We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great quiet place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley View Backpackers
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I was coming down from the panorama route, and didn't want to drive all the way down to Nelspruit. I stayed at their "hut" outside, and it was perfectly comfortable, if a bit chilly in the late night / early morning. I love their location, which is right on the edge of town overlooking a valley - thus the name. They have a place to park your car that's locked up, which is nice. They also offer internet - with your own computer, wifi [a bit spotty] is reasonable at 50R for your entire stay, which is really nice. The couple that own it are really great, very friendly, and full of great advice on the things to do in the area for all budgets. The rooms are nice. I didn't see the dorm, but the rest are quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the huts or out of the main area, because depending on the group that's staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at what they call the "rondavel", a rounded cottage in the yard of the property. While the rest of the buildings accomodate a traditional hostel, our rondavel had a living room with a kitchen, a private bathroom with shower and a big room with four beds. Clean and quiet. Joseph is a great host and very helpful.
Graskop is very convenient for the visit of the Blyde River Canyon, though the light fog that we had during our trip was quite disturbing with the supposed nice views. Pilgim's Rest is nice but definitely a tourist trap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Workinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Petiteadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank giacopierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Victoriane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaurianeBd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graskop hotels
0.6 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 2 in Graskop
625 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
0.6 mi away
Sheri's Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#6 of 16 in Graskop
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blyde Lodge
Blyde Lodge
#11 of 14 in Graskop
3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Gallerie
Le Gallerie
#12 of 16 in Graskop
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley View Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Backpackers

Address: 47 De Lange Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Graskop
Price Range: £19 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Backpackers offers budget accommodation for national and international travellers. It is situated in the mountains overlooking the Graskop valley and close to town and its amenities. Clean, cosy, friendly and welcoming with plenty of information provided on the many local attractions and activities. Mountain bikes for rent, numerous walking trails and spectacular scenery. Graskop is perfectly located next to the Blyde River Canyon and under an hour away from the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing