We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etosha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Onguma Treetop Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very beautiful camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I spent 1 night in this beautiful camp during October 2013 and wished I could spend at least one more day there. This is a small intimate camp; there are only 4 thatched rooms with canvass walls. All rooms are elevated by wooden structures and surrounded by trees and bushes. Half of room is open to the air (no door and no windows) with extended wooden viewing deck facing a water hole. I saw giraffes, springboks, impalas and zebras drinking water in front of my tent about 100 m away. Shower is open style too make you feel back to the nature. This is a really relaxing place. The dining area is pretty; breakfast was nice and sufficient. Dinner was three-course style, soup, main dish and desert, all excellent! There was wine menu too. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a night game drive seen many lions and even heard of the King of the forest howling for his dinner. It was truly a wonderful experience staying at this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
84
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for one night in August. Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night and I would recommend at least two nights. (We stayed a night at Onkoshi and wish we had stayed here instead)

It is an easy drive off of the main road and the signs are well posted. We were greeted by a friendly and most accommodating staff. There are very few "tents" so you feel like you almost have the place to yourselves. The staff is just for this camp including the cook and the food was wonderful.

We went on an evening game drive which was quite good. There is a waterhole right in front of the dining area and the tents for you to observe the animals. It is lit at night.

The accommodations were excellent and don't let the name "Treetop" scare you. The tents are on elevated platforms, but they are not up all that high. Nevertheless, they do provide for a very nice view of the waterhole and the facilities in the tent were excellent.

The camp is just outside the gate for Etosha and this would be my recommendation for a place to stay for the eastern section of Etosha.

Highly recommended. This was one of our favorite lodgings in our recent three week trip to Namibia.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikesToHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Fantastic and very relaxing. With a maximum of 8 guests in 4 open huts situated round a waterhole where we saw a lion. So close into the wild! The rooms are open on the front where you can sit and watch the animals. Dinner together with the other guests on one big table was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edo6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent 1 night here. It was our last night in Africa and it could not have been more lovely. The rooms are perfect, with an open tent and outdoor shower. The food was excellent, and the staff took great care of us. The watering hole located at the camp is very active and we were especially excited to see a lion family coming to drink in the early morning. We highly recommend this camp. What a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJH798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

What an amazing place and a wonderful experience. We stayed here for 1 night before going to Okaukuejo in Etosha and wish we could have stayed longer. This place calls for atleast a 2 night stay. The food was excellent and the rooms perfectly fitting for the environment with an outdoor shower, 'open' tent with a view on the little waterhole etc. It is perfect for a few romantic nights or a family/friend getaway as with only 4 rooms it is easy to book out the whole lodge. We really enjoyed our time year and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miki121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
260 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here in July 2013, as part of our trip booked with OutinAfrica, a dutch travelagent. With only four bungalows perched on a wooden platform among the trees, this is really an intimate camp. 8 visitors is the max. It is an environmentally sound camp since people are always on elevated wooden walkways. Each room has a view on the waterhole. You really feel like you are in the middle of the forest, the room is wide open towards the waterhole, there is a lot of cracks, unidentified noises, and bats are flying among the trees and the roofs, so this stay might not be for everybody.
The camp is well managed, the staff was very friendly. The chef serves outstanding food. We really loved the bush shower. Youre not allowed to drive your own game drive. (Or you have to go to Etosha. But then Namutoni is a good alternative (less bush atmosphere of course)). So the quality of the game viewing depends on the quality of the ranger.

Room Tip: Each bungalow has a view on the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a truly special place and rightfully deserves much of the positive commentary found in the other reviews.

David and his team were incredibly accommodating, humble and welcoming. These people work seriously hard and deserve ample praise and tips (put these in the tip box in cash or else have your credit card charged when you check out at Tented Camp on your way out). There is a staff/guest ratio of 8:6, so one can imagine the level of personal attention, and we were made to feel very comfortable and at ease during our 3 days at Treetop Camp.

The fantastic view of the waterhole is a given and on one day hundreds of animals crowded around to drink. We spent several mornings and late afternoons watching the animals from the communal deck, as well as from the chairs on our private deck.

Notable is the food: outstanding quality and extremely innovative. It is critical to remember the environment in which the meals are being produced, as the soils around Etosha don't produce delicate little heads of lettuce. All food is trucked in and will often be cooked from frozen. Nevertheless, the chefs must be commended for their beautiful plating and presentation and masterful flavours. They bake fresh breads daily (try one of their lovely brown paper lunch bags for your day trip around Etosha - a complete lifesaver as Etosha has the most appalling selection of snacks and meals to purchase). On one night, the chefs prepared four different main dishes to accommodate vegetarians, chicken only eaters, and the usual selection of two mains, which happened to be beef and fish on this particular evening. Absolutely fantastic.

We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
7.7 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#2 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.3 mi away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 35 in Etosha National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
88.2 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
88.6 mi away
Etosha Safari Lodge
Etosha Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
87.1 mi away
Andersson’s Camp
Andersson’s Camp
#15 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onguma Treetop Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onguma Treetop Camp

Property: Onguma Treetop Camp
Address: Namutoni Gate Etosha national park, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Onguma Treetop Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onguma Treetop Camp is a small and intimate camp, especially designed for those travellers who would like to truly experience the bush in all its raw splendour. This is where guests are able to come and relax for a few days in the midst of their busy travelling schedule, and just breathe in the aromas of the bush and take in all the wildness that this place has to offer. The Camp is built on wooden stilts amongst the tree tops with full views over one of the most beautiful watering holes on Onguma Game Reserve. The Camp consists of 4 thatched rooms with canvas walls, a dining room and a main complex. Ideal for small family groups or friends travelling together. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing