We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Clean, and Safe!”
Review of Chippewa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chippewa Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Clio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, and Safe!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We are long time patrons and have always been treated great. The management has been helpful whenever needed. The ammenities of refrigerator, microwave. and coffee maker are handy for a late night snack. The beds are very comfortable and we enjoyed the showers A Security camera for late arrivals, makes my wife feel safe when traveling alone. The friendlyness of the staff has always been nice to come back to.
I would recommend the Chippewa for the convienience of location and the hard working crew that run it. Restuarants are within walking distants.
KB/JB

Room Tip: Bath tubs are available in some rooms if needed, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    3
    3
    15
See reviews for
10
12
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Horrible. Depressing. Disgusting. Do not stay at this motel. I understand the concept of budget motels. I sometimes stay in budget motels. However, this place makes Motel 6 seem like the Plaza. The room smelled and felt moldy. I don't even want to describe what the carpet felt like. The shower stall was smaller than a phone booth. Barely enough side room to raise your arms to wash your hair. The place really reminded me of a 1950's trailer court. The only way I would recommend staying here was if you were out of gas, had no way to drive somewhere else, and your only option was to sleep outside under a bush. Spending the night in my car would have been a step up. Oh, and I DID see a small wiggling bug on the bedspread. Yech !!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catlover4884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Pleasant hotels

Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Chippewa Motel is great. It's very inexpensive compared to other hotels in Mount Pleasant, close to the casino, and lots of space in the room for being a motel. The rooms here are cheap so you can save your money for the short drive to the casino. I actually stayed in this motel for my last semester at Central Michigan University because I only needed to be at school two days a week. So i got a motel room and was a lot cheaper than getting an apartment for the entire year. But the room is great, you get more value staying at this kind of motel for the price they offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road, there is a little bit of noise from cars in the room closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The rooms were very clean. The price was lot less compare to surrounding hotels. Breakfast could have been little better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Recently made our second visit to the Chippewa Motel in Mt. Pleasant, Michigan. It is located just off an exit from US127 and it is less than a mile from the Soaring Eagle Casino - our destination.

Check-in about 6pm was smooth. Our room rate was <50. The room was clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and the heat worked just fine on a cold evening. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave. We didn't use the wi-fi on this visit but we did on our previous visit and it worked fine. I didn't watch much tv but I did scroll through the channels and there was a bunch of them.

My wife and I love trying out small independent motels when we hit the road. Since this was our second visit you know we liked the first visit. And the next time we hit Soaring Eagle will be our third visit to the Chippewa Motel.

Oldpuck

Room Tip: I will just add a note here that I saw a sign in the lobby that pets were allowed for a $10 fee. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mears, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This motel was very clean and had reasonable price. the staff was welcoming and very courteous. Being about a mile from the casino was a plus. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Not sure why this motel is being dissed so much by other reviewers. Snobbism? Racism? I noticed at least a couple of disgruntled people claimed they were overcharged during a holiday or special event, even though the website clearly states they have higher rates during those times. Anyway, moving on...

The man at the front desk couldn't have been nicer when I dropped in, and by the way, his English was better than mine, just slightly accented. If people are so confounded by accents they really need to get out more. When I asked to see the room beforehand, he cordially showed it to me and when I thanked him, he told me he wished everybody would ask to see the room first.

Is this motel the Ritz? No. Is it quirky? Decidedly so. It's also clean and comfortable and has everything you could possibly need and nothing you don't, such as cheap wall art. Most importantly, the bed was unbelievably comfy such that I've never experienced in ANY hotel before, fancy or no. The icing on the cake: the price was very fair for the non-special event night that I stayed.

Just ignore that reviewer who made the bedbugs claim; that was an ignorant childish thing to say, especially with no anecdote to back it up. Sorta like saying EW COOTIES!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.3 mi away
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
Mt. Pleasant Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mt. Pleasant
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
Hampton Inn Mt. Pleasant
#2 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Soaring Eagle Waterpark and Hotel
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel and Conference Center
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Wolds Motel
#13 of 13 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chippewa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Motel

Property: Chippewa Motel
Address: 5662 E Pickard St, Mount Pleasant, MI 48858-5010
Region: United States > Michigan > Isabella County > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chippewa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Chippewa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mount Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing