We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - but no 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wuyi Mountain Villa
Ranked #17 of 194 Hotels in Wuyi Shan
bonn
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice - but no 4 stars”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The location of the place and the scenery are excellent also the setting of the place itself. However the service is definitely not the one of a four star hotel. No English is spoken and the service at the reception is not overenthusiatic. The swimming pool is closed down obviously since some years as well as the western Restaurant, coffee shop, bar etc. There is only a chineses restaurant (good food, friendly staff, menue in Enfglish but no English spoken) which has good food but limited opening times - be sure to finish dinner before 8:30 pm. I hope for the next guests that the construction work on the premises (7 to 7) will be finished soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    35
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This sprawling mess of a hotel was probably pleasant enough when it was first opened (in the 1990s) but it is not aging well. The room was dark and smelled of mildew and there are visibly moldy patches where the walls and ceiling met. Closet doors were falling off their hinges and the furnishings looked like they dated back several decades. The Chinese breakfast buffet was dreadful and the restaurant was no better than average. Not recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is in the scenic area and has a beautiful ground.
The room is comfortable and does not smell cigarettes (a big relief).

The coffee at the breakfast is as bad as most in Chinese hotels.
And finding decent coffee at Wuyishan is hard. So bring your own
if you are a coffeeholic like me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linbeiwuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The moment you walk into this hotel and the hotel grounds, you know you're in a world-class hotel. I took many pictures of the grounds alone and the location of the hotel is nestled within the mountains providing many awe-inspiring views.

However the visit is let down by the staff. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and hostels in China, from 2-star Business style all the way through to ones like this, where world leaders have stayed. The staff here are efficient and capable but not very good on the customer service front. They give you what you ask for, if you can speak Chinese, and nothing more. They, like others have mentioned, have no information on tours or any information whatsoever for that matter on anything.

Luckily for me I do speak Chinese and I was able to not starve to death, otherwise I wouldn't have known even where to go for my included breakfasts. The breakfast itself wasn't too bad, just the average Chinese style breakfast really.

If you want a comfortable room, with great views and interesting hotel grounds, then this is the best that Wuyishan has to offer. Just be warned that if you don't speak Chinese, you might have a little trouble. I wouldn't mind so much if this were a 2 star business hotel as that is what you expect but at a world-class 4 or 5 star hotel, which has had many foriegn dignatories stay, you'd expect that they would have at least basic English skills. I've stayed in backpacker hostels in smaller cities in China that had staff who could speak English.. so why not here? Not even the basic level of English..

Room Tip: Make sure you can speak Chinese and plan all your tours yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Villa is situated in a very beautiful place. If you're a nature lover - this place for you. Room was quite simple, but actually I didn't stay in hotel a lot of time - because so many interesting places around.
As for me - I can't say food in the hotel was amazing. Maybe I'm not a big fun of China cusine...but I prefer to eat out of the hotel.
Staff on the reception speak English quite well, but other staff is not very good in it.
Generally place is calm and quite.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _NatalliaK_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

After reading numerous positive reviews on trip advisor I decided to stay at this hotel even though it is a little expensive. The hotel looks very give and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were not knowledgeable about the services available. Also the facilities, such as swimming pool, train station pickup and room service are no longer available. The breakfast was included in the price but if you don't like cold soggy Chinese breakfasts don't even bother getting up for it. There was no information available in English or Chinese about things to do and places to go in Wuyishan. And finding your way around is not easy without a map or a tour guide. I can only imagine if you can't speak Chinese it would be almost impossible. This hotel is not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My family stayed at the Wuyi Villa November 2011. Having read all the prior reviews we are anticipating 4 star hotel with a 1 star rating. My husband even wanted to bring instant noodles just in case we starve !! Much to our relief ... the place is very good. Clean well maintained and friendly staff. It is a rather old hotel ... but there is a quaintness about it. Unlike a lot of chinese hotels ... the rooms do not smell of stale ciggies. When it comes to food ... foreigners will need directions from the locals. Ask ..there are plenty of good food around.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wuyi Shan hotels
8.3 mi away
C&D Resort
C&D Resort
#1 of 194 in Wuyi Shan
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Wuyishan
0.0 mi away
Chun Hui Business Hotel
Chun Hui Business Hotel
#2 of 194 in Wuyi Shan
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baodao Conference & Exhibition Center Hotel
0.0 mi away
Wuyishan Sumin Hotel
Wuyishan Sumin Hotel
#74 of 194 in Wuyi Shan
26 reviews
12.3 mi away
Wuyi Mountain Dahongpao Resort
Wuyi Mountain Dahongpao Resort
#53 of 194 in Wuyi Shan
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuyi Mountain Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuyi Mountain Villa

Property: Wuyi Mountain Villa
Address: Wuyi Palace, Wuyi Shan 354302, China
Region: China > Fujian > Wuyi Shan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Wuyi Shan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wuyi Mountain Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Wuyi Mountain Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuyi Mountain Villa Hotel Wuyi Shan
Wuyi Mountain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing