We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Looking Hotel, does not match price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ananda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ananda Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Lumbini B&B and Inns
London UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Looking Hotel, does not match price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I booked in advsnce to stay for one nite after visiting Lord Budda birthplace which is across the road from the hotel. On first impression the reception looked really nice, I thought my room would be the same. My room was on the 2nd floor, I arrived at 3pm and wanted a shower after a five hour journey I checked for hot water in the bathroom, there was none. I went out and still no hot water I complained about the water I was told I could use room 106 to shower. The water was wonderful and I should have had that in my room, and although the problem was rectified the hot water tank should never run out when you have paying customers in your property. The room is really nice and they even have quilts if you get extra cold, the mat by the bed was dirty and looked out of place because it looked so dirty, and the sheet appeared to have blood strains on them, attention to detail is not there strong point because the hotel wants to appear like an expensive hotel but does not due to the small things being out of place. The view looking out of the hotel is nothing to write home about, and so is the view on the small balcony they have on the 2nd floor. On the plus side there is a telephone, table, chair and TV, AC and fan in the room that all worked when I was there just like the Wifi. The only good thing is it is 5 mins away from what makes Lambini, lord Budda birth place. I would come back to the hotel if it was cheaper.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
17
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and expected more for our money. The room was clean and comfortable but rather cramped & the shower wasn't very hot. The overall location was good as just opposite the main entrance to the park & it was great to have good the wifi , even managed to skype ! But the service in the restaurant at breakfast was appalling , it should have been open at 7.30ambut was still in darkness when we went down and we had to wait for ages for a very poor offering and also meant we had to rush to finish before our taxi arrived at 8.30am. Luckily we'd visited the park the day before when breakfast was on time unlike other guests who were planning to go as early as possible and were understandably annoyed.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
125 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very close to the bus station so easy to get to the buses. Nice restaurant. WiFi. Rooms with good bathrooms and cable TV. Very attentive and helpful staff. Great location for the sights. Very pleased with my choice. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh_Whitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaikush, Manager at Hotel Ananda Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you very much. We love to have that opportunity again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very clean place.Staff are helpful,WiFi is good.And the comfiest bed in Nepal! The restaurant is OK,you don't come to Lumbini for the cuisine!,and reasonably priced.Location is very central but not very picturesque. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank_jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I can't believe how highly rated this place is - Upon returning I checked who was reporting on this place and I note that many reviewers are from India and Nepal, whilst one reviewer wrote that this hotel was an expensive treat for them (it's dirt cheap) and therefore indicates that the other reviewers are probably basing their expectations much lower than mine.

The only good point to the hotel is it is right by the entrance to the Buddha park entrance and can therefore be walked.
The staff were reasonably helpful, the room was very basic. There was a TV with western channels but the aerial socket was broken, but this did not bother us as we only spent 10mins in the room after dinner before the power cut out and it did not come back on even the following morning, all we had was one emergency light in the entry to the room leaving the bathroom in complete blackness.
Bathroom was acceptable but you only get one small bar of soap and nothing else. Towels were thread bare and musty and damp.
Many mosquitos in the room, which is a worry in a malarial area.
The mats in the room and bathroom were disgusting to walk upon.
The beds stank and were disgusting. They were musty and felt slightly damp and stank of old dirty feet - were they washed prior to the previous tenant or was it simply the room hadn't been used for a while? Either way the bed was repulsive - smelly, fetid, the white sheets were grey with numerous small blood stains on them. I can't express the disgust I felt.
The hotel is right by a bus station, with all the noise you would expect from early in the morning till late at night and no soundproofing provided by the thin walls and single glazing.
The restaurant was adequate, NOT superb like so many others report, do the other reporters not eat curry in other hotels??? This one compares badly and at best the various dishes were just OK, and also the restaurant had numerous mosquitos flying around.

If the beds hadn't been quite so vile I would have said this hotel was tolerable for one night, simply somewhere to stay on a budget, but throw in the musty dank room and repulsive beds go somewhere else, anywhere else whatever your budget. We stayed here only due to our chosen hotel being full and tripadvisor giving good reviews but don't be fooled if you are from the west and not familiar with ropey basic guesthouses elsewhere in Nepal - don't take the chance with the bedding here, at least take a chance with another place.

Room Tip: Good rooms can found in OTHER hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicianManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is a very good decision for 1 night i n Lumbini.The hotel is cheap,the room are clean,everything works.The staff is very helpfull and part of them speak English very well.The hotel has a nice restaurant with a very taste food.The hotel is close a main entrance of park Lumbini.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SvetFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaikush, Manager at Hotel Ananda Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Ananda Inn And Maitri Restaurant in Lumbini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I like the Ananda, clean, simple, everything worked, friendly staff, maybe 2 soaps would have been nice.

Power was cut so the AC stopped, went down to the lobby to wifi, once they found out I was inconvenienced, they started the generator. That’s rare in Nepal, hotels don’t like to start the generator.

Their restaurant was surprising good, had dinner there, and the complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slomichaelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lumbini hotels
0.5 mi away
Buddha Maya Hotel
Buddha Maya Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lumbini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#4 of 10 in Lumbini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stupa
Hotel Stupa
#5 of 10 in Lumbini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
Lumbini Bamboo Resort
#8 of 10 in Lumbini
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peace Palace Nepal
Hotel Peace Palace Nepal
#3 of 21 in Lumbini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lumbini Buddha Garden
Lumbini Buddha Garden
#2 of 21 in Lumbini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ananda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ananda Inn

Property: Hotel Ananda Inn
Address: Mahilivar, Lumbini, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Lumbini Zone > Lumbini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lumbini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ananda Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ananda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing