We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy rooms”
Review of Zuela Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zuela Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 23 Luang Namtha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I'd agree with everything that has been said here. No bed bugs for us. Rooms are very aesthetic and cosy. Staff was pretty meh. Careful renting Moto bikes, the guy inspected it for like 10 mins when we got back. Felt like he was going to blame us for some pre-existing scratches but turned out ok. We looked at the three top options in this town and zuelas was by far the best deal at 80000kip. Good food for cheap too.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GradyMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night at Zuela Guesthouse and it was not a bad choice but i dont like dark rooms and dark wood everywhere plus you coyld hear everything around. The bed was ok, size of the room too and those who like cabin like rooms might appreciate more than i did. There is a room with AC on the ground floor but it is in the restaurant building so might not be quiet too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Masala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

highly recommended, centrally located and busy, Zuela was an easy choice for my girlfriend and me. check in was relaxed and the atmosphere casual which was ideal. the staff was quite nice too.

our bed was extremely comfortable which I was looking forward to after so many hard beds. however about ten minutes after going to sleep we started to get bit repeatedly. in about five minutes we found three bedbugs crawling in the sheets, two which were large and plump. I live in new york city and have had run in's with these critters but these were aggressive and came out immediately. we stuck them to a piece of tape to show the staff. however it was close to midnight and the entire guesthouse was quiet and the high metal front gate was locked. there was no chance of switching rooms. our night was spent sleeping on the floor hoping the bugs wouldn't migrate from the bed.

in the morning the staff was surprised to see us showing them bugs with legs still squirming. they showed me the bug sprays they used but none were appropriate for bedbugs. I wrote down the name bedbugs so they could try and deal with it eventually. ultimately the room fee was waived.

this may have just been bad luck on our part. we wondered if a guesthouse that gets such good reviews becomes prone to complacency and so poorer quality of service. regardless, if you stay here (or anywhere), make sure to check the mattress and bed quickly before taking a room!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Located straight across from the night market makes it easy for eating dinner, the guest house has a big eating area, friendly staff, located near tour businesses makes it easy for choosing tours, kayak tour and visit to villages was great

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Room and bathroom were clean. Sheets may have been white at one point but they seemed clean; however, they didn't fit the bed which was a nuisance. The people running the guesthouse weren't really friendly or welcoming. I would describe them as tolerating us more than hosting us. Don't use the online booking on their website as the prices are a rip off. You're better off to contact them directly or just show up and ask for a room. We got our room for about $14 CAD which I thought was about right for what we got.

The restaurant does a decent job with breakfast but I just about guarantee you will quickly grow tired of the mediocre offerings for lunch and dinner.

Like others have said, this is likely the best place in town so don't expect a lot of frills if you're heading to Luang Namtha

Stayed: May 2014
Thank pacificswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We really enjoyed Zuela. We had called a day ahead and after some very vague communication felt about 50% confident a room would be held for us. And it was! This was good since it was sold out by later that afternoon. Our room was really nice, dark wood, spacious, clean and was in a separate structure to the left of the building with reception desk, tucked behind bike rental. The walls are paper thin and we had the good fortune of being in the room right next to where members of the staff/family sleep. This turned out to be great because they are aware of how the noise travels and were basically silent. We tried to act in-kind. But I can see if another guest didn't know the set-up, just speaking in normal voices it would feel as if your neighbor was in your room. Take away; ask to see the specific room before committing.

Coffee at the restaurant is great, they have an espresso machine. Food is standard issue, go across the street to the night market to eat.

80,000kip/night for a double in march 2014

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Talia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This guesthouse on the main road in Luang Namtha had nice clean and comfortable rooms for 80,000 Kip per night - superb value. The bathroom was also clean with a reasonable hot water shower. The bed sheets were a bit small for the bed though so they kept getting untucked to reveal the slightly stained mattress underneath. The wifi was a bit patchy, but this seemed to be the norm for Laos and it was actually better than in many other places we visited. We also used the laundry service, which was quick and ok value at 10,000 Kip per kg.

The booking arrangements were a little odd. We reserved and paid for a room in person before going trekking, but they wouldn't take a booking for 2 nights and you just confirm every day whether you want to stay that night, which seemed a bit disorganised. On the plus side though, it seems once you have a room you can be flexible with how long you stay for. The reception was only staffed about 10% of the time, so searching for staff in the restaurant to come to help at reception became a bit of a pain.

As they were fully booked on our first night before going trekking, we also stayed at the Manychan Guesthouse (see separate review) at the same price and the rooms were much better at Zuela. If you want somewhere with a bigger room, a balcony and a quieter location, we paid an extra 40,000 Kip to stay a further couple of nights at Phou Lu III (see another separate review) which is also highly recommended.

Zuela's restaurant is very overrated, with bland food and terrible coffee (see yet another separate review!), but has a nice outside seating area so it's a good place to sit and have a drink (apart from coffee) and then move on when you get hungry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Namtha hotels
0.3 mi away
Amandra Villa
Amandra Villa
#2 of 23 in Luang Namtha
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thoulasith Guesthouse
Thoulasith Guesthouse
#3 of 23 in Luang Namtha
145 reviews
0 mi away
Tai Dam Guesthouse
Tai Dam Guesthouse
#10 of 23 in Luang Namtha
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Phou Iu III Bungalows
Phou Iu III Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Luang Namtha
46 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Kingmala Guesthouse
#1 of 11 in Luang Namtha
1 reviews
0 mi away
The Boat Landing Guest House
The Boat Landing Guest House
#5 of 23 in Luang Namtha
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuela Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuela Guesthouse

Address: Main Street | across from Night Market, Luang Namtha 0300, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Namtha Province > Luang Namtha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Namtha
Price Range: £14 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a great place to experience the beauty of Northern Laos. Our guesthouse offers several different types of guest rooms to suit your needs. Zuela is constructed in the traditional Lao style from brick and teak wood, making our rooms both authentic and comfortable. We are centrally located in Luang Namtha directly across from the Luang Namtha night market, yet tucked away from the busyness of the main street. The guesthouse offers an array of services for the convenience of our guests including bicycle rental, motorbike rentals (daily or one way to several destinations), transportation arrangements, and an on-site reputable tour guide service. The on-site restaurant serves a wide selection of both traditional Lao-style cuisine, Thai food, and Western favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Zuela Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuela Guesthouse Hotel Luang Namtha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing