hotel was cute but having to deal with them about anything even remotely unpleasant, like an inaccurate charge, was just awful.

I don't care how good fresh baked cookies smell... I'll never go back.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
14  Thank AvidTraveler718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A warm and inviting fireplace; relaxing jaccuzi bath overlooking the lake--6 inches of light fluffy snow--sound like a great time in MI. The staff was very inviting and right there when you needed them. The continental breakfast is standard, but well stocked and fresh despite the small number of customers checked in those days. Bed is very comfy and its so nice to have your dog welcomed! Thanks Weathervane Inn for another fantastic Thanksgiving!

Room Tip: lake view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We arrived on a Friday evening to the smell of freshly baked choc. chip cookies. A pleasant surprise. Check-in went well & we were given our room number & directed to our room. We had a king kitchenette w/fireplace & Jacuzzi. The room was spacious w/a couch next to the bed. The bed was very comfortable, not too hard or too soft, just right.
On our 2nd night we had trouble getting the fireplace to light. I called room service & a girl came up immediately & started it for us...very accommodating. Staff were friendly & helpful, even giving us directions to visit the lighthouse.
Our room was clean & in the cabinets were glasses, dishes, even wine glasses, salt & pepper etc. There's a microwave, a toaster oven w/2 burners on the top & a fridge. Everything we could possibly need.
A couple things we didn't care for was the hotel's on a major road through the town so it's rather noisy with traffic. We did have our windows open b/c it was so mild out, perhaps if they were closed it wouldn't have been so bad.
The other issue was there was a water saving head on the shower & the water came out so fine it felt like little needles on our faces. There was plenty of hot water, always a plus.
All in all it was a nice place to stay for a weekend. The Inn is at the far end of the lake & it is marsh like at that point. Just outside the Inn there's a walking path through the woods & that was a very nice treat.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor & the halls were very quiet, no disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meow88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Overall this hotel was clean quiet t the breakfast was wacj the staff was very nice my only complaint was the view from the room and I didn't like the fact that our jacuzzi was by the door otherwise we had fun for our 4th anniversary all the amentiea met our needs
fact that our jacuzzi was by the door and

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank virtious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for two nights on 10/21 and 10/22. The Hotel looks weathered from the ouside but is very neat and clean on the inside. We found the satff were very friendly and the room was clean. Our corner room (109) on the first floor had a rap around view of the marina. The fireplace and jacuzzi helped make for some very relaxing nights. The breakfeast was good with many selections to choose from. Hotel is located near many interesting places to explore. Don't miss the fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the evening...yup.

Room Tip: Corner room 109 is a little larger than others. 106 and 107 may be too noisy in the morning because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triptime4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Overall the Weathervane Hotel is very nice! Tracy at the front desk was a delight!
She was very personable. We stayed in 106 right across from the front desk. They need to put some stripping around the door to block out the light! In addition, the breakfast is put out right across from the rooms. So it does get a little noisy in the morning! The waffles griddle has a timer that beeps every 2 minutes! They need to do something about that noise as well.
The location is perfect if you are interested in walking into town, or go on a bike ride.
The hotel is clean and well taken care of, just move the breakfast nook some where else.

Room Tip: 109 or 221
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linnette1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
13 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
456 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Harrington Inn
The Harrington Inn
#1 of 1 in Fremont
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
367 reviews
19.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Inn

Address: 4527 Dowling St, Montague, MI 49437-1299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weathervane Inn is a boutique lakefront hotel featuring 23 contemporary designed guest rooms. This "home away from home" offers fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and balconies to soak in the beauty of White Lake. Take in a movie from your couch, catch up with friends or work with our wireless internet or head outside and enjoy a book while unwinding in our gazebo or napping in a deck chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Weathervane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Hotel Montague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing