We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Service & Food!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Al Minya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Siva Nefertiti Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Al Minya
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Service & Food!”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed just one night here and had a great dinner and breakfast. The staff were all very attentive and even assisted me with making a call back home to the US. The rooms were very comfortable, good beds, nice size bathroom and everything worked fine for us. It was a quick but pleasant stay. Great location for Beni Hassan (do not miss!) and Tell El Amarna.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chels0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Minya is a great place from which to visit Beni Hassan, Amarna etc. But under no condition consider staying at the Nefertiti.

Individually the staff members are very charming but are totally incompetent when it comes to runnning a hotel. The facilities are run-down (sinks blocked, air-conditioning not working, grubby carpets ... the list goes on). The third floor of the hotel is a building site as is the area at the side of the hotel. There are simply no redeeming features.

The Horus Resort (which is directly across the road) looks to be a much better deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abertawe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Al Minya hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We found this hotel to be excellent both in service and comfort. The rooms were clean and pleasant and the staff was friendly and helpful. The food for both breakfast and dinner were great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pacific
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The ones showing New York and London time are frozen at 4am. And that pretty much sums up this time-warp hotel. Nevertheless, it's Minya's finest and I'd stay again.

As others have said, it has a pool (clean) and a good restaurant and garden around the pool. The rooms are also clean and have the conveniences you need. It's a 1970s ex-Mercure hotel, probably sold off to local owners when the tourists stopped travelling to Minya a decade ago. It's associated with the Aton Resort Hotel across the road on the edge of the Nile, but the Aton is currently closed for extensive renovations. I'd give the Aton a try in a couple of years as it looks like it's getting a thorough modernisation., but for now, the Nefertiti is it!

Only difficulty is making a booking. The hotel is not on any booking websites and the staff are either not computer literate or don't read English well enough to reply to emails. So you need to book through a local travel company who can ring them direct.

If you travel to Minya, this is where you will stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luigi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we love it!

On both occassions we arranged a visit to El Ashmunein and Tuna el Gebel and stayed at this hotel. As El Minia is an area where very few tourists visit (due to the previous problems there) all staff were so pleased to see us.

We were treat fantastically by everyone in the hotel and everybody made an effort to spend time chatting to us without trying to sell us something like in many places in Egypt!

The food was delicious and fresh and very reasonably priced.

We spent quite a lot of our time relaxing by the pool on the day time and also sitting outside relaxing with a few Egyptian Stella's on an evening.

We are now planning our third stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mapsuita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
563 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a bus tour of middle Egypt. Not a lot of tourists come to this part of Egypt and accommodation options are limited and we were advised this hotel was the best in town. At the time we were there the hotel guests seemed to be solely from 2 different tour groups.
The Siva Nefertiti is an old hotel that has gone by other names in the past, most recently the Nefertiti & Aton. It has seen better days.
It is a big and basic hotel just across the road from the Nile River. In its day it was probably a genuine 3 star but it would be “pushing it” to rate that highly now.
The room was modest, bed was firm, sheets and towels clean and plumbing worked. There was a fridge and TV, but no in-room safe. The supplied hairdryer was U/S. It looks as though all rooms have a balcony. Everything about the hotel showed its age including room fit-out. Lots of “rough edges” to finish and services, but as we learned, “this is Egypt”.
Free WiFi internet – only "1 bar" in our room, but better in the lobby.
Buffet dinner was very good, breakfast limited.
Staff tried hard to be helpful and enough spoke English for us to get by.
Both nights we were there they had a good crowd of locals around the pool in the evening with non-alcoholic drinks watching an Egyptian music TV channel – seemed very popular with the locals.
Good enough for a short stay when choices are limited.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Minya
202.7 mi away
MG Nefertiti Hotel
MG Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 4 in Al Minya
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.2 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siva Nefertiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Nefertiti Hotel

Property: Siva Nefertiti Hotel
Address: Corniche El Nile, Al Minya, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Al Minya Governorate > Al Minya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Al Minya
Number of rooms: 54

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing