We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make you feel really well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House
Ranked #4 of 61 Bhaktapur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you are looking for an ancient building, this is not the one.
If you are looking for soap and permanent hot water, this is not the one.

BUT...

If you are looking for warm charming people, this is the right place.
If you want to collaborate in a cause for a really good reason, this is the place.

We were travelling with family and friends and we recommend this place.

Don't miss the terrace by night. You will share experiences with other travellers and hear the sounds of the city.

Something that you must know, and it is applicable to all Nepal, is the power cuts. Nepalese don't have power supply 24hrs per day. In some places they use a generator, and in some they use solar power (only for some lights-lamps) and plugging the camera, the mobile, the laptop... sometimes is a nightmare.

Before travelling to Nepal, take all those things that no longer serve us at home, whether it is clothing, books, school supplies, and take them to be donated anywhere. Then the space in your suitcase will be filled, for sure, with your shopping.

"Serenity comes when you trade expectations for acceptance"

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna S. K, Owner at Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your nice review and lovely stay with us. Hope that we will see you in future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Given the rave reviews, we had high expectations for this guest house. The location was ideal, staff friendly, rooms nice, and the support given to disabled children commendable. But we found this guesthouse to be lacking many of the little touches that would be expected for the price we paid. No soap or shampoo provided, the light in our bathroom not working when backup power was in use (and not fixed during our stay), insufficient breakfast ingredients on hand to fulfil orders, only one staff member on duty at breakfast time so when she was called to reception breakfast was left sitting half-prepared (eggs served reheated and rubbery). We usually stay at budget places in Nepal and stepped up a level to stay here, but were left feeling that we hadn't received good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank klwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna S. K, Owner at Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your lovely stay with us. Hope to see you again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This guesthouse was recommended by another family we met in nagarkot. As peaceful, beautiful and quiet as it was, 3 nights in nagarkot was a tad too much for me.
Given the short duration we had in nepal, I wanted to see as much as I could and Bhaktapur was on my list. It's still a good 20km down a winding road, which didnt seem to make sense for us to pay for a 2-way trip down and up nagarkot to see bhaktapur.
We decided to stay in bhaktapur on the 3rd night instead upon being told of this gem of a guesthouse.
It's off the main road so it's quiet to stay in yet convenient to walk about.
Just be sure to bring along a torchlight, as with all other parts of nepal.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mojae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna S. K, Owner at Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review and you lovely stay with us. we are really enjoyed to host you and hope to see you again to see you in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

First of all, if you're in Nepal, staying in the old city of Bhaktapur is a must. There is nothing like exploring the temples during the day and wondering around its bustling streets at night during the numerous blackouts that you definitely will experience in a place like Nepal. The Heart of Bhaktapur is one minute walking distance from Taumadhi Square so make sure you don't walk right past it like I did! There are signs directing you to the guesthouse. Reception was very welcoming and the rooms are all very clean. The rooftop has a great common area that sadly I wasn't able to experience since I was the only person staying in the guesthouse at the time but I imagine it must be very lively when the place is busier! Service was excellent too, I left at 6 am in the morning for the airport and they had someone up and ready to open the front door for me. Sadly in a country like this, you will experience blackouts so it might be a bit of a pain at night when not all the electric outlets, light fixtures, hot water are available. However, I cannot fail to mention how much I love what this place is doing for the kids of Nepal. If you have the time, try to engage a few of the kids in conversation. They are very precocious and social and love to learn about the rest of the world. It was a pity I only had one night to spend here. Recommendation: Unless if you really can't live without the hustle and bustle of Thamel in Kathmandu, do the reverse route of what others do and stay in Bhaktapur instead, making a day trip to Kathmandu (Bodnath Stupa, Durbar Square, Pashupatinath Temple, and Kopan Monastery are seriously the only places worth seeing and can easily be covered in one day). Get lost in the narrow paths of the old city of Bhaktapur and hike up to Changu Narayan and come back to the Heart of Bhaktapur where you will definitely be able to sleep peacefully

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank NorthmanWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna S. K, Owner at Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review and you lovely stay with us. Thank you for your hospitality for our childrens. Hope to see you again in near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A very nice guesthouse very clean! Lovely people and very helpfull. Nice breakfast on the roof terrace with view over Bhaktapur . The income from the guesthouse is used to support a home for disabled children. So you do even something very good staying here! I can only recommend this house. Very good price for a very pleasant stay

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jeroencitroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna S. K, Owner at Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your nice review and your lovely stay with us.
Hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

coming in a group of 22 from hong kong for a school project in bhaktapur..stay here from 3-9jan . we have had a great time here. rooms are clean and spacious. meals are good. excellent services and staffs are so friendly.
in prime location of the town while u can still enjoy the silence. superb view of bhaktapur from the roof. some rooms have balcony. the terrace is very nice too.
while by staying in the guesthouse..u are also helping the disable children of their children's homes.
would definitely recommend whosoever plan to come to bhaktapur to stay in this lovely guesthouse!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Tiffany Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna S. K, Owner at Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Tiffany, "Beyond The Wall"

Thank you for lovely stay with us, we are very glad to host you all in our guest house.
Thank you so much to choose our guest house, hope this will continue in future as well.
Good luck for your future.

Best regards!
Krishna

Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House family
Swarga Children Home Family
Suvadra Foundation, Nepal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we were really satisfied with the accomodation. Very clean, super friendly staff and in the heart of Bhaktapur.
We stayed here for two nights and we were really satisfied with the accomodation. Very clean, super friendly staff and in the heart of Bhaktapur.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Svenjahausi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishna S. K, Owner at Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you very much for you nice review and lovely stay with us. Wish you a good luck for your future and hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bhaktapur hotels
0.1 mi away
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
#4 of 8 in Bhaktapur
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 61 in Bhaktapur
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishna's House
Krishna's House
#2 of 61 in Bhaktapur
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pradhan House - Home Stay
Pradhan House - Home Stay
#6 of 61 in Bhaktapur
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House

Address: Kulmanani, Tamaudhi Square | Kulmanani, Taumadhi, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Bhaktapur
Price Range: £15 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning to visit Nepal? Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House offers a clean and quiet stay in the centre of culturally rich Bhaktapur. Enjoy a simple but tasteful breakfast on our rooftop, with a magnificent view on the valley and the mountains. After an enervating but tiring trekking; to start or end an eventful journey; or just to have the chance to visit interesting sights in Kathmandu Valley? We provide the perfect place for you to stay! You will experience a family stay with us with big heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Heart of Bhaktapur Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing