We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gokyo Lake, Dudh Pokhri”
Review of Gokyo Lakes

Gokyo Lakes
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,170.00*
and up
5-Day Best of the Himalayas: Mt Everest Region Trek with Round-Trip Flights...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Howrah, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gokyo Lake, Dudh Pokhri”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

One of most beautiful Lake is Gokyo Lake at Nepal. Me & my 4 friends visited this wonderful Lake at mid October. The lake is amazing because it's water color & reflection of mountains. We spend our memorable time at Gokyo Lake.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhaskar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing reflections”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Gokyo 3rd Lake (the main lake of the "township") was amazing especially if the morning when the water was clam and the mountains reflected off the lake. If you have never seen a mountial lake, go there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank seppi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiangyin, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

You can put your trust in Ram and his crew. We had an amazing time with them! They are professional and friendly, and can suit your trek to your needs. Reasonably priced. Seriously considering going back to Nepal and doing the Mustang Trek with them in the future.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must View from Above”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

originally i planned my mt. Everest base camp trek only. but with the suggestions of friends whoz been to ebc and further research. i have enroute my original plan to pass by gokyo and the chola pass. It is a must to visit up the gokyo-ri to withness the stunning view of the third gokyo lake. And a magnificient panorama of the mt. Everest and the himalayas. Crossing the chola pass is a wonderful experience. some kind of a unique and different perspective of experiencing an ebc trek the conventional way. if i will be going back to ebc. i will definitely go through this route again and again. its worth the experience. A must View from above.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank n8nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cho La (high pass to Gokyo region from Everest trek)”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

As part of my recent trek (January 2014) to EBC and Kala Pattar, I crossed over the Cho La. The descent into Thagnak is very difficult now due to a large amount of snow, that has wind-blown and hardened into these icy spikes, which cover the trail all the way down. They are vertical pyramids of ice, about 1-1.5 feet tall, and very icy due to the sun melting and then hardening. This descent requires ice spikes/traction devices (not crampons, but "yaktrax" or similar for winter traction/hiking) and poles in my opinion to safely cross.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Trekkinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gokyo Lakes also viewed

Sagarmatha National Park, Sagarmatha Zone
Sagarmatha National Park, Sagarmatha Zone
 
Sagarmatha National Park, Sagarmatha Zone
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Gokyo Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing