We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Krishna's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Krishna's House
Ranked #2 of 55 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The house is really nice! Our room was spacious and bright and the family is kind and helpful, they make you feel at home! Breakfast includes toasts with jam and honey, tea or coffee, cheese, cereals, fruit, the delicious yogourt of bhaktapur and a fried ring made of rice, which we liked a lot! The house is situated whithin walking distance from the center in a quiet street. The only suggestion is to put a sign with the name of the house outside the gate, it will make it easier to find it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoSempreInViaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
60
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was looking for a homely place to stay, when i read about krishna's guesthouse.When i arrived at Krishna's, the compound, the garden, and especially the room with a window overlooking the garden with trees rife with pomelos took my breath away.Krishna's guesthouse is clean, quiet, and simple. There are plenty of clean and quiet places around I am sure, but at Krishna's, the stay is definitey memorable because the members of the family, especially Ajaya were a bunch of very warm people, who made you feel like a relative rather than a guest.This is definitely an oasis of calm and serenity amidst bhaktapur hustle and bustle.

Ajaya took great care to make his guests feel at home. I travelled alone but I felt so safe as Ajaya offered lots of tips and advice . I must thank Ajaya, and his family for being such a gracious host who shared the wonderful stories, insights, etc.I definitely come again,not only because of the place but the genuine hospitality and warmth of the family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhubarbwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

no better decision than we chose Krishna's house to stay one night on 22Feb. Ajay and his family(his wife, his son & his father) are so friendly to each of guests and provide service as much as they could. Ajay introduced Bhaktapur history, culture , spots etc very patient to us. he also provide some Patan tourism material when we asked for. they reserved breakfast till 11am for me as my friend told them I may get up late due to tiredness. the staying experience in this kind of family guest house is totally different from in hotel. I will introduce Krishna's house to my friends for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueiceworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked into Krishna's House at the last minute and we couldn't have made a better choice. We planned to stay one night due to our short time in Nepal but we couldn't bring ourselves to leave and ended up spending a couple more nights there - would have happily stayed forever!!

We had a beautiful room, perfectly clean and comfortable. There was also toothpaste, soap and bottled water in the room- a few nice, welcome little touches!

The breakfast we had was cooked by Soneta, Ajaya's wife each morning and was delicious. Each evening Ajaya asked what time we would like breakfast the next day and when we came to the breakfast room, there was a brilliant breakfast waiting for us. We had a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, toast and honey, home-made very tasty omelette etc. It was wonderful and really set us up for the day.

The location of Krishna's house is also great. It is just a few minutes walk to several shops, eateries etc and a short walk to Bhaktapur Durbar Square.

The best part of our stay at Krishna's House was the hospitality. Ajaya's family really made us feel at home and they did everything to make us feel welcome and help us really experience the true Nepali culture. Ajaya is so knowledgeable and he happily shared his wisdom with us over a cup of tea. He gave us lots of brilliant advice on how to make the most of our short time in Nepal and thanks to him we managed to see and do so much. He also helped us arrange our trip from Bhaktapur to Dhulikel and he called ahead to ensure we got there safely and that things were organised for when we arrived.

A massive thanks goes to this amazing family for being so caring, welcoming, helpful and for really making our time there. We will definitely return to Krishna's house when back in Nepal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

In March our family (with two kids on 6 and 13 years) traveled around in Nepal for 4 weeks. Our first accommodation was two nights in Krishna House in Bhaktapur (behind the blue gate ). The family-room was fine, the power the nepali way and the hot water solar heated. What brings our stay at Krishna House to the top was Yjayas hospitality and guidance. He welcomed us to his home and told us a lot of information about the city and what to see. We thank him and his family for a very fine arrival and warm welcome to Nepal – and not to forget – a wonderful and overwhelming breakfast. Namaste with our best recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_Andersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was the first place I stayed in Nepal, and I loved it. Ajaya is the perfect host, and I immediately felt comfortable. Ajaya's wife made the best breakfast of my whole Nepal trip.
It was only a short walk from Bhaktapur city, and I always felt like I was going home after a days sight seeing.
The rooms are very clean and quiet at night, and a good choice before you go on to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Last summer, my husband and I picked Krishna's House from picks on the internet. We were very happy with our luck to find Ajay and his wife's home-like guest house. A nice walk to downtown Bhaktapur, and away from the noise of the central cityl. Ajay is a encyclopedia of information about Nepal and is extremely helpful in making suggestions for places to visit around Bhaktapur.
We happened to arrive the day before Guy Jatra, which is a week long celebration of the family members who have passed in the previous year. All week, families dance down the streets of Bhaktapur carrying a handmade Cow or Guy, bearing the images of deceased and beloved family members. The costumes and dances celebrate life! Ajay was extremely helpful in telling us how to get to best places to see the fanfare.

Every morning Ajay's lovely wife would bring out a wonderful breakfast, introducing us to various Nepali items.

We will go again.. BTW, Ajay has a tour business, and so he can arrange tours and treks. He arranged one for us with his masterful guide, Ajit, to tour Helembu. We were so appreciative of his services.

Room Tip: the best room is the corner suite, which Ajay gave to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanetta108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
0.4 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 8 in Bhaktapur
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 55 in Bhaktapur
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krishna's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krishna's House

Property: Krishna's House
Address: No. 17 Dudhpati, Ward | Ward No. 17, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Krishna's House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at medieval Bhaktapur in Kathmandu Valley, Nepal, we as a homestay facility aim to provide an exceptional cultural experience to our guests. Krishna House is an eco–friendly place where you will find a garden with indigenous plants, a variety of trees, birds and a terrace to relax. Our rooms have attached bathrooms and are clean and comfortable. We provide home cooked meals upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Krishna's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing