We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous guest house in Bhaktapur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous guest house in Bhaktapur”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a very lovely stay in the Shiva Guest House. The location is perfect with easy access to the other squares and also the gate. The staff were incredibly helpful and the kitchen was wonderful! My bed was possibly the most comfortable bed I slept on in Nepal and I really enjoyed the feeling of sleeping in the midst of so much history. I could see the square from my room and could hear the sound of bells, especially in the morning and evening, as the people worshipped at the many altars in the city. I loved the feeling of being surrounded by history in this guest house and also in whole city. I hope to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oracle_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your warm feedback and we are very sorry that you could not have quiet sleep ,because the temple bell wake you up but its the livelyhood of the local environment. we are glad that you enjoyed our service and love the Bhaktapur. We hope to see you again in coming days and please do share you visit to your friends and family.

Namestay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    127
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
99
81
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very well situated, very is even euphemism in this case. Very clean, and the staff and the owner Naresh are more than nice and helpfull !!! just do not hesitate, if you sleep in bhaktapur, just go there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julekdelodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear lodz

Nice to hear from you and thank you for your warm feedback. and i will convay your greeting to Naresh. We hope to see you again in Nepal and please do share your visit to your friends and family.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booking at Shiva Guesthouse 1 was the best decision I made when we were in Bhaktapur. The guesthouse is perfectly located at the Durbar Square. Kailash, the young owner, was so helpful in assisting us with our reservation. He also greeted us in our native language. Very cute. And because it was a full house that day, we were given two options for our room for three days. The first one was a room facing some buildings but with an en suite bathroom and the other one was facing the Durbar Square but with a shared bathroom. Upon entering the second room we were sold right there and then. We didn't mind that we didn't have our own toilet inside the room but the view was too perfect.

Our room was on the topmost floor (4th) and waking up to the sound of the birds hanging out at the Durbar Square was just nice. Afternoons were usually spent hanging out on our windows and just enjoying the view from there.

I only h ave good words for this guest house and for you to experience Bhaktapur at its best, then you should book in Shiva Guesthouse 1.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Durbar Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Carla

Thank you for your warm feedback and comment. We hope to see you again in Nepal and I have read your blog in website , its awasome. but you forgot to mention our guest house name on the picture. Please do share your visit to your friends and family.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was with a German group to Bisket Yatra in Bhaktapur. It was the first time for me in Nepal. We had so much support, so good and different meals in Shivas Guest House, that I was very happy. Thousands of new pictures and experiences in three weeks and the whole staff in Shivas Guest House gave us the maximum of support to have fun there. Special wishes of everybody were no problem.The fruit curd in the morning, the momos later and there were sometimes very good sweaties. I missed nothing what I have daily in Berlin.
I am sure, other people will hav the same experience in Shivas Guest House!

Folker Kuhlmann from Berlin

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Folker K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your mail. We are very glad that you appricate our service and please do share you visit with your friends and family.

we hope to see you again in Nepal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at guest house nr. 2, a good place to stay. Good service and some nice people. We could eat at nr. 1 - really good food. Very local sitet. Would come again...…………...…....................................................…....

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your warm feedback and you enjoyed our service . Please share you visit to you friends and family. Looking forwards to see you again. Warm Greetings from all the Shiva Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in the guest house near the Durbar Square gate and it was really lovely. The room was beautiful and the guest house is ideally placed for visiting the town. I would strongly recommend getting up early, we were up at 5.30am, to go out and see the town as it prepares for the day. I cannot comment on the value for money as it was part of an arranged trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and choosing as as the best. We hope you had nice time in Nepal , Please do share you visit to your friends and family.

We hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed for one night in the guest house which is right opposite the Durbar Square gate. The place is great, the rooms are clean and cozy.
The staff was very accomodating and they changed my booking on my request without any extra charge.
The restaurant downstairs has the best coffee and the breakfast was included in the room price.
Overall - great experience and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavlina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KailashDhaubanjar123, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Guest House1 & 2, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. we are glad thar you liked and enjoyed our service.

We hope to see you again and please do share your visit to you friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhaktapur
0.7 mi away
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
Planet Bhaktapur Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bhaktapur
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
Bhaktapur Paradise Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bhaktapur
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heritage
Hotel Heritage
#3 of 8 in Bhaktapur
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.4 mi away
Peacock Guest House
Peacock Guest House
#1 of 55 in Bhaktapur
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krishna's House
Krishna's House
#2 of 55 in Bhaktapur
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Guest House1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Guest House1 & 2

Property: Shiva Guest House1 & 2
Address: 11 Durbar Square, Bhaktapur 44800, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Bhaktapur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bhaktapur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiva Guest House1 & 2 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly Heritage Guest House. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE-pleasantly located in the heart of the Durbar Square is your address in Bhaktapur. Standing next to the Yaksheshwor Temple the city's oldest edifice dating back to 1472 AD, the guest house is where you can start your exploration trip from. You can do here what many of our esteemed guests including scholars, students and even a film crew of Bertculocci from Hollywood have done in the past. We are always behind you to help materialize your cherished dreams in Bhaktapur and beyond. With a team of professionals around, you will surely feel that you have made a right decision choosing us. SHIVA GUEST HOUSE, as our well-wishers say, is suited to all types of travelers. For your personal comfort, we offer 15 well appointed rooms, many often overlooking the palatial square in the gracious elegance. For the gourmands and gourmands, we have the Cafe Corner, which serve a wide verity of cuisine to suite both you pallet and wallet. The culinary delights here range from Newari and Nepali Dal Bhat to Chinese, Mexican, Italian, Indian and Continental delicacies. And when comes the question of the quality of our culinary offerings. We never forget Hygiene is our top priority. Adding to the mesmerizing ambience, we also have rooftop garden from which you can savor the splendor of nature's graciousness all around on the south, the bliss you feel at SHIVA GUEST HOUSE is something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shiva Guest House1 & 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Guest House1 And 2
Shiva Guest House1 & 2 Hotel Bhaktapur
Shiva Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing