We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canyon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort(Fish River Canyon)
US$244
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fish River Lodge(Fish River Canyon)
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canyon Roadhouse(Fish River Canyon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seeheim Hotel Namibia(Keetmanshoop)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Alte Kalkofen Lodge(Keetmanshoop)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nwr Hobas Campsite(Fish River Canyon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Canyon Village(Fish River Canyon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
355
220
52
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
220
52
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge bouldersswimming poolfamily roomexcellent accommodationbuffet stylegranite rockshonesty barwatch the sunsetgreen grassgondwana cardindividual chaletsthe cottagesbeautiful placegreat settingmain areaself drivean oasis in the desert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very comfortable lodging, food as always was great! Pool is a bit of a walk from lodges, but worth it! Gorgeous setting, just be sure to bring everything you will need for the kids with you the first time. We also did the evening walk which was a lovely setting to enjoy the view and a sundowner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for the "wow" review about your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and you found the food to be delicious. Please visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Bernd Grahl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

After 2004 my wife and I were there the second time. A great place with great people! Just so gorgeous and so picturesque! To stay there for a day, two or three is a must if visiting Southern Namibia! We definitely will come back.



  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank WhiteHunterFranconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

It is a true pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay and will visit us again. Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor and for the recommendation to other travellers.

Kindest regards
Bernd Grahl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

While our chalet was small it was perfectly adequate for the one night that we spent there and we loved the way that they were fitted in to the landscape.

The staff could not have been more helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The big surprise was a loaf of gluten free bread baked especially for me. Not many places would go to that much trouble.

South Africans who have a Gondwana card get special rates which makes this a very affordable option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveM704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

What a lovely review to receive. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I am very proud of our staff for making it so special and memorable. I have already forwarded your feedback to them. Yes, the Gondwana card for South-Africans is indeed a fantastic way to save money when travelling. We really hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a pleasant surprise, the bungalows furtherest from the main lodge are the most desirable with the best views and privacy. #28 was super. The dinning room was not as attractive as the rest of the property, including the garden, hidden swimming pool and shaded terrace where one could breakfast or lunch but usually is too windy for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

I would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests. We hope you get to visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Whilte the Canyon Lodge was beautifully and conveniently situated, with stunning views of the surroundings, and close to the Fish River Canyon, the chalets were very cramped and inadequate. Although they were innovatively designed to be built into the rocks, they were too small and dark with little room for luggage or clothing. Our chalet was situated very far from the car park, so that we required an army of porters to carry our luggage from the car to our chalet. Even though the porters were very helpful, we found this very inconvenient. The food was very average and there was not much choice of dishes. The outside dining area was lovely, but the reception did not tell us that one could reserve tables for dinner and breakfast. We therefore were not able to enjoy the wonderful views on the outer perimeter of the dining area as these had already been reserved. Service was friendly though slow.

The Lodge keeps horses and donkeys and this resulted in a proliferation of flies ( we did not experience a fly problem anywhere else in Namibia, not even in the game parks), and it also gave rise to an awful stench which permeated much of the resort ( thankfully not in our chalet!).
the interior of the lodge - lounge, bar and indoor dining area was dark and unattractive. Very disappointing for the price - not good value for money. I would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margie547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berndg_11, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

The team is thankful for your feedback about your recent stay. I would like to apologise if you felt you did not receive value for your money. The chalets are built specifically to create an atmosphere of being close to nature. Furthermore, we have informed reception to make sure that guests are aware of the outside dining area and that you have to make a reservation. My apologies as well for the fly problem, we will see fit how this problem can be resolved. If you have any further questions please get in touch with me by dialling +264 61 23 00 066.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews