We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning view and lovely fireplace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning view and lovely fireplace”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

It's a little hard to find by yourself, but if you make reservations in advance you get clear instructions how to arrive at the estate. My TomTom couldn't find it alone ;-)

The very charming owner Wendel is eager to tell you a lot more about the surroundings, give tips on what to see and what can be skipped easily. He has also been a guide for several years in Kruger, so if you are planning on traveling through; talk to him and share your ideas.
Nicely situated the estate is overlooking some beautiful scenery, with hills, creeks and unpaved roads. Watch the birds in the garden! We arrived end of the afternoon and made reservations for dinner. The lady of the house prepared us a proper 3-course meal, nothing very special but indeed tasteful and big portions. The dining room had one big table, so you really share the meal. A little unease at the start, but a real good opportunity to meet other people and share travel itineraries.

The lodge was great, spacious with a large kitchen and stove (make sure to do some shopping first…like cold beers and breakfast) and a lovely fire place with enough wood. The bed was comfortable as was the bathroom, but don't expect luxury there. You can easily spend more than one night here, especially with Wendel and the activities he offers next to your stay.

Room Tip: As the lodges have big kitchens, do some proper shopping first before arriving at the estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    61
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
94
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights, before going into Kruger for safari. The place is very nice and peaceful, about 9km from Graskop (which is not much of a town, btw). There is a large lawn which would be perfect for families so that kids can run around. Well-equipped - we were able to cook a pasta meal, they even had a cheese grater! - including a fireplace with firewood provided. Just 15 mins walk to Berlin falls, and I would imagine that you could take some nice walks around the area as well (we didn't have time). The pictures provided on the web do not do justice to how nice the place actually is.
Note that the area gets rather foggy, so need to drive carefully, and preferably arrive before it gets dark. You may not be able to see the key sights (God's Window, Pinnacle, etc) due to the fog too.
Wendel is a good host, happily shares his knowledge of sights and suggested a nice trek at Blyde River Canyon as well. The lovely ladies who clean the rooms will also help do laundry for ZAR 40 per load. The one ting that would make this 5 stars for me would be internet availability. Fortunately we had our own 3G, and mobile reception was good. But would be great to have wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

There are few places generally that are pet friendly, but clean at the same time. The houses are lovely inside and very managable with pets. We had the dogs with us on our family weekend and with the Berlin Falls just about 1km from the lodge, it was perfect for morning and afternoon walks. Most of the restaurants in Graskop are also pet friendly so it was no problem travelling with the dogs either! Truely a wonderful weekend and such a comfortable stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnelMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soweto, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We are a couple from JHB Soweto, we stayed at Thaba tsweni from 29/11/13 to 01/12/13. What a lovely, peacefull and relaxing place to be, we enjoyed everything from Wendel's family to the sataff, Garfield and Jessy. The tour and activities were awesome. We will still be back for more activities. We Love the Place.

From Mfanafuthi and Sazi
Soweto

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfanafuthi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was our second visit to Thaba Tsweni and it was as good as our first. Wendel and his staff are incredibly friendly and create a very relaxing atmosphere to unwind and enjoy.

We took advantage of the walking tours Thaba runs in the Blyde valley and had two excellent days exploring the Blyde valley plus they organised a brilliant day in the Kruger park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amoore111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My friends and I stayed at Thaba Tsweni for the second time in 4 years on our visit to God's window and it is still as good as the first visit. We stayed in chalet 1, very spacious, very neat and clean and fully equipped. We spent two nights there, self catering basis and has no hassles. As there's not much night life in the area the chalets are plenty comfortable for an evening spent indoors catching up on the beauty of the area!
Wendel and the family were very welcoming.
Would def recommend anyone going there to check it out.

Room Tip: If travelling as a group of 4+ def request Chalet 1, there's enough space in the lounge there to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Close to Graskop and located wonderfully: Thaba Tsweni Lodge. In the morning you visit the Blyde River Canyon (God’s Window, Berlin and Lisbon falls, Bourkes’ Potholes, Three Rondavels, etc.), in the afternoon you enter Kruger National Park. The owner is very friendly and gives you lots of information and good advice. We stayed in a cottage: kitchen, living room (with prepared fire place!), bedroom, bathroom en nice terrace with stunning view. You can get diner on request, breakfast is included. Recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjan-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graskop hotels
5.5 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lisbon Hideaway
Lisbon Hideaway
#1 of 14 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.8 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
5.1 mi away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris

Property: Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
Address: Farm 506 Berlin | Berlin Falls, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris is situated in the Blyde River Canyon of Mpumalanga South Africa, close to the Kruger National Park. Thaba Tsweni is a family-owned and managed lodge with fully equipped self-catered and catered chalets in a mountain atmosphere of the Drakensbuerg mountains. We are situated close to attractions such as the Blyde River Canyon, Kruger National Park and Mozambique for diving holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing