We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful!”
Review of Daan's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daan's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We didn't stay here but we had to use the internet late one night because my husband had to get a job application in while on vaca. Our B&B send us to Daan's and he was so helpful and friendly, he opened up the internet cafe just for us and didn't try to boot us out right away. I didn't see the rooms but what we saw was clean and secure!

Stayed: March 2013
2  Thank SharolinLesotho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your review, glad I could help, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Daan's Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed four nights at Daan's Place and enjoyed every minute of the time we spent there. Ian was an excellent host, the rooms very clean and the breakfast superb. Ian was very helpful with advice on the best spots to visit and showed off his Google Map computer skills on more than one occasion!
Some fantastic sights within easy driving distance and secure parking when you return. We also enjoyed eating out at a number of restaurants in Graskop.
My wife says that Ian should include a set of drawers in the room but other than that a brilliant place to stay.
Thank you Ian and all your hardworking staff

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RT91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you very much for your review, hope we see you again soon.Take care Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

A nice clean and friendly Self-Catering establishment. Our host was very helpful and gave us some good information about the area. Daans Place is a good base for exploring the Panoramic Route, Blyde River Canyon and Kruger Park. Our room was comfortable with a full stove in the kitchen and good quality linen on a comfortable bed. Dining tables are outside and a comfortable lounge/bar/internet cafe is available. Definately recommend Daans Place

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thanks Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

A good option in gaskop. Ian, the owner is very helpful, the rooms are clean and well appointed and the beds and top notch bedding made for a sound sleep. Also very safe and secure parking provided. Breakfast available at a small extra charge.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem the same. All had a outside table on the deck which was nice
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for your review, keep well, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Nothing that we say will do justice to the service received from Ian and staff at Daan's place. On the 9th of January my son and his girlfriend booked into a lodge in Graskop. Due to various factors the accomodation was totally unsuitable for the two 20 year old's and at 9 pm we had no choice but to find alternate accommodation for them. Thankfully the first number we came across was for Daan's Place. Ian was incredibly helpful regarding finding space for them at the last second, going so far as to suggest meeting the youngsters halfway to ensure that they didn't get lost (this at close to 10 pm), and then allowing them to book in without worrying about any payment being made until the following morning. As they'd had to forfeit their deposit on the previous accomodation they were forced to cut their holiday short by two days. Ian was so kind as to offer them a free night's stay to make up for their unpleasant experience. The rooms were fabulous - spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the breakfast was great, with the dvds and wifi being an added bonus! They wanted for absolutely nothing. All in all it was the kind of service that far exceeded anything we could have asked for. To Ian and all at Daan's Place thank you once again for your kindness, concern and generosity - we would not hesitate to highly recommend your establishment in the future. Five stars plus!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you, it was a pleasure. This is such a beautiful area, it would have been sad if their holiday was unpleasant due to their accommodation. I hope they have some fond memories and that we will see them again soon.

Ian & Tina
Daan's Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

What a fantastic place! The location is situated perfectly for sightseeing and the staff were full of helpful recommendations and tips. The accomodation is spacious and clean and the cafe/pub with both wi-fi & desktop computers was a terrific addition. I guarantee you will feel at home here and want to return time and time again for the friendly chat and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you Rebecca, I enjoy meeting and chatting with international guests.When the weather in Ireland starts getting you down come see us again

Take care
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

After having stayed in a couple of average places in South Africa, my wife and I were overwhelmed by the kindness and generosity of the staff at Daan's. They couldn't do enough for us during our stay, and the quality of the accomodation was equally impressive. Daan's has an internet cafe on-site, and it is really more like someone's front room. The whole atmosphere of Daan's is one of comfort and friendliness. And the coffee ... OMG! it's wonderful. The best you'll find anywhere close, I guarantee it!
I would really recommend anyone to stay a while at Daan's, you couldn't go wrong. And it is ideally placed for heading out on trips around the local sights.
Five stars *****

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thank you Michael, really appreciate such a good review, if only you knew how much this motivates us to maintain this level of service

Take care and keep well
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graskop hotels
0.2 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Autumn Breeze Manor
Autumn Breeze Manor
#6 of 15 in Graskop
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
0.8 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daan's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daan's Place

Address: 27 Monument Street | and Bloedrivier Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Graskop
Price Range: £32 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daan's place is located in the village of Graskop,South Africa, Central to all the attractions in Mpumalanga ( formerly known as the Eastern Transvaal ) and is an ideal base for your travels along the Panorama route as well as the Kruger National Park.Daan's Place Catered and Self Catering Accommodation. Comfortable Rooms with either Double or 2 three quarter beds, kitchenette with utensils, fridge, Room Safe and Shower or bathroom.Hav-a-Java Fully Licenced Coffee shop, Eatery and Internet Cafe, PS3 Gaming and entertainment centre with Skype Interconnectivity. Splash pool and pool service for food and beverage. Wi-Fi available and Business Service.Rags - Automated Laundrette for washing and drying of clothes. Washing Service offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Daan's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing