We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very caring and professional staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ideal River View Resort
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a wonderful time. Unfortunately the climate was unbearable.... however the friendly and caring staffs made up for it. Mr Prem the manager of the outfit was very professional and took care of all our needs. Keep it up Prem. Food was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
5  Thank Janakiraman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bose D, Owner at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Mr. Janakiraman,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday getaway!! We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your “Ideal” experience with us. We are pleased that you had a great time during your stay.
Mr Prem is indeed a valued member of the “Ideal” family and positive remarks like yours will keep our team driven and motivated. We hope to see you soon to further indulge in greater heights of “Ideal” hospitality. Have a good day!!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel on the edge of the river. It is so quiet and peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The pool is huge. Wifi not expensive, water supplied, rooms large with balcony front and back. The food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner. You will need a driver to take you to the sights of Thanjavur.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bose D, Owner at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!
We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday destination!! It’s is indeed a pleasure to hear that you had a terrific stay with us. Ideal River View Resort is symmetrically located by the banks of the Cauvery which creates a quaint and relaxing atmosphere.
We are glad that you appreciated the facilities offered at our resort. We do hope to see you very soon. Have a pleasant day!!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is situated in the countryside and not within walking distance of any of the cultural sites around Thanjavur.
However the grounds are well maintained and quite extensive on the banks of a river, which while we were there was almost dry. The gardens are beautiful with lots of shade and a clean and lovely swimming pool, which we used in the evenings after returning from our cultural visits to Thanjavur and Trichy.
The rooms are in two storey blocks, very similar to those at the Ideal Beach Resort in Mahabalipuram which is owned by the same company. The beds were comfortable. The room and bathroom were clean and had all amenities. Being in the countryside there was a pervasive silence interrupted only by bird song.
Meals are taken on the terrace overlooking the river. The food was excellent, service friendly and courteous. There were few other guests due to it being off season so all meals were made to order, but despite that we did not have to wait long to be served.
We very mush enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bose D, Owner at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!
We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday getaway!! Thank you for sharing your “Ideal” experience with us. Ideal River View Resort is symmetrically located by the banks of the Cauvery which creates a quiet and quaint atmosphere. With that being said, it is a few kilometres away from the main town.
We are thrilled that you had a pleasant stay at our property and appreciated the atmosphere ad greeneries surrounding the property. Ideal Group of Resorts has a uniform classic theme at both their properties that is why you encountered the similar building structure as our Mahabalipuram branch.
To add, we are contented that you favoured the amenities of your room. It brings us great pleasure in knowing that you savoured the food served as well as the scenic view. We hope to see you soon. Have a good day!!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We met warm welcomes all over India, but by far, the Ideal River View Resort was the most memorable. Yes, the rooms, food, grounds and staff were just what you would want, but the owner put herself out in exceptional ways. Seeing that we had made friends with a couple of Englishwomen, whom we spent time chatting with in the open-air lounge, she provided comlpimentary after-dinner drinks and the last night insisted on providing us all a full course dinner at the hotel's expense.
Watching the bullocks come down to the river in the morning, the kingfisher birds dart by, the live music in the evening, all made this hotel an outstanding place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigibridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bose D, Owner at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday destination!! It brings us great satisfaction knowing that you had a splendid stay at our property and that you appreciated the service delivered to you during your stay with us.
We do have quite a large species of birds within the vicinity of our property that is always appreciated by our guests. All in all, we are glad that you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you soon. Have a good day!!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at this resort from 4th to 6th April 2014. This is our 4th stay here. The new cottages are very modern & 5* standard. The staff are extremely good & friendly...especially Mr.Prem, the reception lady & the Chef. Food is awesome. We will to return soon..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sainath V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bose D, Owner at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday getaway!! Obtaining such positive feedback from returning guests definitely is the icing on our cake as it keeps us driven to provide greater hospitality every day to all our guests.
We appreciate encouraging comments regarding the food as well as the hospitality of our staff. We hope to see you very soon. Have a great day!!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have stayed at the Ideal Hotels in Thanjavur and Mahabalipuram several times. It is great to see that from humble beginnings the resorts are now going up and up towards first-class destinations. The owner is a gentleman with a great business sense who knows what tourists expect and is providing it step by step. I recommend to anyone who has a car and doesn't require to be in the centre of town.
I say well done to all his staff who are friendly, courteous and efficient.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room river facing but not visible from the room. Maybe a first floor room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bose D, Owner at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday destination!! It brings us great pleasure knowing that both of properties were your holiday choice more than once. We thank you for the kind gestures and comments shared regarding our MD, it is truly appreciated
To add, we appreciate your positive feedback regarding the service delivered by our staff. We do hope to see you soon. Have a wonderful day ahead!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Came between other stops. Very rural setting made for very tranquil visit. Staff very warm receptive. Pool great, warm water, clean. Had two massages which were excellent!
Internet very spotty in room, worked fine in lobby and restaurant; minimal fee. Came in mid April so it was hot!

Room Tip: All rooms front the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bose D, Owner at Ideal River View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Ideal River View Resort!!

We thank you for choosing Ideal River View Resort as your holiday destination!! We are thrilled that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you cherished the facilities provided within the property. We thank you for describing our property as “tranquil” as that is the main vibe which we intended to channel upon building this property.
We here at Ideal Group of Resorts strive to provide the finest hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that you were satisfied with the level of hospitality delivered. We do hope to see you at Ideal Group of Resorts soon. Have a pleasant day!

With Warm Regards,
Natasha Uma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thanjavur
3.7 mi away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 25 in Thanjavur
133 reviews
18.4 mi away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 25 in Kumbakonam
289 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Parisutham
Hotel Parisutham
#4 of 25 in Thanjavur
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#3 of 25 in Thanjavur
287 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#5 of 25 in Thanjavur
378 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 25 in Thanjavur
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal River View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal River View Resort

Address: Vennar Bank, Pali Agraharam, Thanjavur 613003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range: £53 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ideal River View Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ideal River View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal River View Hotel Thanjavur
Ideal River View Thanjavur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing