We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice choice.”
Review of Hotel Ananda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ananda Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 Lumbini B&B and Inns
Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very nice choice.”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very close to the bus station so easy to get to the buses. Nice restaurant. WiFi. Rooms with good bathrooms and cable TV. Very attentive and helpful staff. Great location for the sights. Very pleased with my choice. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh_Whitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaikush, Manager at Hotel Ananda Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you very much. We love to have that opportunity again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    33
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
20
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very clean place.Staff are helpful,WiFi is good.And the comfiest bed in Nepal! The restaurant is OK,you don't come to Lumbini for the cuisine!,and reasonably priced.Location is very central but not very picturesque. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank_jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I can't believe how highly rated this place is - Upon returning I checked who was reporting on this place and I note that many reviewers are from India and Nepal, whilst one reviewer wrote that this hotel was an expensive treat for them (it's dirt cheap) and therefore indicates that the other reviewers are probably basing their expectations much lower than mine.

The only good point to the hotel is it is right by the entrance to the Buddha park entrance and can therefore be walked.
The staff were reasonably helpful, the room was very basic. There was a TV with western channels but the aerial socket was broken, but this did not bother us as we only spent 10mins in the room after dinner before the power cut out and it did not come back on even the following morning, all we had was one emergency light in the entry to the room leaving the bathroom in complete blackness.
Bathroom was acceptable but you only get one small bar of soap and nothing else. Towels were thread bare and musty and damp.
Many mosquitos in the room, which is a worry in a malarial area.
The mats in the room and bathroom were disgusting to walk upon.
The beds stank and were disgusting. They were musty and felt slightly damp and stank of old dirty feet - were they washed prior to the previous tenant or was it simply the room hadn't been used for a while? Either way the bed was repulsive - smelly, fetid, the white sheets were grey with numerous small blood stains on them. I can't express the disgust I felt.
The hotel is right by a bus station, with all the noise you would expect from early in the morning till late at night and no soundproofing provided by the thin walls and single glazing.
The restaurant was adequate, NOT superb like so many others report, do the other reporters not eat curry in other hotels??? This one compares badly and at best the various dishes were just OK, and also the restaurant had numerous mosquitos flying around.

If the beds hadn't been quite so vile I would have said this hotel was tolerable for one night, simply somewhere to stay on a budget, but throw in the musty dank room and repulsive beds go somewhere else, anywhere else whatever your budget. We stayed here only due to our chosen hotel being full and tripadvisor giving good reviews but don't be fooled if you are from the west and not familiar with ropey basic guesthouses elsewhere in Nepal - don't take the chance with the bedding here, at least take a chance with another place.

Room Tip: Good rooms can found in OTHER hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicianManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lumbini hotels

Israel
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is a very good decision for 1 night i n Lumbini.The hotel is cheap,the room are clean,everything works.The staff is very helpfull and part of them speak English very well.The hotel has a nice restaurant with a very taste food.The hotel is close a main entrance of park Lumbini.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvetFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaikush, Manager at Hotel Ananda Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Ananda Inn And Maitri Restaurant in Lumbini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I like the Ananda, clean, simple, everything worked, friendly staff, maybe 2 soaps would have been nice.

Power was cut so the AC stopped, went down to the lobby to wifi, once they found out I was inconvenienced, they started the generator. That’s rare in Nepal, hotels don’t like to start the generator.

Their restaurant was surprising good, had dinner there, and the complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slomichaelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I felt very comfortable here. The staff were kind and friendly and they arranged an airport pick-up and drop-off for me. The room was nicely decorated, quiet and very clean. There was air-conditioning and a ceiling fan to help keep cool, a real asset as Lumbini is very hot. The bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water. The windows were all fitted with screens so I didn't have any problems with insects. They have a policy of only cleaning your room if you ask, so be sure to do that if you want. I hired a bicycle from the hotel and it certainly wasn't in good condition, but it got me around quicker than walking!
The hotel is located just a few yards from the Main Entrance and this is a great advantage. The hotel serves very good food, all freshly prepared to order and served piping hot! This suited me well as there didn't seem to be anywhere else nearby to eat. The wi-fi is free and it works well.
The area is a huge building site, both inside the temple complex and around the hotel itself.
I was pleased to stay at the Ananda, I got a good deal as I booked in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked this Inn on trip advisers recommendation they quoted us $55.94 a night for a double room and breakfast. More than we usual spend but thought it must be amazing for that price. Not so much. Very ordinary room with no view except of hotels being built next door. Very few people there staff okay but not great service. The pack of dogs next door fighting all night kept us both awake. We checked out next more went into Main Street and booked into a place for $7.50 a night with bathroom but no AC. Just as close to temples but with way more atmosphere. Okay for a price but not $55plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helmac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lumbini hotels
0.5 mi away
Buddha Maya Hotel
Buddha Maya Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lumbini
147 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#5 of 8 in Lumbini
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
#7 of 8 in Lumbini
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stupa
Hotel Stupa
#4 of 8 in Lumbini
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peace Palace Nepal
Hotel Peace Palace Nepal
#2 of 21 in Lumbini
68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lumbini Buddha Garden
Lumbini Buddha Garden
#1 of 21 in Lumbini
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ananda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ananda Inn

Property: Hotel Ananda Inn
Address: Mahilivar, Lumbini, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Lumbini Zone > Lumbini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lumbini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ananda Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ananda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing