We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little B&B, would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daan's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Daan's Place
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great little B&B, would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Value for money B&B, owner so friendly and helpful, bed mega comfy, room clean. Would have liked some fruit at brekkie. Wifi very hit and miss. Apart from that, difficult to fault, especially given the price

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barneypalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you, will sort out the wifi, it was struck by lightning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    55
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We (family of four, kids 18 and 22) booked Daan's for a one night stay as we were headed straight from the airport towards the Kruger part of our holiday, and we knew we couldn't reach our camp (Shindzela) within the time available. The break at Dan's was great as it allowed us to recover from our long flight, plus see something of the Blyde Canyon. Daan is the perfect host .. reviving us from jet lag within minutes with super cappuccinos and espressos from his cosy bar. The beds were lovely and comfortable, the showers nice and hot, and breakfasts were tasty and filling: all in all a great stop-over.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifes_an_illusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Wow, thank you for such a great review, you put wind in my sails again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with this place. We usually stay in a hotel on short stay-overs, but we decided that we would give Daan's place a try. The rooms compare to most 4 and 5 star hotels with the added benefit of a kitchenette. We loved it! The breakfast was amazing.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevinOpperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Ahhhh thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here enroute to Kruger. Nice stopover place. Very friendly and helpful owner/manager. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Modern finishes and comfortable bed. Good value for money. Slightly noisy area outside of lodge, however the lodge itself is secure and peaceful.

Room Tip: Not the budget room. Take a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuazzamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here overnight on our way to Kruger. Had everything we wanted; warm welcome, a clean comfortable room and a hearty breakfast the following morning.

There was a good choice for breakfast, which was taken outside in the garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RasputinPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great room and friendly staff, only thing to improve on it to put a sofa or chair in a room, i loved their movie server and free wifi. their bed is very comfortable and well decorated rooms. if possible they must put a fan or aircon in rooms, it is not so well ventilated and it might not be comfortable when hot

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince_Gape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, owner at Daan's Place, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi

Thank you for your review, this is a new room so your feedback is appreciated. A couch has been ordered and is on it's way here, we will look into putting in fans as you suggested

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Daan's place for 3 nights to visit the blyde river canyon and the kruger national park. It was the perfect place to stay to start our day tours. The owners were absolutely friendly, welcoming and helpful with planning our routes.
The rooms were very spacious and clean and wifi was available for free.
We really enjoyed our stay a lot and can recommend Daan's place to everyone! Thank you very much!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daanspl, Owner at Daan's Place, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you very much for your stay with us and for your review, hpe you enjoyed your South African holiday and that you will be back again soon

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graskop hotels
0.2 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
9.5 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daan's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daan's Place

Property: Daan's Place
Address: 27 Monument Street | and Bloedrivier Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daan's place is located in the village of Graskop,South Africa, Central to all the attractions in Mpumalanga ( formerly known as the Eastern Transvaal ) and is an ideal base for your travels along the Panorama route as well as the Kruger National Park.Daan's Place Catered and Self Catering Accommodation. Comfortable Rooms with either Double or 2 three quarter beds, kitchenette with utensils, fridge, Room Safe and Shower or bathroom.Hav-a-Java Fully Licenced Coffee shop, Eatery and Internet Cafe, PS3 Gaming and entertainment centre with Skype Interconnectivity. Splash pool and pool service for food and beverage. Wi-Fi available and Business Service.Rags - Automated Laundrette for washing and drying of clothes. Washing Service offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Daan's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing