We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

If you need to reload your batteries, Thaba Tsweni Lodge is the place to go to. Situated in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.The chalets are are beautifully designed and fully equiped to cater for all your needs.And if you need a tourguide, the owner Wendel Hough, is the man to speak to. He has an extensive knowledge of the area and its history.He also does tours to the Kruger Park and private Game Lodges. I will most definitely visit there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    67
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

From the outside they might not be much to look at but the one-bedroom chalet is warm and friendly from the inside. We used the barbeque "braai" all three nights of our stay. We bought most of our food in Johannesburg on our way out of town but the local Spar seems well stocked. It also meant we were able to pack sandwiches for picnic lunches. The location is convenient for exploring the spectacular Blyde Canyon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrinketTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Good spacious self-catering accommodation. Quiet. Views good. Handy for Graskop/Blyde although you need to drive to get to restaurants. Beds really hard as others have said before. Missed having sun umbrella as nowhere to sit out of hot sun. Its the price that is right. We were very pleased when there but it was our first night in South Africa. We did not realise then that there are lots of even better places to stay also at great prices. Go to Glass House in Graskop to eat so cheaply and well- Bobotie was delicious as was bread/butter pud!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were there in Jan. The lodge has all the basic equipment for self catering. The room is clean. It is 10 mins drive from Graskop in an isolated area. But we never felt unsafe.

The only thing I was very much missing is the hair dryer and the TV is not receiving any signal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmingorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Wendel was very obliging to take us on the Tsukudu Safari, although we didn't stay at his Lodge. We spent a wonderfully informative day with Wendel as our guide and Game Ranger exploring the Tsukudu private game park. His knowledge of the park, animals, birds and vegetation was freely shared with us. He was also mindful of physical capabilities of each member in the group. We are happy to recommend Wendell in this capacity to anyone. Thanks for a great day in Africa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Thank you to the Hough's for the welcoming Lodge and hospitality. They are so welcoming and understanding. The girls loved ur breakfast Mrs Hough, old fashioned and wholesome! We're definately coming back!!! Nolwazi Nongogo

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolwazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed 5 nights here, had a braio every night and loved it. The cabin was clean, well equipped with a lovely private deck out the back. The recommendations of things to do were spot on and the owner there whenever you needed them. Even though you are essentially in their garden it didn't feel like that and it was great being able to walk to their mountain stream pool (very cold but worth it!)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuziLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graskop
6.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
361 reviews
5.8 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
531 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
60 reviews
23.3 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris

Property: Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
Address: Farm 506 Berlin | Berlin Falls, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris is situated in the Blyde River Canyon of Mpumalanga South Africa, close to the Kruger National Park. Thaba Tsweni is a family-owned and managed lodge with fully equipped self-catered and catered chalets in a mountain atmosphere of the Drakensbuerg mountains. We are situated close to attractions such as the Blyde River Canyon, Kruger National Park and Mozambique for diving holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing