We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Best one in Lumbini”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lumbini
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lumbini Hotel Kasai
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lumbini
Reviewed 29 November 2013

i chosed this hotel, because my last stay in Lumbini was not comfortable, i wont say "that hotel" name here, but if we want to have plenty of hot water and clean and cosy room in Lumbini. this is the best choice.

1.Wifi is sometimes unstable even in the lobby,
2.Hot water is running 24 hours
3.A quality breakfast

the only one thing what i would love to request to this hotel is....., please give us a new slippers.
In this price range, most of hotels prepare disposable slippers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldschooltechno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Lumbini Hotel Kasai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We chose this hotel because we visited in mid-September, when it's still boiling hot and malarial mosquitoes abound. This appears to be the only hotel with air conditioning, which explains how they justify charging the prices they do.

Pros:
- Air conditioning. Vital in summer and autumn when the weather is extremely hot and humid, and you don't want to open windows and let in malarial mosquitoes.
- It's a Japanese-run hotel and so of course you can expect the service to be better than local-run hotels.

Cons:
- The sheets on the bed were a bit dirty. There were a some spots of red that I thought could have been from bed bug bites. However, we checked the mattress and everything seemed fine. I wasn't bitten by anything either. I did call reception to ask for a new sheet to be bought up but one of the phone numbers wasn't answered, and the other was picked up by someone who only spoke Nepali. Half an hour later, when I was just falling asleep, reception called to ask how they could help.
- Do not count on being able to pay by card. We were assured at arrival that we could pay with card, but 10 minutes before we were to check out, reception called the room to ask us if we could pay with cash.
- We went off-season. There was no other guests at reception, in the restaurant...anywhere. That's fine but we called to ask for the price. We were told that the price would be $130, because of our nationality and because of it being off-season. When we went to check out though, we had been charged $159 per night. This apparently included $9 for a breakfast that we didn't eat. We explained how we had called up and been offered a price of $130 but the receptionist didn't seem bothered and told us that there'd be no other price than the one on the bill.
- In the restaurant, they bring you things you don't order, and then charge you for it. Take breakfast: they bought two glasses of 'mango juice' (basically 'frooti' or 'slice' - an Indian soft drink, which probably contains no actual fruit) straight away. This then appears on the bill at the end of the stay.

Despite the fact that I have more cons than pros, this was an OK hotel. Some have mentioned it being like a '5 star hotel' - it is far from it. But seeing as it is in a poor area in one of the poorest countries in the world, it really isn't bad. I just wish they had been more upfront about the price and more organised in regards to paying. I didn't want to end my stay in the wonderful Lumbini on a horrible note, so ended up just paying the extra $30 instead of arguing...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattlinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a great hotel owned by a Japanese but managed by a able Nepali manager. Spotless rooms, very clean ultra modern bathrooms and excellent food are the attractions. The staff is very friendly compared to other hotels in Nepal. The food includes Japanese cuisine. It is located just opposite the ticket counter (walking distance) but from there it is quite a walk to the birth place of Lord Buddha. But there are rickshaws that can be hired.
Hotel's location is in the woods inhabited with dear, jackals and the worlds tallest crane, yet within the Lumbini scared area. The rates are bit on the expensive side, but the hotels offers you the necessary environment to meditate (if you are pilgrim) or the calmness to reflect if you are just visiting Lumbini. Uninterrupted power supply and the WIFI at the lobby and in the surrounding rooms are appreciable value additions. For a traveler who is tired of roughing out, this could be a haven.

Room Tip: Upper flow rooms facing the entrance gives you a nice view, other than that all the rooms are excell...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaluarachchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

It was quite a pleasant stay in kasai lumbini hotel. Thanks to Our wonderful tour agent iTourNepal.com P Ltd who booked us in this hotel. The trip lumbini was amazing. Even though we had to drive back to kathmandu due to no flight on bad weather, we were in good hand and have no complaint at all. Again thanks to iTourNepal.com P Ltd.
For kasai hotel in particular, friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, and very peacefull. It does have international standard. Thank ou kasai hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luswon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Very nice hotel, big rooms, clean, huge bathrooms and a great garden with a lovely vegetable garden where they pick their vegetables for the restaurant. Staff was very polite and helpful, breakfast could improve a bit. All in all a great stY

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Getting away from Kathmandu - the hub of the tourist centre, the chaotic roads and crazy traffic,
the buildings thin out and open farmlands greet us.
It is a pleasure and really enjoyable to stay in this hotel - spacious, super clean. The staff is great and very helpful. The food is passable. Quiet location. Overall a good stay.
TQ Kasai for your hospitality. We'll be back some day!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 646Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is clean, though a no frills hotel, the food is quite ok, the internet works at the lobby and it is a quiet and peaceful place. It has a Japanese flavour although the only guests were Thais and the guide explained that Japanese customers are rare nowadays. The place is perfectly fine for a one night stay, there is not much to do, unless one is involved in the monasteries. Considering alternatives, this hotel is the place to stay in Lumbini.

Room Tip: it seems all rooms are quiet, so it makes no difference where you stay
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lumbini hotels
2.4 mi away
Buddha Maya Hotel
Buddha Maya Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lumbini
150 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#6 of 8 in Lumbini
43 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Stupa
Hotel Stupa
#4 of 8 in Lumbini
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
#7 of 8 in Lumbini
15 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lumbini Buddha Garden
Lumbini Buddha Garden
#1 of 21 in Lumbini
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lumbini International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumbini Hotel Kasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbini Hotel Kasai

Address: Lumbini Sacred Garden | P.o.box65, Lumbini 32914, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Lumbini Zone > Lumbini
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lumbini
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing