We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip”
Review of Weathervane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Weathervane Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary trip”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice. Unfortunately there were things out of the hotels control that made our stay unpleasant. My husband and I stayed here for a weekend trip and planned on relaxing and sleeping in a bit. Unfortunately that did not happen. We could hear the people in the next room and in the hallway.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank fng_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    83
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
37
166
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The rooms are very cozy with a large whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and balcony overlooking the water. Across the street is a market where I picked up a six-pack from a local brewer and kept it chill in the small fridge in my room. Rooms have more amenities than most hotels I've stayed that cost twice as much. Staff was very nice. Small town friendly place to visit. I was here on business trip and made extensive use of the wifi, and also used the small conference room in the hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Whitehall/Montague.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have balconies/decks that overlook the water, but definitely verify that, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Thru a special promotion we first heard of the Weathervane Inn in Montague, MI. Not knowing much of the Inn or the area we did some research – and then made our reservation. Upon arrival and throughout our stay we were even more pleased everything. Our room was waterside with a deck overlooking the harbor – a beautiful place to sit and read or relax. Inside the room was even better: a very comfortable king-size bed; a large 2-person Jacuzzi tub in one corner; an automatic gas fireplace in another corner. The wall mounted TV turned for viewing in bed or in the Jacuzzi and there was a good choice of movies at the desk (free to use). In the room was a guest book in which past guests had written of there experience at the Weathervane. It was here that we found out about the 2-person shower with 2 individually controlled shower heads.Az
The Weathervane Inn uses earth friendly soaps, shampoos, etc. in the rooms. Also included is a continental breakfast: waffles, rolls, cereal, fruit, juices. Coffee is available all day – regular, decafe, and a flavor of the day (Chocolate Mocha and Michigan Cherry when we were there). Make sure to stop by the front desk after 8:00pm for fresh baked chocolate chip cookies!
At checkout we were given a % off coupon for a future visit. We already had said to each other that we wanted to come back to the Weathervane Inn again. And since then we have recommended the Weathervane to several friends. Now, should we give the % off coupon as a gift to someone or use it ourselves?
On a side note: there are several nice little shops in both Montague and across the bridge in Whitehall. Lake Michigan is just a short drive away. Across the street from the Weathervane is an old fashioned Dog ‘n Suds Drive In. Park in the back by the picnic tables or pull into one of the drive-in parking spots by an intercom. Either way order into the intercom system and soon a carhop will bring out your order on a tray. A nice “throw back” to the days of the drive-in restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stretch6518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redford, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We decided to spend the night after a day at Michigan's Adventure, rather than driving straight back home. We opted for the 2 queen beds, giving up the balcony for the extra space for the 4 of us. The room is located right by the desk, and had a door to create an adjoining room.
What I loved were the comforts of the whirlpool tub and fire place, as well as the small details like the brand-new air conditioner/heater, luxurious bedding, plenty of outlets, an I-phone radio, flat screen TV, fresh-baked cookies at 8:00 pm, and movie DVDs of many old favorites to borrow.
They helped me to still give 5 stars though the bathroom could and the jets of the tub could have used a thorough cleaning.
The location is also exceptional, with many restaurants in walking distance, the view of the marina, and the peacefulness of a small town.
The service was very attentive, and I believe that many regulars use the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorinnaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I purchased a Groupon for the Weathervane and went at the tail end of winter when it was still cold out and the ice just melting on the lake. The hotel staff was friendly and welcoming and we really enjoyed the little shops in the area. Went out at night to watch the March Madness games and met some nice people at the restaurant/bar. Breakfast was very substantial and the cookies at check in were delicious! We loved the hot tub and the fireplace in our room as well. The only complaint would be the walls are THIN. You can hear everything in the surrounding rooms but luckily the other guests were quiet and it wasn't bothersome. Would love to make this a yearly trip!

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room otherwise your room goes out into the main breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maci J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We left the kids at grandma's and had an amazing weekend at the Weathervane. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and updated, the jacuzzi tub is very nice, and the view is great. I would recommend a lake view room, but if one isn't available, it's a very short walk down to the outdoor seating area. Other than a few antique shops, there's not really much to do right in Montague, although I would definitely recommend stopping at Lipka's Soda Fountain shop. This is our second time here in about 5 months, and we're hoping to make it many more.

Room Tip: Get a corner lakeview room. It's a litle extra, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We just loved the beautiful room. The rooms were very well maintained and the beds were extremely comfortable. We loved relaxing by the lake and also took advantage of the nearby trails. We'll definitely be back! What a peaceful place.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
13.0 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
18.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#4 of 5 in Whitehall
2.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Inn

Property: Weathervane Inn
Address: 4527 Dowling St, Montague, MI 49437-1299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weathervane Inn is a boutique lakefront hotel featuring 23 contemporary designed guest rooms. This "home away from home" offers fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and balconies to soak in the beauty of White Lake. Take in a movie from your couch, catch up with friends or work with our wireless internet or head outside and enjoy a book while unwinding in our gazebo or napping in a deck chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Weathervane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Hotel Montague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing