We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star, nice beach, dangerous sea currents, airport not fit for purpose” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaz Almaza Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jaz Almaza Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Mersa Matruh
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“4 star, nice beach, dangerous sea currents, airport not fit for purpose”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Only 3 nice hotels at the location at the moment which would have been very good for one week only. nothing to do in the evenings. Italians prioritised from all points of view....service and entertainment. Food and restaurant drink good. Bar staff cant be bothered to make cocktails correctly. champagne cocktail is apple juice. 2 good trips , Siwa and El Alamein, Rock and shop to Mersa Matruh town..gross. Very good pool and sports area plus indoor pool and jacuzzi. All pricing to the Euro, so if you expect a cheep spend, forget it. One bottle of water is one euro 50! Mersa Matruh airport is very poor in terms of fascilites and room (virtual standing room only) If your plane is delayed airport prices quadruple.. there are 3 little shops. Despite the downsides still worth one weeks visit for the experience. Normal Med., type holiday resort, not the real Egypt

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, rest assure that your valuable comments will be highly considered, please accept our sincere apology for any service conflict you had through your stay with us, looking forward to welcome you again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    297
    94
    26
    24
See reviews for
338
333
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We have just returned from an amazing holiday at this wonderful hotel and we cannot see for the life of us what some people are complaing about! We are well travelled and in our opinion it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we do not stay in hotels less that 4*. This is the first year that the British have come to this hotel and yes there are plenty of Italians but lets remember that they were coming long before we did!!! We found the food and wine delicious - there was plenty of choice for everyone, there was no need for any one to go hungry. The hotel staff were so friendly & helpful - there were plenty of tables to sit at, you did not need showing to a table at all. The holiday rep & entertainment staff were amazing and for me Liams aqua splash routine every morning was one of the highlights of the holiday. Please find the British entertainment at night which is the conference disco area - we had wonderful nights there. We had a lovely hotel room with wonderful views of the pool and beach - without extra cost. The airport was military airport and it was packed on departure but they are extending it - so give them a chance. If you want a bad airport try Pula airport in the early 80's & Mombassa airport - now that is what I call bad. I would recommend his hotel to anyone, in fact, I already have. It will not suit everyone because there is nothing in the surrounding areas but you must have known that before you booked it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanMicVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

i have read some of the other reviews ie the person whoes complaints centred around his/her children.i take that on board but can only say that with internet and other media at our disposal a different location would have been been the answer.
the hotel and its location are in my view more for the grown ups who in general want good food,accommodation,location the odd cultural trip and plenty of sun sea and sand.
you get that here and it is delivered in an efficient friendly way.
on the negative side o.k there is the chance of getting a poorly tum but hell it is egypt and by following a few simple rules the chances can be reduced.
all in all a good place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernie_green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Arrived back early hours wed morning from this hotel. I went with my husband for a week of relaxation.

Airport on arrival is very interesting but not as bad as going home (will explain later!). Its an old miltary base. Funniest thing ever was getting off the plane and getting on the very crowded bus, only to be driven about 100ft!!! It took longer for the bus to turn around than to walk to the terminal!. Anyway, we got through customs etc fairly swiftly.

Hotel is very clean, rooms very tidy, spacious and always cleaned very well. Was given a sea view which was lovely. Only downside was the pillows, my husband and I found them very hard which didnt help with the sleep, but that is a personal preference and no fault of the hotel.

Beach was gorgeous, clear blue water etc. First day was lovely in the sea but the weather turned for the remaining week which meant the sea was very rough. The pool was lovely, nice area around it and clean.

Food and service.... this is what let the hotel down I'm afraid. I have been to many 5* hotels and resorts in the world and the food was not up to scratch in anyway. Don't get me wrong, what ever was there was cooked fine and El Syed the pasta man was very helpful in getting some garlic and chilli etc to put in the pasta, the sauces are very bland without it. The food was set up for the italians mainly, picked salads and fish etc. The variety was very poor and the desserts were awful, little cut up peices of cake which all seemed to taste the same... bland. Drinks were all fine, the rose was like diesel though even with lemonade in it! Everytime we turned up the restaraunt we were never shown to a table by a waiter and found it very hard to find a clean table. It seemed to take forever for the dirty plates to be taken away too.

Location was fantastic couldnt fault this at all. Weather was great, mid thirties but with a nice breeze.

The hotel is full of italians which we were aware of, but we found them very rude and noisy so couldnt wait to get in the company of some brits again!

The enterainment was all in italian and sounded like something you would see at butlins not a 5* resort. Could never find anywhere to sit in the evenings for a drink and it got very rowdy with the italian guests.. We found out at the airport when we spoke to a few other guests that the two sides of the hotel is divided into brits and italians... we were on the italian side... and was not aware at all of the english entertainment on the other side of the hotel... something we were not happy about when we found out.

The airport is a nightmare. When you check in there is no computers, you have to check in by looking on about 10 pages of a4 paper to find your name and seat number!. After going through the scanners for the second time, we arrived in a room that was about 50x50ft but was filled with 4 flights worth of guests, with no aircon and only enough seating for about 1 plane full of people (all of which was already taken by the italian guests and all of their handbags, they watched people on crutches and elderly people stand when one person would take 3 seats for them and their handbags!!) The toilets in the airport stank and were disgusting, there is no shops or restaraunts either (only a small kiosk with a few snacks.

on the whole, this holiday could have been a lot better and if they sort out the food, entertainment and waiter service then it could be a fantastic resort. We are going to try the hotel next door if we want a quick getaway again because we love the area and the weather. But in the mean time we will not return here.,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, rest assure that your valuable comments will be highly considered, please accept our sincere apology for any service conflict you had through your stay with us, looking forward to welcome you again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and I have just returned back from 2 weeks of sheer bliss at Jaz Almaza Bay Hotel! The hotel overall is fantastic, the best beach i have ever seen(far better than Caribbean) and all the staff very helpful. Rooms are fab, very spacious and a great view of the pool and beach. Food was plentiful and always something for everyone( unless you are a proper fuss pot!) The freshly baked bread and pastries everday was a real treat( bad for the waistline though!) We went on 2 trips-The Siwa Adventure and Cairo Pyramids Trip-both amazing but Cairo moreso due to seeing the Pyramids, i was amazed that some people went all the way to Egypt and did not do this once in a lifetime trip!! I would highly recommend this hotel before it gets commercialised,there are only 3 hotels in this area at the moment but i'm sure there will be plenty more in another 5 years or so-go before it gets spoiled!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshsofmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Altho the hotel is very clean it does not cater for young children, the shower in the room is like walking on a ice ring when wet as with the whole bathroom floor, no bath in the room and trying to shower a 3 year old and a 18month old is very hard, lost count the amount of times they slipped over....., food was ok for adults but did not cater for children, we had to cut our holiday short by a whole week because our youngest son (18 month) was not eating at all, the 3 year old lived on fries and bread rolls for a whole week, the pools where kept very clean but where also death traps for the children, the floor is extremely slippy when wet, wasnt a single day went by that our children didnt slip over and bang their heads on the hard tile floor, the beach and sea was the best i ever seen for the first two days then after that the waves where breaking just at the shoreline knocking adults off their feet let alone the kids, the shore drops off quite quicklly into the sea but then levels out, leaving it impossible for the kids to play safely, Entertainment for the english is very poor, no shows, only the thompson rep doin quizzes and a few activities, there is no dedicated child area for the under 3`s, no where to let them play, after 12 you have to pay for your drinks which isnt ver good especially if all inclusive and the children sleeping arangements was terrible for the kids, the 18 month cot had exposed nails sticking out, and only had a 9inch side, meaning he could fall out at any time(which he did on 2 occasions) from a height of about 3 foot, the 3 year old was ecpected to sleep on a sofa which is ok if they sleep lying on their back, more than one roll and they also take a 2 foot tumble onto the hard floor, in the end it was safest to put the kids into the main bed with the wife and i slept on the couch. also, this is not the fault of the hotel but the airport at egypt was the worse experience i have ever had, it is terrible.
Id rate this hotel a 3 * not a 5*.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohmsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, rest assure that your valuable comments will be highly considered, please accept our sincere apology for any service conflict you had through your stay with us, looking forward to welcome you again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks starting the 14th September 2010. We were apprehensive after reading about the atitudes of the italian guests, WE HAD NO REASON TO BE!!!!!. Firstly let me say the hotel was out of this world, the beach fantastic,the staff excellent in all areas including room attendants, pool staff and restaurant and bar staff. The italians where curtious and good mannered what makes it hard was the separation of nationalities in terms of the entertainment and pools. the english entertainment team did as good a job as they could wit the resources they had. just one complaint of the staff was how they pandered to the annoying loud mouthed guest called jackie and her side kick " Black Beuty " i think the team were oblivious to how annoying these people were to other guests. but in general i would recommend this hotel to people who want a holiday to chill. and special mention to Mohamed the Bar Man at th Morgue he cant do enough for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank podgyMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersa Matruh
32.0 mi away
Carols Beau Rivage
Carols Beau Rivage
#4 of 15 in Mersa Matruh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
21.6 mi away
Porto Matrouh Beach Resort
Porto Matrouh Beach Resort
#9 of 15 in Mersa Matruh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
22.0 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel by Beau Site
Belle Vue Hotel by Beau Site
#8 of 15 in Mersa Matruh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#94 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
22.8 mi away
Beau Site Hotel Marsa Matruh
Beau Site Hotel Marsa Matruh
#7 of 15 in Mersa Matruh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#16 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Almaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Almaza Beach Resort

Property: Jaz Almaza Beach Resort
Address: Almaza Bay Km 37 | (ex. Sol Y Mar Almaza Beach Resort), Mersa Matruh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > Mersa Matruh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#3 Spa Hotel in Mersa Matruh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Almaza Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nestles on the Mediterranean Sea, just 38 km east of Mersa Matruh on the northern coast of Egypt. Breathtaking views and the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean combine with the fine white sands of Almaza Bay to provide the best in an Egyptian and Mediterranean holiday. Jaz Almaza Beach Resort sits sympathetically with its Mediterranean style architecture and provides a complete range of five-star facilities, amenities and service. Here, you can experience a holiday to Egypt that is relaxing and life affirming. Luxuriate in spacious rooms and savour lavish cuisine. Indulge in a variety of sports and recreational activities all within the impressive environment of this finely-appointed resort. The hotel's greatest attraction is its safe, secluded beach and bay. Experience one of the best-kept secrets of the southern Mediterranean Riviera with all the warmth, hospitality and attentive service you would expect from any Jaz resort including a shuttle service to and from Matruh Airport (upon request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Jaz Almaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaz Almaza Beach Hotel Mersa Matruh
Jaz Almaza Beach Resort Egypt/Mersa Matruh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing