We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, poor facilities”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Graskop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forever Resort Blyde Canyon
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view, poor facilities”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

When we arrived at our stone chalet and opened the chalet, the whole thing reeked of cigarette smoke. When I went to inform the manager "Pieter" the next day, he was very polite but blamed the "selfish smokers" instead of taking responsibility and informing us on how he would fix the problem in the future. The pillows were flimsy and smelled of cigarette smoke. The lounge furniture was very uncomfortable and not something you could relax in. The resort should put screens on the windows instead of telling people to keep their windows closed. The food- both breakfast and dinner was not very impressive. The hike down into the canyon was the only highlight to our trip!

Room Tip: You probably won't find a great room in this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    78
    61
    11
    9
See reviews for
68
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in a 4 star chalet (R690 winter self catering price) which had a good size lounge/kitchen, a modern bathroom and a twin bedroom with picture windows overlooking the side of the Canyon. The resort had 2 viewpoints – the high one had a better view of the three Rondavels than the public site just down the road. No wifi. Tip – just off the R532 a couple of km north of the three Rondavels viewpoint.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 77, 78, 86, 87, 88, 97 or 98 for good views - although none overlook the canyon itself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed at the resort for a week (camping), absolutely loved the hiking trails and friendly staff! The facilities were very clean and kept neat & tidy. The only improvement I can suggest is that they do a clean up in the bush areas - we encountered a lot of rubbish on the trails and in the more dense areas by the campsites. Enjoyed dinner at the restaurant one night as well - definitely worth it. All in all a great location, with scenery that takes your breath away, the horse trails are also an absolute must!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFundi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading across to Kruger National Park. It was a lovely resort and we stayed in a semi-detached bungalow. There was a kitchen with all the crockery and cutlery and a dining table. The microwave was really dodgy, with a hole burnt right the way through the door, but we weren't cooking. The room was spacious, as too was the bathroom (bath and shower) with high ceilings. There was a TV in the room. There was a bottle of water in the fridge, but the seal wasn't in tact, so we didn't risk drinking it unboiled. They provide towels and soap, so there is no need to bring these.

There are monkeys in the resort, so you need to keep doors and windows closed, we saw them by the play park when we arrived. There was a nice looking outdoor swimming pool. The restaurant was lovely, with an open fire, and the meal was buffet service, so you could help yourself to what you wanted. The chef was helpful in pointing out what was vegetarian as nothing was labelled.

There is a shop in the resort which sells a few basics, and there is also a petrol station which was very handy. The resort is in a great location to see the local sights and I thoroughly recommend the Blyde River Canyon (free), Bourkes Luck Potholes (R25 per person and R5 for a car) and the three rondawels (R5). There are local people selling wood crafts at all these places, and they sell these for a good price and they are nicer than the kind you can find in Kruger. Also you know the money is going straight to the people.

There are some really fantastic views around the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

We were very sceptic to stay at this resort, as normally the rooms, service and facillities do not reflect the 3 star grading advertised and also some of the negative commentary also motivated our opinion, however we were pleasantly surprised!! The cleaning staff is always there and on duty, the restaurant's food and service were excellent, all the facilities were neat and in a working condition, the reception was friendly and very helpfully and even the tuck shop stays open till 20:00!! What did help in reading the commentary,mwas to know of the baboons and we bought 3 plastic snakes and placed them on our verandah and entrance steps. Needless to say we had zero problems with any baboons or apes. When they discovered the snakes at our chalet, they avoided it at all times. Thank you Blyde Canion Resort for a memorable stay!!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Henlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Blyde Canyon Resort for 3 days and it was simply wonderful and very peaceful! We stayed in one of the 3 star self catering units - it was well equipped - lovely kitchen with all the necessary pots, pans and utensils. Very well worth the price of R 725 per night. It even had a microwave and a big fridge. We had breakfast outside every morning which was lovely. Nice bedroom with TV inside ( with some good DSTV channels) People need to remember that they are in Africa and animals are going to be around especially if you are in their territory! Yes, there were baboons and they are nasty. Tip: My boyfriend bought some rope before our trip and dangled it infront of the baboons - they ran off as apparently they think the rope is a snake! You can also buy rubber snakes and put it around your cottage. They did not bother us again!
The weather was hot - we braaied for 2 nights outside our unit and it was so relaxing & private sitting outside. I loved their braai facility! Our last night we went to the restaurant ( buffet dinner for R 120 ) which was pleasant - the food was okay-( not 5 star) but good - the staff were friendly.
We did a lovely hike - 2hours - the Loerie trail - awesome waterfalls.
We visited the potholes, the mac mac falls and the lisbon falls, pilgrims rest, and God's window.
The only complaint we have is the fact that we had to pay entrance fees for the beautiful nature views. They charged us R55 per car to see the pot holes and R10 to see each waterfall and R5 to see God's window. The bathrooms at God's window was disgusting! It was flooded, rusted, no toilet paper, toilets out of order. I don't know where that R5 goes to as no slip was given to us when we had paid the R5. I think it goes into their pockets. We don't mind paying as long as it is for the up keep of the place. It is not the amount of the money but the principal of it.
The potholes were nice but definetly not worth paying R55 to see it! I mean The Kruger National Park charges R 98 per car to get in and it is a whole day visit for a beautiful wild animal park that is bigger than the size of England! Where is the logic in that?
Overall we had a lovely, peaceful stay and we would definetly go back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCampsBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

good location for viewing Blyde Canyon and potholes but that is it. Nice large pool and stocked shop for daily goods. Baboons and monkey were scary and we kept things locked while we were inside and out. Having them jump against your door early hours of the morning is not fun. Chalets we tried were not great but then we finally got the upgraded one which was great and what we expected to see. (but that us over priced) Had one dinner buffet it was ok. At luch time the tour busses come.

Room Tip: the ones against the mountain are not very private(like row houses).would rather go for the lower on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinnLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan H, General Manager at Forever Resort Blyde Canyon, responded to this review, 18 October 2015
Thank you for your review, we continually strive to improve our product and service delivery offering. Every review is important to the development of our improvement strategy. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graskop
24.9 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
567 reviews
5.8 mi away
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
#25 of 103 in Hoedspruit
230 reviews
28.0 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
6.2 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
183 reviews
24.5 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forever Resort Blyde Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forever Resort Blyde Canyon

Property: Forever Resort Blyde Canyon
Address: R535 Graskop | Private Bag X405, Graskop 1270, South Africa (Formerly Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort)
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Graskop
Hotel Class:3 star — Forever Resort Blyde Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Forever Resorts Aventura Blydepoort Hotel Graskop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing