We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the desert”
Review of Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Integrated into the nature, for example our shower was partly in the rocks.
Did not feel crowded.
Good food, friendly service.
Amazing pool with a view to the valley. Great opportunities for sundowner drinks and sunset viewing.
They offer lots of activities, like sunset walks, hikes etc.
It is one of the closest places to Fish River Canyon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudtimO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor. We are glad you were pleased with the friendly service and enjoyed the food. It is an honour to receive such a mouthful of compliments and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was a real find! I have now stayed here a number of times over the last few years and it is a true gem. The rooms are all unique, built around the massive granite boulders that cover the site. The rooms are divine and the view where they invite guests to partake in 'Sundowner drinks' is a spectacular vista at sunset. The staff couldn't be more friendly and the dining was a delight, both dinners and breakfasts. Tea and coffee is 'on tap' 24 hours just behind the dining area and is free contrary to what another reviewer has said. If you don't stay here you are really missing out on a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We are overjoyed about your positive experience at Canyon lodge. Thank you for your review and for visiting us so often. We have forwarded your comments to the staff, and they are thankful you enjoyed your stay so much. The whole team is already looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nice rustic cabins set apart in very beautiful surroundings. Nice swimmingpool with a stunning view. Good restaurant with a nice terrace, excellent buffet-style diner and breakfast. One of the best of our trip in Namibia. Wifi was not working during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsterdam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your complimenting review and your time. My apologies for the Wi-fi being down but I am thankful you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The lodge is in a stunning location, has been built in such a way that each bungalow fits into its stony surroundings, is totally private.
The restaurant is very, very good, has a beautiful view and they even have spotlights to light up the surrounding rocks!
The swimming pool is just out of this world with such a view!
There us a self drive game trail which is very nice when you have a 4 wheeldrive, it takes about 3 hours, and we even saw mountain zebras, lots of them, gnus, ostrichs, oryx etc., were hoping to see a leopard but that was too much to hope for!
The staff is very good and efficient, and Steffie, the assistant manager, was very, very helpful and nice.
We hope we can come back there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow completely at the back, although every bungalow is nice.Sundown there is stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

The whole team is very pleased you enjoyed your stay and for writing about it. It is wonderful to know we have left you with great memories and an enriching stay. We have forwarded your compliments to Steffie and the rest of the team. We also you hope you get to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

+ scenery is spectacular, sunset on the hill great, everything very clean.
staff helpfull and freindly.

- no free tee available like in 99% of other lodges, charging guests for tee
is quite unusual in Africa !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank collector0664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review about the cleanliness and location. It is always a great compliment to receive. I am sorry to hear you had to pay for the tea. We have spoken to management and tea is now free. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We came here in a group of 12, January 46 deg, pool water 36! The place is great and the dinner rustic but served with love....the huts are simple, a bit more comfort would be great......
Still come back here....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for staying with us but also for writing a review. It is also a pleasure to know you found the lodge to be comfortable and the food made with love. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Based on rave reviews and recommendations from friends who had been to the Canyon Lodge, we had tried to spend two nights there, also because we had been warned of the Ai Ais Lodge. Things turned out to be almost the opposite for us. The descriptions of the Canyon Lodge do not quite match with reality. Yes, it is conveniently close to the Fish River Canyon. Yes, it is in the middle of a beautiful, if austere landscape. But it is not particularly spectacularly set, the stone huts are modestly equipped and slightly run down, and when it's cold, you'll be miserable. So do go in summer time, but avoid this lodge in winter and spring.
Food is average, the buffet is attended by rather listless waitrons, and the service is no more than average. In the end, we were glad we could leave after one night and relocate to Ai Ais.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We regret to hear you had such a disappointing stay even though your friends recommended the establishment and therefore would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. During August to September the area experiences a cold front accompanied by fog which is very important to the fauna and flora. In future, we will make sure that guests are informed of a cold front ahead of time and make better provision. The rooms are equipped with air-conditioning which can function as a heating system and there are extra blankets in the cupboards. Our apologies for the service not being up to standard and be assured, it has been addressed by management. It is of utmost importance to us, that every guest felt welcome and relaxed after staying with us. We hope that we can convince you of our services on a future visit to Namibia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
9.9 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
497 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
372 reviews
10.9 mi away
Gondwana Canyon Lodge
Gondwana Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stamprivier
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#5 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge

Address: | 20 KM East of the Fish River Canyon, Gondwana Canon Park, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range: £172 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The harsh rocky desert region at the southern tip of Namibia has made many a traveller think that God has forgotten this land. Not so, just 20 kilometres from the main viewpoint of the Fish River Canyon, leading off the dusty D324, you’ll find the Canon Lodge, an oasis seemingly in the middle of nowhere. The Canon Lodge is one of two existing accommodation centres in the expanse of the 530 km² Gondwana Canon Park. Tall weather-beaten granite boulders mark the location of the lodge and forms an integral part of the overall design. The 20 thatch stone bungalows are dotted among the kopies and are beautifully designed, with the walls shaped around the hills so that boulders protrude into your room, cool to the touch and smoothly rounded by an eternity of erosion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Hotel Fish River Canyon
Canyon Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing