We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a must”
Review of Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's a must”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

After 2004 my wife and I were there the second time. A great place with great people! Just so gorgeous and so picturesque! To stay there for a day, two or three is a must if visiting Southern Namibia! We definitely will come back.



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteHunterFranconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
It is a true pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay and will visit us again. Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor and for the recommendation to other travellers.

Kindest regards
Bernd Grahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    176
    40
    6
    3
See reviews for
110
300
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

While our chalet was small it was perfectly adequate for the one night that we spent there and we loved the way that they were fitted in to the landscape.

The staff could not have been more helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The big surprise was a loaf of gluten free bread baked especially for me. Not many places would go to that much trouble.

South Africans who have a Gondwana card get special rates which makes this a very affordable option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveM704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
What a lovely review to receive. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I am very proud of our staff for making it so special and memorable. I have already forwarded your feedback to them. Yes, the Gondwana card for South-Africans is indeed a fantastic way to save money when travelling. We really hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klosters
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a pleasant surprise, the bungalows furtherest from the main lodge are the most desirable with the best views and privacy. #28 was super. The dinning room was not as attractive as the rest of the property, including the garden, hidden swimming pool and shaded terrace where one could breakfast or lunch but usually is too windy for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests. We hope you get to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Whilte the Canyon Lodge was beautifully and conveniently situated, with stunning views of the surroundings, and close to the Fish River Canyon, the chalets were very cramped and inadequate. Although they were innovatively designed to be built into the rocks, they were too small and dark with little room for luggage or clothing. Our chalet was situated very far from the car park, so that we required an army of porters to carry our luggage from the car to our chalet. Even though the porters were very helpful, we found this very inconvenient. The food was very average and there was not much choice of dishes. The outside dining area was lovely, but the reception did not tell us that one could reserve tables for dinner and breakfast. We therefore were not able to enjoy the wonderful views on the outer perimeter of the dining area as these had already been reserved. Service was friendly though slow.

The Lodge keeps horses and donkeys and this resulted in a proliferation of flies ( we did not experience a fly problem anywhere else in Namibia, not even in the game parks), and it also gave rise to an awful stench which permeated much of the resort ( thankfully not in our chalet!).
the interior of the lodge - lounge, bar and indoor dining area was dark and unattractive. Very disappointing for the price - not good value for money. I would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margie547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
The team is thankful for your feedback about your recent stay. I would like to apologise if you felt you did not receive value for your money. The chalets are built specifically to create an atmosphere of being close to nature. Furthermore, we have informed reception to make sure that guests are aware of the outside dining area and that you have to make a reservation. My apologies as well for the fly problem, we will see fit how this problem can be resolved. If you have any further questions please get in touch with me by dialling +264 61 23 00 066.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Integrated into the nature, for example our shower was partly in the rocks.
Did not feel crowded.
Good food, friendly service.
Amazing pool with a view to the valley. Great opportunities for sundowner drinks and sunset viewing.
They offer lots of activities, like sunset walks, hikes etc.
It is one of the closest places to Fish River Canyon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudtimO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor. We are glad you were pleased with the friendly service and enjoyed the food. It is an honour to receive such a mouthful of compliments and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was a real find! I have now stayed here a number of times over the last few years and it is a true gem. The rooms are all unique, built around the massive granite boulders that cover the site. The rooms are divine and the view where they invite guests to partake in 'Sundowner drinks' is a spectacular vista at sunset. The staff couldn't be more friendly and the dining was a delight, both dinners and breakfasts. Tea and coffee is 'on tap' 24 hours just behind the dining area and is free contrary to what another reviewer has said. If you don't stay here you are really missing out on a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We are overjoyed about your positive experience at Canyon lodge. Thank you for your review and for visiting us so often. We have forwarded your comments to the staff, and they are thankful you enjoyed your stay so much. The whole team is already looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
431 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nice rustic cabins set apart in very beautiful surroundings. Nice swimmingpool with a stunning view. Good restaurant with a nice terrace, excellent buffet-style diner and breakfast. One of the best of our trip in Namibia. Wifi was not working during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsterdam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your complimenting review and your time. My apologies for the Wi-fi being down but I am thankful you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
9.9 mi away
Canyon Roadhouse
Canyon Roadhouse
#1 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
49.4 mi away
Savanna Guest Farm
Savanna Guest Farm
#3 of 5 in Grunau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge

Property: Canyon Lodge
Address: | 20 KM East of the Fish River Canyon, Gondwana Canon Park, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fish River Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The harsh rocky desert region at the southern tip of Namibia has made many a traveller think that God has forgotten this land. Not so, just 20 kilometres from the main viewpoint of the Fish River Canyon, leading off the dusty D324, you’ll find the Canon Lodge, an oasis seemingly in the middle of nowhere. The Canon Lodge is one of two existing accommodation centres in the expanse of the 530 km² Gondwana Canon Park. Tall weather-beaten granite boulders mark the location of the lodge and forms an integral part of the overall design. The 20 thatch stone bungalows are dotted among the kopies and are beautifully designed, with the walls shaped around the hills so that boulders protrude into your room, cool to the touch and smoothly rounded by an eternity of erosion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Hotel Fish River Canyon
Canyon Lodge Namibia/Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing