We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Almaza Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mersa Matruh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I don't understand what there is to complain about. We had a great time ,nice room with balcony and pool/sea view very clean and well presented. All staff very friendly pools and sea fantastic but no sea life to snorkel for as in red sea.Lots of italians but they are very funny with the budgie smugglers and the wiggle widgets . This area will be a big resort one day ,lots of new building work along the coast ,though no noise etc. at the hotel.
We thought the food was very good ,self service but plenty of choice and good quality. Pasta and pizza of course , but always other options.
A good place to chill and top up the tan ,you are in the middle of nowhere but sometimes that can be a good thing .
Enjoy it befor the russians discover it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

We have just returned from the Jaz Almaza and had a fabulous holiday.
Where do we start......well the airport as described is small but its a military airport and to be honest it was better than we originally expected when we booked. The staff are friendly and efficient, yes it was busy on return journey but we got seats easily enough and there were lots of air conditioning units. Do take snacks for the airport though.
Anyway back to the hotel:
on arrival it was so efficient, check in was really quick, drink waiting and then a visit to the restaurant whilst your cases are taken to your room, no pressure for tips.
The food throughout our stay was excellent, especially the fresh cooked omelettes, grilled meats,fish,pizzas etc. The pool bar also served daily specials and lovely coffee. The quality of the drinks was also good, and we tried most of them!!!! Wine, beer, cocktails, spirits.
For the people who weren't aware of the British entertainment then I wonder if they attended the welcome meeting? Che the rep provided loads of information about everything and emphasised the point that there was evening entertainment and where it was held. We were also provided with a programme of events for the day and evening entertainment.
We really enjoyed all of it and between us took part in aqua splash (brilliant), water polo, boules, quoits, skittles, volleyball, table tennis and anything else that was on offer. Liam and Katie cannot be praised highly enough for all the hard work that they do.
There is an Italian entertainment team (paid for by the Italians) who at times could be a little on the loud side, but maybe thats what they enjoy. We spoke to a few people who had joined in their activities and they said they had been made very welcome.
The restaurant staff were wonderful especially Mohammed and Hany who really spoilt us. There was definitely no waiting for tables or dirty plates left around the place whenever we ate.
Also a mention to the cleaning staff, our cleaner Waleed noticed our anniversary cards and when we returned to our room had filled it with flowers, towel art and petals plus a personal note. The hotel also provided us with a lovely chocolate cake complete with sparklers - we did share this with everyone during the evening entertainment in the disco area.
The rooms,pool area and beach are all very clean. We never had any trouble getting sunbeds.The towels are a generous size and good quality.
We went for a relaxing hokliday but we did go on some trips:
El Alamein, Shop & Rock and the Ultimate desert experience (this was the best one - loved it). Also went on the beach bar crawl which was a brilliant night.
The location of the hotel is remote but we knew that when we booked, and it was great to be there before it gets too invaded.
Oh and one last thing, it was a really nice touch when we were at the end of the holiday and a bit fed up, waiting in the lobby for the transfer buses to take us back to the airport, and out come the chefs with a huge cake, dancing and music playing before sharing out the cake to everyone.
loads more good things about Jaz Almaza but to sum up:
read all about it, do your research, and if you know what you are booking and you're sure its the holiday for you then you will have as brilliant a time as we did :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoIbMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Only 3 nice hotels at the location at the moment which would have been very good for one week only. nothing to do in the evenings. Italians prioritised from all points of view....service and entertainment. Food and restaurant drink good. Bar staff cant be bothered to make cocktails correctly. champagne cocktail is apple juice. 2 good trips , Siwa and El Alamein, Rock and shop to Mersa Matruh town..gross. Very good pool and sports area plus indoor pool and jacuzzi. All pricing to the Euro, so if you expect a cheep spend, forget it. One bottle of water is one euro 50! Mersa Matruh airport is very poor in terms of fascilites and room (virtual standing room only) If your plane is delayed airport prices quadruple.. there are 3 little shops. Despite the downsides still worth one weeks visit for the experience. Normal Med., type holiday resort, not the real Egypt

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, rest assure that your valuable comments will be highly considered, please accept our sincere apology for any service conflict you had through your stay with us, looking forward to welcome you again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We have just returned from an amazing holiday at this wonderful hotel and we cannot see for the life of us what some people are complaing about! We are well travelled and in our opinion it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we do not stay in hotels less that 4*. This is the first year that the British have come to this hotel and yes there are plenty of Italians but lets remember that they were coming long before we did!!! We found the food and wine delicious - there was plenty of choice for everyone, there was no need for any one to go hungry. The hotel staff were so friendly & helpful - there were plenty of tables to sit at, you did not need showing to a table at all. The holiday rep & entertainment staff were amazing and for me Liams aqua splash routine every morning was one of the highlights of the holiday. Please find the British entertainment at night which is the conference disco area - we had wonderful nights there. We had a lovely hotel room with wonderful views of the pool and beach - without extra cost. The airport was military airport and it was packed on departure but they are extending it - so give them a chance. If you want a bad airport try Pula airport in the early 80's & Mombassa airport - now that is what I call bad. I would recommend his hotel to anyone, in fact, I already have. It will not suit everyone because there is nothing in the surrounding areas but you must have known that before you booked it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanMicVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

i have read some of the other reviews ie the person whoes complaints centred around his/her children.i take that on board but can only say that with internet and other media at our disposal a different location would have been been the answer.
the hotel and its location are in my view more for the grown ups who in general want good food,accommodation,location the odd cultural trip and plenty of sun sea and sand.
you get that here and it is delivered in an efficient friendly way.
on the negative side o.k there is the chance of getting a poorly tum but hell it is egypt and by following a few simple rules the chances can be reduced.
all in all a good place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ernie_green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Arrived back early hours wed morning from this hotel. I went with my husband for a week of relaxation.

Airport on arrival is very interesting but not as bad as going home (will explain later!). Its an old miltary base. Funniest thing ever was getting off the plane and getting on the very crowded bus, only to be driven about 100ft!!! It took longer for the bus to turn around than to walk to the terminal!. Anyway, we got through customs etc fairly swiftly.

Hotel is very clean, rooms very tidy, spacious and always cleaned very well. Was given a sea view which was lovely. Only downside was the pillows, my husband and I found them very hard which didnt help with the sleep, but that is a personal preference and no fault of the hotel.

Beach was gorgeous, clear blue water etc. First day was lovely in the sea but the weather turned for the remaining week which meant the sea was very rough. The pool was lovely, nice area around it and clean.

Food and service.... this is what let the hotel down I'm afraid. I have been to many 5* hotels and resorts in the world and the food was not up to scratch in anyway. Don't get me wrong, what ever was there was cooked fine and El Syed the pasta man was very helpful in getting some garlic and chilli etc to put in the pasta, the sauces are very bland without it. The food was set up for the italians mainly, picked salads and fish etc. The variety was very poor and the desserts were awful, little cut up peices of cake which all seemed to taste the same... bland. Drinks were all fine, the rose was like diesel though even with lemonade in it! Everytime we turned up the restaraunt we were never shown to a table by a waiter and found it very hard to find a clean table. It seemed to take forever for the dirty plates to be taken away too.

Location was fantastic couldnt fault this at all. Weather was great, mid thirties but with a nice breeze.

The hotel is full of italians which we were aware of, but we found them very rude and noisy so couldnt wait to get in the company of some brits again!

The enterainment was all in italian and sounded like something you would see at butlins not a 5* resort. Could never find anywhere to sit in the evenings for a drink and it got very rowdy with the italian guests.. We found out at the airport when we spoke to a few other guests that the two sides of the hotel is divided into brits and italians... we were on the italian side... and was not aware at all of the english entertainment on the other side of the hotel... something we were not happy about when we found out.

The airport is a nightmare. When you check in there is no computers, you have to check in by looking on about 10 pages of a4 paper to find your name and seat number!. After going through the scanners for the second time, we arrived in a room that was about 50x50ft but was filled with 4 flights worth of guests, with no aircon and only enough seating for about 1 plane full of people (all of which was already taken by the italian guests and all of their handbags, they watched people on crutches and elderly people stand when one person would take 3 seats for them and their handbags!!) The toilets in the airport stank and were disgusting, there is no shops or restaraunts either (only a small kiosk with a few snacks.

on the whole, this holiday could have been a lot better and if they sort out the food, entertainment and waiter service then it could be a fantastic resort. We are going to try the hotel next door if we want a quick getaway again because we love the area and the weather. But in the mean time we will not return here.,

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, rest assure that your valuable comments will be highly considered, please accept our sincere apology for any service conflict you had through your stay with us, looking forward to welcome you again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and I have just returned back from 2 weeks of sheer bliss at Jaz Almaza Bay Hotel! The hotel overall is fantastic, the best beach i have ever seen(far better than Caribbean) and all the staff very helpful. Rooms are fab, very spacious and a great view of the pool and beach. Food was plentiful and always something for everyone( unless you are a proper fuss pot!) The freshly baked bread and pastries everday was a real treat( bad for the waistline though!) We went on 2 trips-The Siwa Adventure and Cairo Pyramids Trip-both amazing but Cairo moreso due to seeing the Pyramids, i was amazed that some people went all the way to Egypt and did not do this once in a lifetime trip!! I would highly recommend this hotel before it gets commercialised,there are only 3 hotels in this area at the moment but i'm sure there will be plenty more in another 5 years or so-go before it gets spoiled!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshsofmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mohamed w, Manager at Jaz Almaza Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Jaz Almaza Beach to spend your vacation, we appreciate your valuable comments and we wish to have the pleasure of your accompany once again at Jaz Almaza Beach.

Best regards,
M. Wafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mersa Matruh hotels
31.9 mi away
Carols Beau Rivage
Carols Beau Rivage
#4 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
1,450 reviews
21.4 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel by Beau Site
Belle Vue Hotel by Beau Site
#8 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
18 reviews
26 mi away
Porto Matrouh Beach Resort
Porto Matrouh Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Negresco Hotel
Negresco Hotel
#12 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
11 reviews
22.8 mi away
Beau Site Hotel Marsa Matruh
Beau Site Hotel Marsa Matruh
#7 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
96 reviews
0 mi away
Marseilia Aqua Park Alam Alroum
Marseilia Aqua Park Alam Alroum
#9 of 14 in Mersa Matruh
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Almaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Almaza Beach Resort

Address: Almaza Bay Km 37 | (ex. Sol Y Mar Almaza Beach Resort), Mersa Matruh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > Mersa Matruh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 Spa Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#3 Family Hotel in Mersa Matruh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mersa Matruh
Price Range: £46 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Almaza Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nestles on the Mediterranean Sea, just 38 km east of Mersa Matruh on the northern coast of Egypt. Breathtaking views and the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean combine with the fine white sands of Almaza Bay to provide the best in an Egyptian and Mediterranean holiday. Jaz Almaza Beach Resort sits sympathetically with its Mediterranean style architecture and provides a complete range of five-star facilities, amenities and service. Here, you can experience a holiday to Egypt that is relaxing and life affirming. Luxuriate in spacious rooms and savour lavish cuisine. Indulge in a variety of sports and recreational activities all within the impressive environment of this finely-appointed resort. The hotel's greatest attraction is its safe, secluded beach and bay. Experience one of the best-kept secrets of the southern Mediterranean Riviera with all the warmth, hospitality and attentive service you would expect from any Jaz resort including a shuttle service to and from Matruh Airport (upon request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Jaz Almaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaz Almaza Beach Hotel Mersa Matruh
Jaz Almaza Beach Resort Egypt/Mersa Matruh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing