We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different bush experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nkomazi Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A different bush experience”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Spent 10 days at beginning of Jan 2013 here and loved it so much I've booked in again for Easter. The lodge comprises 10 luxury tented units set on a hill overlooking the rapids of a river. The units are "camping" at its best with a king size bed, complimentary bar fridge, aircon & fan, sitting area, separate bathroom, walk in closet and toilet. The outside V&A claw bath was awesome for bathing under the stars and the plunge pool, deck chairs and umbrella great for cooling off during the day. We stayed in unit 7 which is set slightly higher up on the hill but had great sound from the river (unit 3, where my sister stayed was closer to the river but a bit too noisy). As far as comfort and service go, Nkomazi is superb!

Game viewing was exceptional with our ranger Heinrich who took us on drives, walks, fishing, cycling and combo's thereof. The wildlife is abundant and the "Serengeti plain" is open with short green grass for great game viewing. One drive on the plain we saw lions stalking prey, 6 rhino's, 11 elephant and probably about 400 assorted antelope. They don't have buffalo and you're unlikely to see leopard but saw incredible lion activity of stalking, playing and eating that was pretty unique.

All in all a fantastic experience and look forward to seeing Ulrich, Arline, Michelle, Heinrich and the rest of the staff again in April.

Room Tip: Unit 11 if you like a vista but no river rapid noise; unit 3 is right on the river and rapids are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
137
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We went to nkomazi for our one year wedding anniversary and stayed in the Royal Suite. You cannot match the absolute beauty you get to experience here! The accommodation is luxurious, food is amazing, quality of game rangers excellent and staff go the extra mile to make you feel happy and comfortable. With a romantic turndown provided by the lodge and Outside bath overlooking the river, it was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary!

Room Tip: The royal suite is lovely but the river front rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I was absolutely blown away by Nkomazi Game Reserve. We often get away to lodges for the weekends and I must say that Nkomazi was by far one of the best experiences we have had in a long time. We stayed in Room 11 where the view seemed to go on forever! The service was excellent and our every whim was taken care of. Well done Nkomazi Management and Staff we will definately be back!

Room Tip: Room 11 - the view is spectacular and is very private at the furtherest end of the Lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of our two week holiday to South Africa. We stayed in the Royal Tent and literally felt like royalty tduring our short stay. The food at every meal was amazing and Mama Grace was an excellent cook. Our ranger Heinz was very knowledgable and friendly and taught us more in 3 days then we learnt on an 8 day safari to Tanzania!! The Game viewing was exceptional and we saw a pride of lions (on the hunt after a poor little Warthog), heard of elephants, 4 White rhinos and a whole variety of antelope (as well as hundreds of Zebra, girraffes and Wildabeasts,

Overall and great experience and great Value for money!!!! Thanks again for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VineshAndShivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights--it was the best part of our 2-week vacation. Everything was fantastic!

ROOM:
We were in the royal tent--it was absolutely gorgeous! The bed was comfortable, the room was immaculate! The extra tent was also beautiful.

FOOD:
Delicious! I loved all the meals we had. The staff were so friendly and chatty too. I had the most amazing lamb here. And it was great that the cook, Mama Grace, would come out every night and explain the menu to guests, I thought that was a very nice touch. the food was amazing!

GAME DRIVES:
Our ranger was friendly and extremely knowledgeable. He explained everything very well and we learned so much! The game viewing isn't as good as with the other game reserve we stayed in but we didn't mind at all!

SPA:
The spa area was nice. I felt like my massage was rushed a bit compared to my boyfriend's so I was a bit dissapointed but it was still a good experience. Maybe I'm a bit too critical because I've been having massages for many years now but it was still ok.

Overall it was definitely a great experience! They're not as expensive as other private game lodges as well so that's an added bonus!

I would recommend this place 150%

Room Tip: get the royal tent if it's still available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singmearainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at Komati Tented Lodge, and at this present moment I wish we were back there!

The lodge is located on the banks of the Komati River in the Nkomazi Game Reserve. It is a beautiful area of Mpumalanga and definitely worth a visit when you have time. Upon arrival at the gate you have to wait in the waiting lounge for the lodge to come and pick you up as you’re not allowed to drive in yourself. The transfer to the lodge is about 20-30min and affords you time to already see animals. On our drive in, we saw 2 Rhinos with a baby and several other animals. Upon arrival at the lodge you greeted by the singing staff & managers with smiles everywhere and cold towels and welcome drinks. One of the nicest welcomes we’ve received.

The boma, dining tent, lounge tent (majlis) and small shop is located on the hill with all the suites and spa on or near the river at the bottom. All areas are in their separate tents and the lounge tent has a beautiful deck with wonderful views across the river and mountains. Perfect spot for soaking up the beauty.

The suite tents are huge in comparison to the other areas of the lodge. Each tent has king size beds with extremely comfortable with chairs for inside and outside. A decked area with private plunge pool and loungers. What is also very nice is the freestanding bath outside on the deck for bathing in nature. The inside shower is also very quirky with the steel bath at the bottom and the shower curtain with a linen curtain on the outside to afford complete privacy. The bathroom also has a freestanding vanity and separate toilet and separate walk-in closet. This all in a tented structure! While having a bath outside on a beautiful day on our last morning, there was actually ‘n Nyala that came and ate grass right next to me while lying in the bath, less than 1m away! An awesome experience! The interiors are also very well appointed for that luxury Out of Africa feel. We actually loved the suites that we stayed in, and spent most of our time there!

All the staff and managers at the lodge is extremely friendly, knowledgeable and make you feel completely relaxed and at home. They’re constantly smiling, joking and no request is too small, and always done with friendliness. Although sometimes we did have to wait a bit for something to happen, but in the end it still did with the same friendliness. Ulrich (GM of the lodge) was actually our ranger for our stay as well, as he was a ranger for 10 years prior to becoming GM. He was definitely one of the best we’ve had and knew everything about the game reserve. The walk and drives we did with him were always enjoyable.

The food at the lodge was good, but we had a hit and miss situation with some of the food. The first night we had the South African braai in the boma. The whole boma was beautiful, but the food was not as good as expected. Although we actually expected it to be not as good, because we haven’t really had a good boma / barbeque dinner at any lodges. But that said, the wharthog chops we had were delishes! The breakfast the second morning was a bit of a let-down as we expected a bit more variety. That evening’s dinner was in the dining tent and the food was actually very good and much better than we expected. The last morning’s breakfast was very enjoyable again, as it was South Africa’s Heritage day, which is also our national braai day, so the whole boma was set up again with tables, chairs and umbrellas, and we had a breakfast cooked on the braai!

There are a 2 negatives things I also need to mention, from our experience. In the lounge tent there is a huge TV that guests switched on to watch while we were having pre-dinner drinks. We really don’t think that a TV that huge is needed in a lodge with this beauty. Or at least have it in a cupboard, as it is an eye-sore. Our telephone didn’t work for the duration of the stay, but Ulrich did apologise for this, thus forcing us to use our cellphones to contact the lodge.

Thus all said, I would definitely return to this lodge and spend maybe longer there!

Room Tip: Tent 1 (very quiet and the furthest from the lodge on the river) - Tent 5 (close to river and on teh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoersel, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay. We had the Royal Suite (double tents) and were treated like real kings for our honeymoon. Great game drives with knowledgeable rangers, great food and an extremely relaxing spa-treatment made this the best place I ever stayed.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badplaas
24.4 mi away
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
0.0 mi away
Highgrove House
Highgrove House
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hlumu Lodge
Hlumu Lodge
#2 of 2 in Badplaas
13 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dawsons Game and Trout Lodge
21.4 mi away
Bushwhacked
Bushwhacked
#1 of 12 in Barberton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkomazi Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkomazi Game Reserve

Property: Nkomazi Game Reserve
Address: R541, Badplaas 1190, South Africa (Formerly Komati Tented Lodge )
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Badplaas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Badplaas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nkomazi Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as "the place of water," Nkomazi Game Reserve is a destination of outstanding scenic beauty. It is an ecological Aladdin’s Cave of natural science, from its towering ancient mountains to its broad river valleys and impressive grasslands. Victorian military "Africa Campaign" styled tents blend into the landscape. Furniture creates a traditional "Out of Africa" feel with all the added comforts and luxuries of 5-star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Nkomazi Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komati Tented Lodge - Nkomazi Game Reserve Hotel Badplaas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing