We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place at the edge of the Canyon”
Review of Fish River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fish River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The lodge it self is amazing, and it has the must stunning view of the Canyon, but it is its people led by Ruth that makes this place magical. We had the most fantastic 4 day glamping trip throught the Canyon, and our guides PJ and Ryan made sure that we arrived safely everyday to our camps.Thx for a fantastic stay, and the Wild Bunch hopes to visit you again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitewaterluksus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

After a 12 hour drive (5 on gravel roads) and one border crossing, we were shattered when we arrived, but the view when walking through to the pool area was stunning and uplifting.
Well worth staying for a couple of nights, to give you time to explore with the different options that are made available to you on arrival.

All Rooms have a great view from the edge of the canyon, 1 to 10 seem to offer a better angle though.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1 to 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you are looking for peace and quite then this is the place for you. Fish River Lodge is situated some 2½ hrs away from any form of town or village on the very edge (literally) of the world's second largest canyon. To get to the lodge you must travel for 85km along a dirt road and then turn off onto a bumpy track for a further 14km. Needless to say it is best to arrive by 4x4, however, there was a couple who had driven there in a VW Polo, and a group who arrived by helicopter! However you arrive the effort is well worth it as the views are breath-taking. The accomodation consists of en-suite double occupancy units grouped around a central lodge on the edge of Fish River Canyon. As the lodge is so remote board is full and the very friendly staff offer a limited range of activities (based around drives and hikes into the canyon). Breakfast is substantial with a good choice of options, dinner is set and tends to cater for European tastes. Caters for those looking for adventure but with the need for a little luxury. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_MYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The carrot is the exceptional view that you only get at a lodge on this western side of the canyon. The service is attentive and friendly, no request is too much. The food is great. Had enough of civilisation and people? This is the place for you. Take the time to do the drive into the canyon (great job J.P. and Ryan). Be sure to swim in the rock pools. Everybody wants you to have a good time. The winds at the edge of the canyon can be a nuisance when you're trying to sleep - earplugs can be a good idea.
The stick is the 108 km drive from the paved road.

Room Tip: All the bungalows have the same breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAKFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

To arrive at the Fish River Lodge asks for some patience. The drive from Keetmanshoop is quite long and if you're driving a small car, it will be very slow. Looking back, this actually added to the overall experience we had. You feel as if you arrive at the end of the world, with the most beautiful view ever.

When we were there, only a couple of rooms were occupied, so it was very quiet and peaceful. The staff were very helpful but seemed a bit bored at times. The room was very spatious and we loved the outdoor shower. Food was excellent as well.

Fish River Lodge was worth the long drive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

The lodge has 10 bungalows each located within 3 meters of the rim of the canyon. The view of the second largest canyon in the world is spectacular from your bed. The food and wines are great. The rangers are very knowledgeable. The drive in and out is very difficult and the tour of the canyon is a heart stopper. But the rangers are skilled and the destination is worth the risk.

Room Tip: All ten bungalows have the same spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocean_Rover_Blue_Wat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The reception we received at the Lodge was excellent and the staff are attentive and kind. The view over the canyon is stunning. We went on a tour to the lower Canyon which is interesting but lengthy about 5 hours and over very rocky ground. We were a party of 10. Apart from the drive, the view and the swimming pool there was not a lot to do.
Everything you do at the Lodge is extra the drive cost R1700 per couple and the transfer about 3 kilometres from the airstrip is R340 per couple. This meant the cost of the transfer for our group was R1700 which to put it mildly is a rip off!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisstockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
17.0 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
497 reviews
17.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
#2 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
586 reviews
27.1 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nwr Hobas Campsite
Nwr Hobas Campsite
#4 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torgos Safari Lodge
Torgos Safari Lodge
#4 of 7 in Keetmanshoop
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish River Lodge

Address: Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range: £179 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fish River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish River Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing