We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Etosha Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just what we expected”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor, and we found this place exactly as described by others. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was pretty good. What stood out was the excellent service. And, we enjoyed the revolution-themed decor.

We could only afford a single night, but high prices seem to be the norm everywhere in Namibia. We spent the rest of our vacation camping and still came home poor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdroth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    397
    106
    25
    9
See reviews for
265
413
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed one night in the cabins. Very eclectic decor but fun place. The rooms were nice and clean. We had both buffet dinner and breakfast included with our room. Both were nice.
But we really enjoyed the bar area and the live music outside in the court yard.
They also have a 'sports bar' that they set up to watch the Euro Cup game that night.
Since we were just here one night and were there only about 14 hours we didn't get a chance to explore or experience more than the bar, dining, and our room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwoodsIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here as part of a three-week tour of Namibia and Botswana. Over that time we stayed at some very classy safari lodges, and this was no exception. Very comfortable, well presented, and every attention to detail. The food at the restaurant was nice too. The cabins are stretched out in a long line either side of reception, with the result that many are a good long walk away. Ours were about 400 metres from reception, and the furthest ones are probably 600. Level, easy walking though, lit at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here only one night but it was quite magical. We arrived after dark and everything is lit by torches or lights that give a fire-light glow. We stayed in one of the individual cabins/cabanas and thought it was well designed: space for two pieces of luggage off the floor, enough surface space for "stuff", a very comfy bed and a great shower (but no tub). Very clean. The room was nicely decorated and felt fresh and luxurious, especially after staying a night in a no-so-luxe place. The food at the lodge was very good. Loved sitting out on the verandah of the lodge enjoying our meals. The staff was very accommodating, friendly. It is very close to the Anderson Gate at Etosha and would make a good base for exploring the mid part of Etosha.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

It is the second time we visited the Etosha Safari Camp and I can recommend it and we shall be back. The food was very good and the staff very friendly.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heinrich_Hellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

we stayed at the camp and all the rooms were a long way from reception. We managed to get the only jug on the premises to make a drink, our room was basic, clean and comfortable but a very long way from the restaurant. the location was good for visiting etosha np which we did for two days. Food was good and the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: try to get a room near restaurant or you will have a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Spent 3 unforgettable nights in the lodge during our visit to the Etosha Park. We were nicely welcome by one of the staff and offered Namibian iced tea. Not as tasty as the Asian tea we usually drink but very nice to have it after driving from Outjo. The front officers are helpful as well.

We love the deck offering a wide view to the private park where we luckily saw a lonely Oryx and a group of Giraffe. The deck is also a perfect spot to experience a sunset in Etosha while relaxing after a full day game drive in the park. We appreciate much our driver, Otto, who's quite informative and patient while stopping and seeing animals we encountered during the game drive. I took many great pictures of animals thanks to his experience. The lodge is also friendly for those who are practising particular diet, like halal meat. The chef would gladly prepare fish-based menu for your dinner.

Our daughter likes much the small swimming pool that shares the same view with the deck. Great one!

The room is spacious with comfortable beds, air-con, and wide view to the private park. The only negative thing for us is probably the bathroom that has no door separating the bedroom.

Overall, we would certainly recommend this lodge to those looking for a place to stay during visit to Etosha Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Etosha National Park hotels
84.9 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#2 of 35 in Etosha National Park
782 reviews
3.9 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 35 in Etosha National Park
433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
Eldorado Guest House & Camping
#26 of 35 in Etosha National Park
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ongava Lodge
Ongava Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
292 reviews
94.4 mi away
Emanya@Etosha
Emanya@Etosha
#25 of 35 in Etosha National Park
194 reviews
16.0 mi away
Okutala Etosha Lodge
Okutala Etosha Lodge
#23 of 35 in Etosha National Park
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etosha Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Safari Lodge

Property: Etosha Safari Lodge
Address: C38 | 10 km South of Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Etosha Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the view: the restaurant and chalets, situated on a hillock, offer magnificent views of the African bush savannah. All of the 65 double room chalets have air conditioners and mosquito nets, and a choice of three swimming pools between them. Apart from the restaurant and bar there is a wooden platform for sundowners high above the Mopani bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Etosha Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etosha Safari Lodge And Camp
Etosha Safari Lodge & Camp Hotel Etosha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing