We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Five up close and personal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nkomazi Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big Five up close and personal”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Lovely game viewing . Dave a super well knowledged game ranger . Friendly service will definately return . Romantic setting . Something magical about the location. Falling asleep to the sound of the river flowing . Very private .

Room Tip: All have a super location water sound constant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAA6911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
130
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nkomazi is a definite asset to Mpumalanga and is highly recommended if you are looking for a quality offering in a natural setting that is quiet and uncrowded. May seems to be the perfect month to visit as this is the shoulder season before European Summer vacation and the locals thinking winter has already arrived. A last minute decision to spend the weekend away saw "Bushbreaks" shortlisting 3 alternatives within 4hrs drive of JHB. I'm so glad that I chose Nkomazi and I will return. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. The rangers are very knowledgeable (Heinrich especially), all the game drives very well done, and the attention to a wide variety of aspects (birds, tracks, small animals) very refreshing; Michelle in the Retreat is simply brilliant. A massage with her is a must. Replacing a game drive with a walk was also well worth the request. All food is good, the setting stunning, views of mountains, rivers and bush all lovely. All in all a solid choice for a weekend away from JHB. I will return and stay longer.

Room Tip: Tents are either hillside or riverside. I had a riverside room in the trees which was perfect for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0livinglife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level Contributor
208 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This was a amazing found! We were impressed from the begging to the last minute of our stay. Paul ( our host and ranger) was great: knowledge, friendly and adventurous. The food was excellent: we had great meals together, boma, lovely cookies in our room, delicious high tea time before going out for the safari. Breakfast was well prepare and just enough to keep us going for the day. Great opportunities to participate in different activities, spend some time in our private decks and enjoy the lovely spa treatments.
Everything was perfect to all the group. Most didn't speak English, but felt welcomed and comfort during all stay. Game drives were great! Tracking lions, observing the wide life and enjoying the adventure way of Paul to drive and share information was very special to all of us!
The rooms were amazing: linen, comfort, luxury in the right proportion. Amenities of quality and service that added such great excellence to our stay! Thanks to all the team!

Room Tip: The tends are just perfect positioned around the river and property. We were in the higher numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

What an awesome experience this was. This is so the type of camping I can do again. Easy drive from Johannesburg, a mere 3 hours and on arrival at the gate you are greeted and welcomed by friendly Security staff and ushered to the "waiting" area, where a cooler box is awaiting. Within a matter of minutes you are welcome warmly by Arlene (The Lodge Manageress) and your luggage is taken marked and ready for delivery to your "tent". The game truck arrives and off we all go on arrival at the camp you are welcomed with warm facecloths and drinks. Our guide for the weekend was the Lodges Manager - Ulrich, WOW, what an experience, we saw an ubandance of wild animals, lions so close you could touch them if you dare. The time, passion that he has for the reserve is just mind blowing and full of interesting facts and always ready to share and answer a question, no matter how trivial it may seem.

Room Tip: Tent 11 has just the most incredable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondiej9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Komati tented camp, and loved every minute of it. It felt like nothing was too much effort for the wonderful staff, and that they didn't hold back on anything, like drinks and snacks before every game drive, on the drive and hot towels and a welcome drink on our return...

We thought the food was excellent: we loved the ambience of the boma braais, and also enjoyed the more formal dining tent with their four course meals. There was always a good choice, and I can't fault any of the meals or courses, everything was to a high standard. There alse seemed to be a nice mix of time to socialise with the other guests (all couples), and have private time to ourselves.

The tents are awesome, very spacious and comfortable and with everything you could need: minibar, phone, magazines, fan, aircon, heater, great view overlooking the river...

We took part in some activities and enjoyed them all: guided game mountain biking and walking and the relaxing spa. Just a note that the mountain biking could be a little scary (and tiring) for those who have never mountain biked before, and the walks are not for those afraid of insects, especially ticks. The activities tend to be in the mornings, leaving the afternoons open for relaxation. There is a big screen tv in the coffee tent with DSTV for those sports matches you just can't miss. But it was off most of the time and we didn't need it.

In terms of game, we had great success with lions and rhinos. The elephants and buffalos seemed more elusive. But there is tons of game, and some different animals that you wouldn't see in Kruger. We enjoyed all our drives. Our ranger was extremely knoweldgeable but communication was a bit of a challenge. He even took us to a cave with 'bushman' paintings and explained the significance of them.

Overall I would highly recommend this reserve, we were so sad to leave and say our goodbyes to the staff and other guests. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 5 are on the riverfront. 1 is probably the most private, 5 is close to the 'rapids'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My wife & I stayed at Nkomazi Game reserve on the recommendation of our tour organisers (Cape Tours Ltd). Our organisers told us it was one of the best reserves in South Africa and represented great value for money- something confirmed by other guests who had visited other reserves.

We had a great time! We had a lovely luxury tent right by the river, which was visited by a herd of Nyala antelope (which had somehow got through the security fence) and monkeys. The river was supposed to contain crocodiles, but we didn't see any. However, there were cormorants and darters about. Inside was a shower room, a luxury bed and a seating area- and we had an outside bath on the balcony. This was totally private, so it was a fascinating experience to bath outdoors!

The staff were most helpful and we had our own guide for 2 of our 3 nights. He seemed very knowledgeable and found all sorts of animals and birds and took us to a cave with ancient cave paintings, which he tried to explain to us. There was a good pride of lions, herds of elephants, some rhinos and ostriches, plus a great range of antelope- to say nothing of Martial Eagles, Amur Falcons and a Secretary bird. Our guide got us very close to all of them, whilst assuring us of our safety. On top of that, we experienced the most wonderful electric storm we have probably ever seen!

Naturally we had to eat on site and the food was lovely. One morning (when we were the only people on site) they served breakfast outside the lounge area overlooking the river, which we really enjoyed. Other days they served breakfast in the dining tent. There was plenty of fruit, cereals, cooked meats, etc., as well as a lovely cooked breakfast. Evening dinner consisted of a soup or other starter and a choice of main course with a dessert. Not sure how they got the food to the kitchen (the reserve is rather remote!), but the cooks did a great job.

We don't know how to compare it with other reserves, but we really enjoyed our time there and can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had Tent 1, which was the most remote and one of the guides told us it was his favourite. We sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sint niklaas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

tent is up level,very nice equipped even with a mini bar on real ice cubes. looks like the glossy magazines.Minus: we had a pump turning nearly all day next to our tent.
plunge pool was all day long in the shade so the water was to cold to relax in.(trim the trees a bit)
the hot water could be replaced by using the outside bathtub.
also a nice experience to see the nyala walking by your bathtub.
good game drives although it was clear that our ranger only started working in on the reserve.
breakfast ok,high thea superb , evening diner on the boma was very good.
nice staff willing to go out cycling in the sun just for doing me a favor.(sorry paul).
if you do the buschwalk , get a good killingspray for the insect before you leave and best put on long trousers.
they have a pack of lions with a very beautiful male.we even saw the secretarybird and the martial eagle.and if nothing in particular wants to pop up out the bush you can always go look on the serengeti where you see all the gras eaters together in hugh quantities.always a niece w vieuw for a sundouwner

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 794margot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badplaas
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Waterval Boven Malaga
24.4 mi away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highgrove House
Highgrove House
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hlumu Lodge
Hlumu Lodge
#2 of 2 in Badplaas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge
21.4 mi away
Bushwhacked
Bushwhacked
#1 of 11 in Barberton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkomazi Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkomazi Game Reserve

Property: Nkomazi Game Reserve
Address: R541, Badplaas 1190, South Africa (Formerly Komati Tented Lodge )
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Badplaas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Badplaas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nkomazi Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as "the place of water," Nkomazi Game Reserve is a destination of outstanding scenic beauty. It is an ecological Aladdin’s Cave of natural science, from its towering ancient mountains to its broad river valleys and impressive grasslands. Victorian military "Africa Campaign" styled tents blend into the landscape. Furniture creates a traditional "Out of Africa" feel with all the added comforts and luxuries of 5-star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Nkomazi Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komati Tented Lodge - Nkomazi Game Reserve Hotel Badplaas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing