We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broken Toilet Flush in Room 12”
Review of HEM Apartelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vigan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
HEM Apartelle
Ranked #7 of 30 Vigan B&B and Inns
malabon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Broken Toilet Flush in Room 12”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed here on Nov. 23-24, 2012. The room that we got has three double decks. it's room 12 located on the first floor near the reception area. rate is 500 per person but kids below 12 years are free of charge. two security guards are the only persons in that apartelle. they just hire somebody to clean the room.

pros
- room is very clean and looks new
- there is water heater
- they provide towels and tissue
- they have a ministore in the reception area where you can buy affordable toilettries and snacks
- it's just 5-min walk away from the famous calle crisologo


con
- the toilet's flush in our room was not working. I told it to the guard but he just gave me a plunger to pump the toilet myself. ewww!
he was apologetic though and insisted that it was the first time it happened. lucky me. i didn't want to clean it myself and asked him to transfer us to another room but there was no more available room. so he just cleaned the toilet himself and gave us a key to room 23 on the
2nd floor so we can use its bathroom. seems like it's the apartelle owner's room. but we did not use it.

I would like to note that the security guards are polite, helpful, and honest. They returned my father's cellphone and reading glasses when he forgot it when we checked out. I could have given this apartelle a VERY GOOD rate if not only to the broken toilet flush issue.

in case you plan to stay there and they give you room 12, confirm first if the toilet flush is already fixed.

Room Tip: room 12's toilet flush is broken. ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
7
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We arrived in Vigan late at night. We checked the rates of other hotels and they were expensive. We chanced upon Hem Apartelle and decided to ask for their rates. It was Php 500 per person and we were 3.

As the other reviews have said, the apartelle was very basic. It contained just beds and a table. No closets. But it was clean and the beds were firm but comfortable. The shower was very narrow and the bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze, but again, it was clean. There was a hot and cold shower, which was great as we were weary from our trip.

They do not serve food but you can order breakfast from a nearby restaurant or canteen and have it delivered to the inn. Also, Abuelita's resto is just around the corner.

Hem is located near Calle Crisologo, about 5 minutes' walk.

Room Tip: It's not really a room tip, but here's a tip anyway: Try the sinanglaw at Gloria's near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biyay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Very basic accommodation. But clean rooms, good beds, and plumbing worked well. Central location in Vigan. No restaurant facilities on site, but many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I. Reservation

At first, I was worried because when I texted them, they just told me that they would reserve the room for me on the specified date but didn't ask me to pay any down payment which bothered me because this is the first time I encountered an inn to not request a down payment for a reservation. Nevertheless, when we arrived there the check in was smooth.

II. Arriving in the Hotel

We arrived around 9AM which is very early for their standard check in time but since our rooms were vacant, they allowed us to check in early with no extra charge.

III. The Location and the Hotel

The hotel is not in Calle Crisologo. It's a 5-7 minute walk to the famous street in Vigan. The three-storey hotel is just a small family-owned business. The family has more businesses as we were informed.

IV. The Amenitites and Staff

There is no cafe or restaurant in the hotel. It's basically just a lodging house but some snacks and beverage are available in the reception area. There's also a canteen in front of it so it's not much of a problem. The rooms are big and clean. Though the CR's is small and the pressure of the shower is not that strong.

The furniture in the rooms don't look cheap at all, and they look brand new. The hotel gives you a very homey feel. During our second day, a brownout occurred but it only took about 5mins before the generator kicked in.

The male receptionist acts as an all-around staff of the hotel. He also acts as the security guard and is also friendly. During 1PM everyday house keeping is done to ALL ROOMS. I liked the fact that you don't have to request for it. And you might find it amusing that the cleaners are the personal house helpers of the family.

Conclusion:

If you're on a budget, this is a very good hotel choice. P1000/night on an airconed room doesn't sound bad right? I really can't help but think that we stayed in a place worth paying more. With the room condition, I can say the hotel can even charge 1,500 per night. Also, the snacks offered in the hotel are cheaper compared outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Meisaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vigan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gordion Hotel
Gordion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vigan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salcedo De Vigan
0.0 mi away
Metro Vigan Inn
Metro Vigan Inn
#8 of 30 in Vigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel ni Among
Hotel ni Among
#9 of 30 in Vigan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HEM Apartelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HEM Apartelle

Property: HEM Apartelle
Address: # 32 Gov.A.Reyes St, Vigan, Luzon 2700, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Vigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing