We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exqiusite vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Almaza Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mersa Matruh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I was there in a vacation with my family. reception was very warm, with a welcome drink & all paperwork in the lounge ( not on the front desk!) . The staff were very friendly & cooperative. the room was very spacious for all 4 of us & was pool view with a small garden for the kids to have fun around. Food was ok & the pools were nice.
Try to get something with u to waste ur time there , coz all leisure & activities are in italian, even the kids corner !! The beach is marvellous but not the water as it was a little hard to swim in coz of the waves. overall it was a real 5 stars experience as long as u want to relax & have peace of mind.

Room Tip: Try to get ur room in cluster C , away from the noise of the animation team & the theatre as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed at Jaz Almaza Bay for 5 days mid July 2012, father and 3 kids. This hotel is really very nice, situated approx. 40 km east of Marsa Mathrouh. There is absolutely nothing else nearby than another resort in the Jaz family. But hotel facilities are in top, building neat, rooms fine, fine view from the balcony to the sea, and we even had view of the pool and garden area as well. The hotel seems to be very well managed, its proper and clean, and staff, whether in the restaurents or cleaning service, are really professional, nice and friendly. The food served is very good too.The pools are nice, not too crowded, even in peak season, and the beach and sea is absolutely outstanding and marvellous. But! There is a "snake in the paradise"! The hotel is used by a charter tour operator, and not that the guests coming from this company are particularly noisy, but the tour operator certainly is! During the day there will be loud music or singing or shouting coming from some place, whether from the restaurent, the pool area or even the beach, and if you didnt know the expression "ciao" before, you certainly will after visiting Jaz Alamaza Bay! The guides will be here and there and everywhere, even if you are not part of the group, and thats ok, if thats what you want and what you have paid for. But if you do not fancy that on your holiday- constant noise and entertaining guides - it is really annoying. At check out we were told that we could have selected at calm area at the hotel (another block), and gee, how we wished that we had known that when we came - and not when we left! Still, the hotel is great, staff great, facilities great, sea absolutely great, but if you do not want to stay at a noisy hotel with very visible tour guides running around everywhere with microphone and loudspeakers, remember to ask for a room in the "non-noisy" part of the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room, if you do not fancy noise from the tour operator dominating the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Anders P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel has great facilities and rooms and is generally very clean. It is a great family/couples resort, which does cater to the different tastes and lifestyles. The downside that it is about 37km away from Mersa Matrouh city and the road trip is not very convenient. For some reason, we were the only Egyptian guests there and were always getting stares from other foreigner guests..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ataha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Writing this a little late as me and my boyfriend holidayed and Jaz in April 2010.
We got a fantastic deal for a week at the Jaz hotel but can't seem to afford it anymore as it has gone up in price alot!


First Impressions:

However, when we went there we were absolutely stunned with how gorgeous the building was. The architecture was beautiful and the whole place was very clean, modern and classy.

ROOM: The room was just perfect, nice and neutral, nicely decorated, very clean, no problems at all. We had a ground floor room with a pool view, double bed, table and chairs, tv, air-con, mirror, tea and coffee facilities, wardrobes, phone, safety box, en suite - which was gorgeous!
Terrace with table and chairs and a little hedge with beautiful flowers (like our own mini garden).

FOOD: I am a fussy eater and I was satisfied and happy with the variety of choices at any time of day. The pool bar was a little meh - pizza slices an salad etc It is a 'snack' bar bluntly put. The buffet hall was well presented, easy access, good choice of food for kids,adults alike.
However if you are travelling as a couple and want to get up for more, make sure one stays at the table whilst you go; as I got up to get a spoon and my soup was gone lol but they apologised and well it was free to get another but it does annoy you slightly.

The a'lacarte restaraunt was lovely, not sure which one it was but there was actually only one open at the time we visited. There was no one else dining in there! But it was 50% discount for us so we booked on the night before we left with a couple we met there. It was lovely, i recommend the mojitos they are amazing and i havent tasted anything like it since coming back home.

EXCURSIONS: This was our first holiday together and without our parents. I have read alot that you should be careful in Egypt with people getting money out of you etc but also that sometimes it is alot more wise to book with a local shop than with your rep.

QUADDING - in the desert included a trip to the bedouin tent in the desert where we had sheesha's and tea. Quadding is an amazingly fun experience and i do recommend it for everyone TIP - Dont wear white or your best clothes as the sand is almost impossible to get out of your clothes, my white pumps were ruined and also cover up on your legs, sand hitting you at that pace can sting!

CAIRO - Is a LONNNNG way from the hotel, we had to get up at 5-6am an it was 5 hour journey there and back in a cramped coach that which the driver didn't always keep the air con on - due to not wanting the heat to hit us badly in cairo. It can be sweaty and horrible but i had wanted to visit Egypt ever since i was little and had to go. It was still a dream for me to go, you will get funny looks off locals if you have any skin on show as i did. The local children however are lovely and really welcoming they were talkign and waving and always saying hello to us.
The museum in cairo is fantastic, i got to look straight into golden mask of king tut which was a lifetime dream of mine, definately worth the journey in my eyes. TIP - Dont put sun lotion on before you get on the coach its not worth it and its very uncomforable.

Cleopatra's Bath - Lovely day out, well organised, we had a trip to TGIFRIDAYS on a boat :) which was the highlight haha the weather is gorgeous over there, slight wind but the scenery and crystal clear water makes it unbelievable. Watch out for the huge ants in egypt they can bite!

WEATHER: Our holiday was lovely, it was slightly windy in my opinion and that was around the pool. My boyfriend when in the sea and it was freezing, he normally doesn't admit being nesh like that so if he thinks its cold..its cold!.

If you want hot in March-April but not long haul then Sharm El Sheikh is you're place to go.

STAFF: Really nice friendly staff. It was a new hotel at the time of our visit. It was full of alot of russians etc but they didn't recieve any nicer service than we did, not that what noticed. The cleaner in our room was fantastic, he did a beautiful flower arrangement ever day. A crocodile, a rose, a elephant etc the reception was helpful and the omlette chef was just amazing he baked me and my boyfriend a love heart shaped pizza :)

Thomas Cook:

We didn't recieve inflight meals flying with thomas cook even though we had paid for them. They're excuse was that they hadn't been loaded on the plane properly. However they did have SOME meals and they were given to children (which is understandable) but the parents also recieved them too, like they were a priority; which is wrong in my eyes - yes maybe children, elderly or those with low bloody sugar etc.

We also asked about booking a trip excursion to ride on camels and we were told that there wasn't any around our area...we spoke to a gentleman travelling back home at the airport who stayed in our hotel an he said he went on one!

We felt Thomas Cook didn't understand the hotel and what it offered. We were told that there was water sports and when we arrived it was only just being bulit. The rep was pretty useless and was hardly around. The restaraunts weren't all open but i feel this was thomas cooks fault and not the hotels as alot of htoels have them open in different seasons etc.

We ended up having to make a letter of complaint to thomas cook and get compensation as they didn't advertise our holiday very well and due to the inflight meals not being recieved. We got £15 each!! The manager was extremely snotty and never got back to me and just wasted alot of our time. Gatwick flights recieved FREE cigerettes onboard as a compensation for the in flight meals being forgotton, we recieved a pack of 2 biscuits....

The hotel in itself is amazing, the staff, the rooms, the hygiene, the location, the trips etc everything was wonderful it was just Thomas Cook that was misleading and unhelpful.

Couple will love this hotel

Room Tip: Pool View rooms can be a little noisy but only in the day really so its not a problem. but if you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dubai
13
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed there for three nights room1134..i lost my very valuable camera between club and restaurant and it was really dissappointing not to be found . most probably one of the staff had it..
first time to see fees for entering the gym in 5 stars hotel.
all activities and animation team for italians only.
if u are italian u will get best price,service and attention.
the worst hotel stay in my entire life

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels and Resorts
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, rest assure that your valuable comments will be highly considered, please accept our sincere apology for any service conflict you had through your stay with us, looking forward to welcome you again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This was my second time to visit Jaz Almaza and I'm sure I'll repeat it again. The staff is very friendly and well trained; they'll always surprise you with nice gestures whether it's a cool beverage upon arrival, a take-away snack on your way home or a complementary at the restaurant. The white sandy beach and crystal clear water are amazing, large swimming pools, lots of activities and tasty food just does it for you. The hotel is somehow remote, located 40km before Marsa Matruh but it's not a drawback as everything is available at the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the family rooms, they’re much more spacious and at the same rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahmed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Myself and my wife looked through lots of internet sites and finnally agreed that for our honeymoon we wanted a relaxing holiday, so we were really chuffed to have found this hotel. It is absolutely perfect for lazy days in the sun.
Even if your looking for organised excursions there is plenty on offer.

The airport was a bit of a shock when we first got there with it being about as big as a rabbit hutch but the hotel was only 45-50 minutes away on the coach.
We found the hotel spotless and well maintained, the rooms are large with a flat screen tv, aircon, etc...
The staff are always friendly and are more than happy to help, not too over the top and looking for tips like we have found on a previous holiday to egypt .
The food was good and plentiful with lots of choice

So if you're looking for a peaceful relaxing holiday, with not much around the hotel, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dander_whappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersa Matruh
21.6 mi away
Porto Matrouh Beach Resort
Porto Matrouh Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
84 reviews
31.9 mi away
Carols Beau Rivage
Carols Beau Rivage
#4 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
1,441 reviews
22.8 mi away
Beau Site Hotel Marsa Matruh
Beau Site Hotel Marsa Matruh
#7 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marseilia Aqua Park Alam Alroum
Marseilia Aqua Park Alam Alroum
#10 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
1 reviews
22.0 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel by Beau Site
Belle Vue Hotel by Beau Site
#8 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#45 of 53 in Dahab
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Almaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Almaza Beach Resort

Address: Almaza Bay Km 37 | (ex. Sol Y Mar Almaza Beach Resort), Mersa Matruh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > Mersa Matruh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 Spa Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#3 Family Hotel in Mersa Matruh
Price Range: £62 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Almaza Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nestles on the Mediterranean Sea, just 38 km east of Mersa Matruh on the northern coast of Egypt. Breathtaking views and the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean combine with the fine white sands of Almaza Bay to provide the best in an Egyptian and Mediterranean holiday. Jaz Almaza Beach Resort sits sympathetically with its Mediterranean style architecture and provides a complete range of five-star facilities, amenities and service. Here, you can experience a holiday to Egypt that is relaxing and life affirming. Luxuriate in spacious rooms and savour lavish cuisine. Indulge in a variety of sports and recreational activities all within the impressive environment of this finely-appointed resort. The hotel's greatest attraction is its safe, secluded beach and bay. Experience one of the best-kept secrets of the southern Mediterranean Riviera with all the warmth, hospitality and attentive service you would expect from any Jaz resort including a shuttle service to and from Matruh Airport (upon request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Jaz Almaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaz Almaza Beach Hotel Mersa Matruh
Jaz Almaza Beach Resort Egypt/Mersa Matruh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing