We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing Hot Spring in The Namibian Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Santa Clara, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Refreshing Hot Spring in The Namibian Desert”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This place was really spectacular. The resort itself is very well appointed and the giant pools on the first floor are feed by pipeline directly from the hot springs above the resort. In addition, this is the end point for the 5 day Fish River Canyon (The Grand Canyon of Africa) hike. It was great to sit at sunset and talk to the weary hikers as they made there way down the last 500 feet of the trail anxiously moving towards the spring pools for some relief. A wonderful spot very healing and refreshing!

Room Tip: The best rooms are located directly over the Hot Spring pools! Makes for easy access to the water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian7992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    99
    112
    67
    35
See reviews for
92
136
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

we spent 3 nights at Ai-Ais Hot Springs resort. beautiful setting, quiet, amazing very hot indoor pools, and refreshing outdoor pool. lovely walks and good hikes up the mountains. didn't use our car for 3 days! excellent 'switch off' and good place to recharge one's energy and soul. Sadly, the service in the restaurant was shocking, although the staff were very pleasant. Please, someone at NWR - spend a few weeks training the restaurant staff! we spent time at NWR in Etosha as well, and the different in service between Etosha and Ai-Ais was extreme. If NWR can get it right in Etosha, perhaps they can help to get it right at Ai-Ais. Simple things need changing, and effective management would fix this. Accommodation in 'riverview rooms' was fabulous, although the shower heads were blocked (perhaps due to high mineral content in spring water?). Very clean, and spacious. Lovely balcony with chairs and table, to sit and gaze at the mountains. Fridge & kettle in rooms. If you are self catering, take all provisions with you - the little shop on the premises stocks souvenirs, and non-perishables. Well worth the long trip from Cape Town, and the gravel road leading up to Ai-Ais was in good condition.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms have great view, and look out over campsite. Mountain view rooms probably quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warthog11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The last 20km down the canyon to Ai Ais is rather bumpy . Our electrical locks in the doors had to be serviced after the trip. They were all loose and didn't work properly. We stayed in one of the chalets. We were amazed by all the space. It had two huge bedrooms, Kitchen and another huge tv room. Lovely bathrooms. It was just a pity that they don't check the rooms after cleaning. The one shower was blocked and didn't look as if it was cleaned. At least there was another bathroom which was in good working order and clean.The children loved the outside hot pool, and the jacuzzi came in handy after the walk back from the pool.Food and service in the restaurant was very good. Well worth the drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 561Heleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The night before we stayed close to Namibia border, but it still proved a tiring drive to Ais-Ais as we took one of the gravel roads. We got there with initial idea to camp, however camping grounds were not very inviting (covered with sandy gravel) so we opted for rooms instead. This proved to be a fantastic choice!
Rooms are spacious and pleasantly arranged, with entrance onto a small balcony/terrace and into the spa area on the other side. Rooms are clean and well kept, and the spa is a fantastic surprise after a long drive. You can relax with nice glass of wine in one of the pools, although I have been in better spas before, none of them were in middle of desert :)
Enjoyed the short stay very much and definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AM-Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

After 2 days travelling from Pretoria we were very pleased to reach here and find such an excellent hotel. In mid March it was almost empty but the friendliness and level of service was superb. The value for money of the rooms was unbelievable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mountain view rooms above the indoor spa pool and they were excellent. Not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We camped at Ai-Ais for two nights - 3 and 4 April 2012. The campsite was surprisingly quiet, which we enjoyed. The weather was very hot during the day, but thanks to the fact that Ai-Ais is located in a cleft between two rock mountains, the sun only pokes its head out from behind the one mountain later in the morning and sets behind the other mountain in the late afternoon. Dawn and dusk are very pleasant. We played tennis in the morning, at about 7am, before the sun became too hot.

The campsites were clean and spacious and offered power and water points. The ablutions are adequate, although there is only one shower for each ablution block. The loos have double-ply toilet paper (always a bonus when camping) and there are field kitchens with cooking and wash-up facilities.

The indoor spa pool is well-kept and the outdoor warm pool is lovely, especially at night. The kiddies pool, however, is in total disrepair, while the (concrete) tennis courts are useable, although not in prime condition. There is a small shop, which while rather scruffy does offer all the basic necessities (some at steep prices) as well as souvenirs.

There is a restaurant and bar and also a spa offering beauty treatments. I had a neck and back massage, which was wonderful. Sadly, the therapist was quite unprofessional and had a bad attitude (she was late for my appointment, left the door to reception wide open during the treatment and didn't seem to understand customer service at all).

In fact, other than the excellent receptionists, the staff were generally not very concerned with guests. Most were absent from their posts and we had to go looking for them when we needed assistance. If we hadn't fetched someone to the front desk, we would not have been charged the N$10 entrance fee per person per day that campers are required to pay to use the indoor pool.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Ai-Ais. It's a little shabby in places, but it's a great place to chill and relax after long hours of driving in Namibia. It's not somewhere I would target as an end destination, unless I lived within 200km of the place, but the warm water from the hot springs did leave us refreshed and ready to tackle the next stage of our journey.

Room Tip: The best campsites are those along the river bank, which are shaded by tall trees during the blister...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tamara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at Ai Ais after a trip to the Kgalagadi - and what a wonderful place it was! Perfect for relaxing and being pampered after a dusty dry safari holiday. The rooms are great - luxurious and everything you need. Food was very good. Spa and pools (inside and out) perfect. Plenty of comfortable chairs with cushions to loll about on. The setting is gorgeous too! River, canyon. In fact all very, very nice.

Room Tip: The rooms all looked great! Just that the river rooms are on the same level as the spa/pools. But th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
33.6 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
471 reviews
27.1 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
532 reviews
24.9 mi away
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
#2 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nwr Hobas Campsite
Nwr Hobas Campsite
#4 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 9 in Sesriem
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort

Property: Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Address: C10, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Hotel Fish River Canyon
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing