We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food, high prices”

La Bella Nepali Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Bhaktapur
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian, Nepalese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "La Bella Nepali" Restaurant (Nepalplanet, Planet Bhaktapur Hotel) is located into The Planet Bhaktapur Hotel. Restaurant, Garden, Roof top. Good food and smiles.
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very average food (not bad, but nothing really special). Probably, we just expected too much from the place run by Italian and being ranked #1 on Tripadvisor. The prices are on the high side (mains ab Rs400 + tax). Nice interior and garden inside the restaurant. Located outside of the old town (800m from the town's gate as measured by GPS)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dronych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We decided to walk the kilometer out of town (not a scenic walk by any stretch of the imagination) in the hope of sampling authentic Italian food. We were disappointed to be served the same old "Italian" that's served everywhere in Nepal - doughy bland pizza and pasta smothered in a pile of cheese, without real sauce or taste. This would have been forgivable were the prices not nearly twice as high as other places in Bhaktapur. Truly not worth the trip out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AnnaKnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nepalplanet, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at La Bella Nepali Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Sir,
I'm Francesco, italian.
I'm sorry because you wrote that you did not like the food.
Sorry but because i eat here every day or i don't know italian food or maybe you did feel other problem. No one problem with usualy italian guests and they know very well italian food.
Sorry, anyway, if Cook did put more cheese in your pizza.
When You did finish all your food you told Martin and Martin told Yam, the Director, that you don't want pay taxes, even if Nepali rules is 10% service tax + 13% vat. The director was surpised.
This is written clear in the menu: All prices are subject to 10% service and 13% Vat.
We are sorry because we can't accept that you don't pay taxes. No need be angry with us because of that.
The taxes (total 24,3%) in your bill (Lasagna, pizza, 66cl beer) was around 3 usd.
For us it's more easy tell you: Ok, don't pay. And You go happy.
But we are correct, and now i write clear also here:
In every bill need add 10+13% taxes.
(The long walk is 600 meters from the north gate of Bhaktapur, in total less than 1 km. from Durbar Square).
In my hands now a menu of other place in Bhaktapur and the price in their menu is 15% more than our.
Realy sorry because you was angry because of taxes. But it's a duty. We too don't like add 23,4%, you can be sure about that. But you cant' complain with us because need pay taxes as is written clear in the menu.
Now is more clear because i write that also here: In every our bill need add 10+13%.

in addition i can tell that Martin (The waiter, all our guest knows very well his honesty and simpaty) told me that when you did finish the food you told that You did like it and only when You see the taxes coming problem.

Namaste !
Francesco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Great food in a beautiful setting.

The restaurant is in the best hotel in Bhaktapur. The food, always great, has gotten better with the help of an italian shelf expanding the menu and teaching new dishes to the staff.

Beautiful garden to dine, weather permitting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank andrewrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Not sure if it was the countryside ambience or the delicious local cheeses in their pizza and lasagna, but there is nothing else like this anywhere around Kathmandu. Also try their fresh pesto pastas when basil is in season - magnifico!

1  Thank andyl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We were residing in the center of Bhaktapur when I read the reviews of this restaurant. After traveling in India and Nepal for almost a month, thought of Italian food appealed to us very much. So we walked to the lovely Planet Hotel ( about 15 minutes from the center ) and we were rewarded by the most wonderful food this side of Italy . Or even IN Italy !! Being an Italian American, and having traveled to Italy many times, I was a bit cautious to eat Italian food in Nepal. but, we were so rewarded by the wonderful cuisine ! So authentic and delicious !!
I ordered Eggplant Parmesean and my husband had the Lasagna. Both dishes were serperb and served in the beautiful outdoor garden. The waiter was very attentive and spoke a bit of Italian as well. So, we returned the next night and ordered the same meal !!! Don't miss this place when visiting Bhaktapur !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bella Nepali Restaurant also viewed

Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
 
Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
 
Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
Bhaktapur, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to La Bella Nepali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing