We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and spacious room”
Review of Zuela Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zuela Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 22 Luang Namtha B&B and Inns
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap and spacious room”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice place to stay ; big room pretty nice (in wood).
The bed was big and comfortable, even though I got a little "ant situation" during one of the night (It can happen everywhere (in Asia))

The restaurant serves good food.
The staff was not really smily but still very helpful !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManonRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    155
    44
    12
    9
See reviews for
22
152
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Not much to do in town but arrange a trek and this is a great place to base yourself.
All the staff are friendly (to me at least!) the guys who I was traveling with said they never smiled but I found them helpful and friendly.
All the food I tried from the restaurant was good and the red curry was excellent, the best thing I ate my whole time in laos!
The rooms are basic but liveable and the included breakfast sets you up for the day.
Over the road from the night market.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighleigh269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for one night after a 2 day trek but this place was ideal. Helpful staff on arrival who helped with our bags, clean room, linen and towel. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious and modern. White tiled shower room was clean but as is the case across much of SEA the shower was a dribble. Just across the road from Night Bazar and just back from main street. Attached restaurant was good with huge choice.
Would definitely stay again. Lonely Planet gets it spot on.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickPoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Zuela Guesthouse is a gem in Luang Namtha. The town itself has less to offer that its surroundings: the region is great to explore, but we found the center lacking charm. The Zuela Guesthouse compensates for that by providing a charming and very comfortable setting.

The rooms are cosy and the beds comfortable, even though the sheets have definetly seen better days. The principal problem with the bedding is not even that the sheets are worn out, but that they don't fit (they are to big for) the mattress. Still, the spacious room with brick and wood walls, many pieces of furniture and nice lighting was a steal for 11$/night.

Two other great things about this guesthouse are the resting area outside and the restaurant. The restaurant is one of the best in town, with both good lao and good western food on the menu. The breakfast is just okay, though, and a little expensive, but we only tried the western options (bread, cheese and fruit) and we might have been better off with soup!

The location is ideal, just in front of the Night Market. The one downside from the closeness to the (great) market is that the Akhas ladies that beg for money all over town and especially in the Night Market (there are only about 10 of them, always the same ladies) often come to the Zuela Guesthouse to ask you to buy bracelets or other merchandise from them. They insist a lot, sometimes staying up to 10 minutes with you (at your table if you are on the terrace), even if you bought from them before. It gets very harrasing after a while.

The owner is a sweetheart. She is attentive, gentle and super talkative. It was great having conversations with her. The rest of the staff is not that motivated and it can be hard to get information or service from them. Overall, though, we felt very welcomed in this family-owned place.

We liked exploring the surrounding villages and the Nam Ha protected area so much, we ended up staying 5 nights at the Zuela Guesthouse (we had originally booked 3!). We felt very much at home there and would absolutely go back if we were in Luang Namtha again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotteuseMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacier, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I'd agree with everything that has been said here. No bed bugs for us. Rooms are very aesthetic and cosy. Staff was pretty meh. Careful renting Moto bikes, the guy inspected it for like 10 mins when we got back. Felt like he was going to blame us for some pre-existing scratches but turned out ok. We looked at the three top options in this town and zuelas was by far the best deal at 80000kip. Good food for cheap too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GradyMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night at Zuela Guesthouse and it was not a bad choice but i dont like dark rooms and dark wood everywhere plus you coyld hear everything around. The bed was ok, size of the room too and those who like cabin like rooms might appreciate more than i did. There is a room with AC on the ground floor but it is in the restaurant building so might not be quiet too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Masala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

highly recommended, centrally located and busy, Zuela was an easy choice for my girlfriend and me. check in was relaxed and the atmosphere casual which was ideal. the staff was quite nice too.

our bed was extremely comfortable which I was looking forward to after so many hard beds. however about ten minutes after going to sleep we started to get bit repeatedly. in about five minutes we found three bedbugs crawling in the sheets, two which were large and plump. I live in new york city and have had run in's with these critters but these were aggressive and came out immediately. we stuck them to a piece of tape to show the staff. however it was close to midnight and the entire guesthouse was quiet and the high metal front gate was locked. there was no chance of switching rooms. our night was spent sleeping on the floor hoping the bugs wouldn't migrate from the bed.

in the morning the staff was surprised to see us showing them bugs with legs still squirming. they showed me the bug sprays they used but none were appropriate for bedbugs. I wrote down the name bedbugs so they could try and deal with it eventually. ultimately the room fee was waived.

this may have just been bad luck on our part. we wondered if a guesthouse that gets such good reviews becomes prone to complacency and so poorer quality of service. regardless, if you stay here (or anywhere), make sure to check the mattress and bed quickly before taking a room!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Namtha hotels
0.3 mi away
Amandra Villa
Amandra Villa
#2 of 22 in Luang Namtha
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thoulasith Guesthouse
Thoulasith Guesthouse
#3 of 22 in Luang Namtha
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sing Sa Moud Guesthouse
Sing Sa Moud Guesthouse
#6 of 22 in Luang Namtha
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Nam Tha River Side Guesthouse
Nam Tha River Side Guesthouse
#7 of 22 in Luang Namtha
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tai Dam Guesthouse
Tai Dam Guesthouse
#8 of 22 in Luang Namtha
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phou Iu III Bungalows
Phou Iu III Bungalows
#2 of 6 in Luang Namtha
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuela Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuela Guesthouse

Property: Zuela Guesthouse
Address: Main Street | across from Night Market, Luang Namtha 0300, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Namtha Province > Luang Namtha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Namtha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a great place to experience the beauty of Northern Laos. Our guesthouse offers several different types of guest rooms to suit your needs. Zuela is constructed in the traditional Lao style from brick and teak wood, making our rooms both authentic and comfortable. We are centrally located in Luang Namtha directly across from the Luang Namtha night market, yet tucked away from the busyness of the main street. The guesthouse offers an array of services for the convenience of our guests including bicycle rental, motorbike rentals (daily or one way to several destinations), transportation arrangements, and an on-site reputable tour guide service. The on-site restaurant serves a wide selection of both traditional Lao-style cuisine, Thai food, and Western favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Zuela Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuela Guesthouse Hotel Luang Namtha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing