We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent with a personal touch!”

The Brass Cafe and Saloon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Alma, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Always excellent with a personal touch!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have been happy patrons of The Brass for many years as it is easily the standout restaurant in our area. The food is consistently excellent, and the owner always visits each table at dinner to ensure that customers are satisfied. Local ingredients are nicely integrated, seasonal changes are honored, and customer favorites are always available. The lemon risotto parmesan balls are a splendid appetizer choice, and the seafood is never disappointing. On Valentine's Day, the upper level was open (it's usually reserved for private parties), and provided a romantic ambience; that evening, I ordered the Barramundi, which was superbly done--almond crusted, and served with house-pickled fennel and avocado. We've never been wowed by the desserts, but the appetizers and entrees are always terrific. The lunch menu is also excellent; I particularly like the tilapia sandwich and sweet potato fries!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    48
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Easily the best restaurant in Mt. Pleasant”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I have been going to the Brass for more than a decade now and we love it. It's really the only good restaurant in Mt. Pleasant to go for a nice meal or to take visitors. The atmosphere is usually quiet, the service is attentive and the food is good. I have to admit that I haven't loved everything I've ever ordered but the cook takes chances with unusual dishes that you don't normally find in small town restaurants. It's nice to have a choice of something beyond steaks and pasta. The lamb is particularly good and the quail appetizer is amazing. Even their coffee is good. Perhaps my only complaint is the way they dole out bread as if it's a rare commodity. The waitress comes by once a meal with a basket and carefully places ONE piece of bread on your plate. There will be no more unless you make a point of asking. I just don't really get that. Beyond that it's always a great experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank StV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Menu”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent menu with great food and beverages. Service is very good but plan to be there a while. This is a place where you are unlikely to get in and out in a hurry - best for when you want a relaxed and leisurely dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A touch above”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Dedicated cook who tries hard, and usually succeeds. Nice flatbread offerings, great hamburgers, big selection of desirable menu items. Calm bar area. Visit more than once without getting bored.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tarantilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine little Bistro that is a bit shabby around the edges”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is one of the handful of decent restaurants in downtown Mt. Pleasant. Good menu and nice selection of "bar food" as well. Drinks get a little pricey. If Charlie Walmsley is playing some evening, it is great for a fun date. Decor is pure 1980's Oak revival, but you can overlook that. I'd give it 5 stars but for the high prices on wine and mixed drinks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wolverine989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brass Cafe and Saloon also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 

Been to The Brass Cafe and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing