We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your earplugs but otherwise good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Manara Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Al Bayda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Manara Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Al Bayda
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bring your earplugs but otherwise good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

I agree with everything the other reviewers have mentioned. A good location to see Apollonia. Clean rooms. Good selection of buffet food at dinner and at breakfast complete with omelet station. My only negative was that there were dogs barking throughout the night and my room on the first floor was above the reception area with TV so rather noisy but cured with ear plugs.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissFussyOCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
146 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

This is a relatively new hotel overlooking the ruins of Apollonia, see great if you are here for sightseeing. Room was very large, clean, comfortable and well equiped. The restaurant is a good choice and the staff friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KL_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

As others have said, this is a good hotel by Libyan standards with wonderful views. (If you can't get a room overlooking the ruins of Apollonia, then the harbour views are pretty good too.) The rate of 70 LD for a double, including breakfast, is a bargain. The lack of any kind of internet access, let alone wi-fi, is really the only thing that lets it down.

The laundry list is worth a read if you want a laugh. A garment that I can only assume is a bra is listed as “hanger-breasts”. Fortunately, we were staying 2 nights so had time to wash our smalls ourselves and hang them on the balcony, as did HappytripperKent_UK, putting them out under cover of darkness so as not to offend local sensibilities. We also experienced a howling wind that blew up in the night, like the wailing of the djinn, but when I nipped onto the balcony at 5.30am as the sun came up to retrieve the washing I was pleased to find that a) it was still there, and b) it was completely dry.

The restaurant was good but almost deserted in late May – just the two of us, a couple of Germans and a football team in their team tracksuits. If you've had a big lunch at Cyrene and only need a snack, there is a reasonable fast food place in Susa. Walk up the main road from the harbour, past the former town hall where Omar El-Mukhtar was kept overnight before being sent to Benghazi, and look out for the snack bar on the right hand side more or less opposite the pylon-like TV mast. It's basically a takeaway but there are 2 or 3 tables. They don't speak any English so you will have to try out your Arabic or else resort to hand signals.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bilboburgler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttlesford, Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

My room (604) had a view over the ruins of Appolonia - fantastic! I woke up in the morning to see the sun rising over the ruins. As I watched, the morning call to prayer started in the distance. Another mosque joined in from another direction. Then the local mosque joined in, too. A really great experience.
Apart from the view, my room was large and confortable. The bathroom was a tad small, but everything I needed was there and worked well. We had a buffet dinner in the hotel, which I thought very good. There was a wider selection of food than we had become used to in Libya!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chi_Alpha_Sigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

This hotel overlooks the ruins of Appolonia the port of Ancient Cyrene. Try and get a room facing the ruins.

The food is better than most Hotels in Libya and the buffets allow you to try a greater variety of Libyan food.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We had an empty minibar. The satellite TV has Fox Movies, BBC Worldwide and CNN.

There is a proper cash machine in the Lobby and a good coffee bar.

The particulars claim an internet cafe but there isn't one and there is no WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPussyBonpensiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
69 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Stayed 2 nights at the Al-Manara Hotel in Susa while visiting the sites at Cyrene and Apollonia, for which it's a very convenient base - in fact, the Apollonia site is immediately adjacent. Our room overlooked the sea and one corner of the small harbour. After the long coach journey from Benghazi Airport, we could have done with a good night's sleep, but were disturbed to an extent by the barking of a local dog and by a loud vibrating noise from the toilet cistern in the bathroom - solved on the second night by turning off the water supply to the cistern before going to bed! In fact, I am sure there is enough material about Libyan bathrooms and lavatories to justify a Ph.D thesis on the subject. The buffet-style dinners, however, were very good and the staff helpful. Both Cyrene and Apollonia are magnificent.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

Modern new hotel, spacious airy room, located right by the site in Apollonia. Since the hotel is new the rooms are bright, clean and fresh smelling. The hotel is very convenient for sightseeing in Cyrene. Pleasant place to refresh and unwind after a long day of sightseeing. Wonderrful view of the sea from you room. Hotel restaurant has nice food. Would definitely recommend staying at this new hotel while sightseeing in the area. Much better than the other, much older hotels in the area.

  • Liked — Clean modern great location
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Manara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Manara Hotel

Property: Al Manara Hotel
Address: | Susa, Al Bayda, Libya
Region: Libya > Al Jabal Al Akhdar District > Al Bayda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Al Bayda
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Al Manara Hotel Libya/Al Bayda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing