We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed for one night in the guest house which is right opposite the Durbar Square gate. The place is great, the rooms are clean and cozy.
The staff was very accomodating and they changed my booking on my request without any extra charge.
The restaurant downstairs has the best coffee and the breakfast was included in the room price.
Overall - great experience and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. we are glad thar you liked and enjoyed our service.

We hope to see you again and please do share your visit to you friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I first visited Bhaktapur about ten years ago on a day trip from Kathmandu. I remember seeing Shiva Guest House at that time, and marvelled at what I knew must be the views from the windows facing Durbar Square. I vowed to return, and although it has taken ten years, it was a dream fulfilled. The rooms are simple but comfortable, and the view from my top-floor window was magnificent! Local people are justly proud of their historic squares, several of which are within short walking distance. Staying right in Durbar Square provided a real aesthetic and cultural experience that allowed me to get an idea of how local people observe their daily lives and traditions. The reception and other guest house staff were very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant offered excellent Nepali and Western meals. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I hope I will be able to return soon

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor and facing Durbar Square, for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_B670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear George

Thank you for your warm feedback and we are very glad that you enjoyed our service again.Please do visit again . Warm greeting from All the Shiva Staff. Please do share your visit with your friends and family.

Best Wishes and Happy Nepali New year 2071.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay here as part of a tour group. A family run hotel, the staff is so friendly and helpful. We stayed at Shiva Guest House 2 which is just a two minute walk into the gate of Bhaktapur and Durbar Square. A great location and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your warm feedback. We are glad to know your satisfaction with our service . Warm greeting from all the staff . We hope to see you again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Shiva Guesthouse is THE main hotel on Durbar Square, which makes it easy to find, handy if you want to take a few pictures from the square in the evening or in the morning when it's not crowded yet.

The hotel manager was really friendly, the food was great and breakfast was included in the price. From our room we had a really good view of the square which made our stay lovely.

The wifi was an issue. They told us they were experiencing problems and every now and then they had to turn the router off and on again. There were power cuts too, as anywhere in Nepal, but you can easily ask to charge your device at the counter.

It costs 15$ to enter Durbar Square, which is a pain in the neck! It is more expensive than what we had to pay individually for the night at Shiva's.

And the shared bathrooms could have been cleaner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your warm feedback. we are very sorry for the Inconvenience for the WiFi service and thank you for understanding some problem we face in Nepal.
Please do share you visit in Nepal with your friends and family.

Looking forwards to see you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Booked because of location in the square. On arrival, we were given the option of a room with bathroom outside the room or move to SGH2,which is out of the square. No talk of reduction of the $40 bill if we took the shared b'room. SGH2 - nice room, no cosy cafe, no wifi at all. Could have stayed in many other places outside the square for less.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank franstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest

We are sorry for your Disappointed, as if you could mention the need to standard room with view then we could make your booking but you have not yet mentoned and in our shiva 1 as it is old building so we dont have enought much attach bathroom. And due to problem of power cut in Nepal we need to face different problem so some time even internet have those problem.

We are very sorry .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A very special location in the heart of old Bhaktapour. Great food, cosy restaurant and a room at the top of the hotel from where one has a wonderful view of the main square. Bhaktapour is a must see and this hotel is perfectly placed to visit it from and to enjoy the coming and going, to and from the next door temple.

We: 59, 28, 25, 25 and 23

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pvanholthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your warm feedback and we are looking forwards to see you again in your next visit,.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The location of both guest houses just can't be rivaled in Bhaktaur, as you are right in the middle of the Historic and very Beautiful Durbar sq. The rooms are basic but comfortable, the staff are very helpful and the food is good. The atmosphere here is quite unlike anything I have encountered before and is a truly memorable experience. The dogs barking at night may put some off staying here but I just took it as I took the city, just another quirk. Its great to sit out the front of Shiva 1, to enjoy meeting the characters who cross your path, whether it be the kids, the kukry sellers or just someone who wants to chat. The main reason I gave this place 4 stars instead of 5 is that they have a 9.30pm curfew, that I found really strange. I know this is by no means a party town but this did interfere when we were out with friends. I also found the room to be cold, there were plenty of extra blankets in the room but my nose was freezing a few mornings when I woke up. These are small gripes and overall this was an interesting and fun part of our trip, the hotel has decent wifi, great coffee and best of all the opportunity to explore and wander around a wonderful place right on its doorstep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback and warm greeting from All the Shiva's Family.

As you have mentioned the Curfew is not that, As the livilyhood of the Bhaktapur is Sleep early and wake up early still the practise is going on. And Due to the loadshedding problme also make the environment quiet .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
0.9 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bhaktapur
82 reviews
0.7 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bhaktapur
429 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 9 in Bhaktapur
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 60 in Bhaktapur
236 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilltake Wellness Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Guest House1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Guest House1 & 2

Address: 11 Durbar Square, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Price Range: £10 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiva Guest House1 & 2 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly Heritage Guest House. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE-pleasantly located in the heart of the Durbar Square is your address in Bhaktapur. Standing next to the Yaksheshwor Temple the city's oldest edifice dating back to 1472 AD, the guest house is where you can start your exploration trip from. You can do here what many of our esteemed guests including scholars, students and even a film crew of Bertculocci from Hollywood have done in the past. We are always behind you to help materialize your cherished dreams in Bhaktapur and beyond. With a team of professionals around, you will surely feel that you have made a right decision choosing us. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE, as our well-wishers say, is suited to all types of travelers. For your personal comfort, we offer 15 well appointed rooms, many often overlooking the palatial square in the gracious elegance. For the gourmands and gourmands, we have the Cafe Corner, which serve a wide verity of cuisine to suite both you pallet and wallet. The culinary delights here range from Newari and Nepali Dal Bhat to Chinese, Mexican, Italian, Indian and Continental delicacies. And when comes the question of the quality of our culinary offerings. We never forget Hygiene is our top priority. Adding to the mesmerizing ambience, we also have rooftop garden from which you can savor the splendor of nature's graciousness all around on the south, the bliss you feel at SHIVA GUEST HOUSE is something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Shiva Guest House1 & 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Guest House1 & 2 Hotel Bhaktapur
Shiva Guest House1 And 2
Shiva Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing