We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice-sized rooms & a great view”
Review of Hotel Parisutham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Parisutham
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a couple of times, the most recent being Sept. 7th & 8th 2013. The hotel is very conveniently located in the midst of the small city of Thanjavur, and anything that you may have forgotten, can be quickly purchased in one of the surrounding stores. Since the hotel has a fairly large property, the rooms are nice and quiet despite its locality. The rooms in the Ground Floor (1st floor in India), are about 20% smaller than the rooms upstairs, and shows their 26+ years of existence without any renovation. Also, since the glass on the windows are frosted for privacy, you do not get to see the beautiful canal with water across the street. However, the upstairs rooms are quite nice and decent-sized (equivalent to a 2-star hotel in the US, minus the carpets) and have been renovated recently. The rooms have a fairly large flat-screen TV with about 70 channels including HBO, air-conditioner and a fan, free wifi connection (also have computers in the lobby), nice-sized bathroom with a large shower and other necessities including a toothbrush are provided. The canal across the hotel usually has water (Caavery River tribute) and the walkway around is new and beautiful. The staff at the desk are very helpful and pleasant, and when I complained about my room's cleanliness, they got it redone. I've just had breakfast (free with the stay) at the restaurant downstairs and the food was excellent. During the peak "foreign tourist season" from October to February, a breakfast buffet is offered and during off-season, you can order anything from the menu and it is unlimited. The hotel also offers some traditional dance recitals on Fri and Sat nights (presumably during tourist season only). In conclusion, for the price of $60-70 per night, this is a fairly decent hotel to stay and visit the 1000-year old famous temple here in Thanjavur (easily accessible in an auto-rickshaw within 10 minutes, and $2 for the ride)!

Room Tip: Request upstairs rooms with a view of the canal across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NallaSundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool and comfortable rooms. The restaurant offers wholesome and tasty food. The staff seemed friendly and helpful. Though the hotel rates are overcharged but the to make it small, its modern hotel and a good choice. Cultural programmes by the poolside in the evenings and excursion to the nearby coconut plantation can be organized.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A neat hotel with a nice pool side open dining for you to enjoy your evening with a cultural show. For a meal ask the F&B manager Sri.Mohan and he is ready to suggest you the best of their menu. Break fast spread is good enough to have a King's Break fast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AjayKarthikRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Me and a friend were attracted by the Diwali themed well lit hotel and walked in hoping to have a quiet dinner in what seemed like one of the 'nicer' hotels. But we were in for a shock. The waiters were too busy pandering to the needs of a entire group of foreign tourists who incidentally were having a dinner buffet. With a traditional name like parisutham one would have expected a half decent vegetarian fare. however tHe prices for food would beat even 5star restaurants in bangalore where I come from. A mini glass of pomegranate juice was rs. 120plus taxes. And the puri bhaji was at 160 rupees plus taxes !! Perhaps they thought the half litre of cooking oil the puris were soaking in on the plate justified the price. Horrible food, poor service.

Avoid.

Stayed: November 2012
2  Thank karthik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a night.(03Jul2012)
The hotel is centrally located .Rooms spacious,neat and clean .Food was excellent and services were very prompt.Staff very courteous .
Several temples are located in and around Thanjavur and this hotel serves as the best stopover for pilgrims .

Room Tip: the hotel is located slightly away from the main road and as such noise levels are minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed for two nights at the Hotel Parisutham as part of a group tour of south India. The personnel is very nice but the hotel would very much benefit from renovations and improvements. The food was average and the choice for breakfast rather limited. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I always stay here when I visit Tanjore because it's my school mates Hotel.
I love the rooms because they are so cosy, stylish and most importantly comfortable. Food and service is great, staff are very friendly , the hotel premises is well maintained and I love the room with the Pool view.

To sum it all up, it is a great hotel which will let you go with a good feeling.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Pool side is awesome....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thanjavur hotels
3.2 mi away
Ideal River View Resort
Ideal River View Resort
#1 of 25 in Thanjavur
682 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#3 of 25 in Thanjavur
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gnanam
Hotel Gnanam
#4 of 25 in Thanjavur
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Svatma
Svatma
#2 of 25 in Thanjavur
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakshmi Hotel
Lakshmi Hotel
#6 of 25 in Thanjavur
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sumi Palace
Hotel Sumi Palace
#23 of 25 in Thanjavur
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parisutham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parisutham

Address: 55 G.A. Canal Road, Thanjavur 613 001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Thanjavur District > Thanjavur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Thanjavur
Price Range: £29 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parisutham 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the charming Hotel Parisutham, the hospitality house which take immense pleasure in inviting you to enjoy a quiet, comfortable stay’ Hotel Parisutham, a magnificent setting in Thanjavur, the ‘Rice Bowl’ of India, one of world heritage center and the most beautiful and magnificently preserved area with exquisite culture and heritage, where you can enjoy beauty with luxury and relax with the impeccable service.Since your comfort has become the aspiration, all the rooms offer luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Parisutham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parisutham Hotel Thanjavur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing