We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite good”
Review of Dokchampa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dokchampa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Luang Namtha B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“quite good”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The first night I have been here with a friend in a double room. The price was 100k i suppose (fan only). The room was nice, clean and with a lot of space. Wifi was working good, too.
Then my friend left and I wanted to check into a single person room. That was kind of a challenge as the guy at the reception didn't even understand the most basic word of english. In the end I put my luggage in a very very crappy room on the groundfloor, where the toilet was doing weird noises all the time. I then left the whole day and returned in the evening. Luckily now there was a guy speaking a bit of english, and I asked him if I could have another room. They check if I used anything in the groundfloor room and then gave me another one.
The new room was next to the elevator, but surprisingly silent. Also the room had a proper window.
All in all it was kind of a hassle to organize the second room. But in the end this is one of the cheapest options in town and quite good as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    20
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
26
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked this hotel based on word of mouth. It is the largest hotel in the area and build to mainly modern standards. Definitely get a VIP room. They are large and have a bathtub which I really appreciated after eight hours of jungle trekking.

The location is perfect, right next to Forest Retreat (the best) and all the other trekking companies. There is also a night market steps away and Forest Retreat's restaurant has good farang food.

My only complaint is that they advertise cable satellite TV on their brochures. The TV in our room did not work and when I inquired, I was told that none of the televisions in the hotel worked. Well I was curious and asked them why, but no answer was forthcoming. Not a big deal for me but after weeks of no television my girlfriend and I were looking forward to the novelty.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a VIP room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Room was ready, clean and operational. The place features a dungeon of a lobby which is irrelevant, many mainly Chinese travellers add to the unnecessary sound level during the day with slamming doors and shouting in the halls. The internet is basically non-existent; my data traffic got exchanged automatically during the night hours due to the very, very limited bandwidth. The location is great and the off road parking is a definitely important factor for me. The room as spacious enough, clean and worth the money. Anytime again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This a hotel, not a B&B or guest house, and should be recategorized by Trip Advisor. I have traveled throughout Laos, and this is an accurate representation for a high-end hotel in a small provincial capital. I stayed in a VIP room which was very clean and tidy, and had a comfortable and firm bed with clean linens. The bathroom was also clean with ample hot water, although the shower head was awkwardly placed. The room was more spacious than I would have needed, and although it looked dated, there was certainly no sense that it was dirty or dumpy. The in-room wifi was just fine, though not super-fast. This hotel would be just fine for travelers passing through. Best of all, the price, with breakfast at a restaurant 100m down the road, was under $20 U.S.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bonbonmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed again for our yearly visit. Cleanliness has improved. Local ladies doing cleaning tried to be very helpful and were pleasant and fun to deal with. Position in the middle of town is good as next door to Forest Retreat for good food. This Chinese hotel needs some room maintenance but they dont seem to mind their blocked basins and cracked baths! Generally good value hotel for what you find in luang namtha.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loaslaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The double rooms have all the basics and also some charm. Mine had lots of natural light. Single rooms don't have hot water though so I upgraded. Very clean and comfortable. Staff were a bit grumpy and wouldn't let me use shower facilities after I came back from a trek before an overnight bus ride though. Great value for money overall.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

location is better, quite near with bus station, although staffs language skills not so good but helpful anyway. they helped me to exchange some Thai Baht to kip for my dinner as i reached there almost 10pm. however, wifi is lame. value is also so so, price was a bit high but room is big enough

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Namtha hotels
0.1 mi away
Zuela Guesthouse
Zuela Guesthouse
#1 of 23 in Luang Namtha
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thoulasith Guesthouse
Thoulasith Guesthouse
#3 of 23 in Luang Namtha
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amandra Villa
Amandra Villa
#2 of 23 in Luang Namtha
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kingmala Guesthouse
#1 of 11 in Luang Namtha
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tai Dam Guesthouse
Tai Dam Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Luang Namtha
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sing Sa Moud Guesthouse
Sing Sa Moud Guesthouse
#6 of 23 in Luang Namtha
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dokchampa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dokchampa Hotel

Property: Dokchampa Hotel
Address: Ban Phonxay | P.O Box: 089 0300, Luang Namtha, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Namtha Province > Luang Namtha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Namtha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dokchampa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing