We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciudad Fernandina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vigan
Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at Ciudad for 2 nights. The hotel is very well located steps away from tthe Heritage Village. The rooms are new however mine was already showing some signs of aging. The wallpaper would come off at different location and as well as the paint due to the humidity I guess. Be aware that the rooms are very smalls and that the air conditionning is placed right of tops of the bed (which by the way is only a single bed) and caused me some disturbances at night due to the cold air coming straight on my face and it is also noisy. I checked with reception and I was told all rooms have the air conditioning right of top the beds. Service was OK.

Room Tip: Avoid Standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usha00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
23
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando La Union, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel itself is a sight to behold. Beautiful, classy and well done. Probably the most beautiful hotel in Vigan. Rooms are nice though small. The service is a different story though. In all the hotes that we've been to, this is the hotel with the lousiest service. They are not accommodating and haven't felt their sincerity at all. They don't even greet you when they see you (not that I'm asking, but it's a given especially in hotels). To think that they are on the expensive side, they need to improve on their service. The people in their front desk needs training or better yet replace them. I regret choosing this hotel because of the service we received. Have read negative comments about their staff but gave them the benefit of the doubt, unfortunately they didn't improve on this. This is the first time that I am disgusted with the service of a hotel at we've stayed in.If only they were better it would have been a great experience staying with them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FZD0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were supposed to stay here for two nights but we checked out after one night because i can't stand the smell of the bathroom. The room is too small that my son and I had a hard time moving around. Also, the aircon is focused directly on the bed.
I don't think that we are going to stay here again. We found a better hotel not far from here and stayed there for our second night in Vigan.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

It was many months before our actual stay that I booked this hotel because I know it is their super peak season because it was Holy week.Their booking facility is in their facebook account (Ciudad Fernandina Hotel) making it very accessible and convenient.Booking in their facebook account is easy as you can see the description of the rooms and if the dates you prefer are still available.You are just required to pay 10% of the room charge using your credit card to guarantee your reservation and the rest of the payment is upon check in.

It was easy to locate from the town's plaza, Plaza Burgos,on the side of Max's Restaurant & Cafe Leona there is the street of Calle Crisologo.From the start of the road, it is a 10 minute walk, you will pass by Irene's Vigan Empanada, on the fourth street (Mabini St.), there is a bakery on the right side, turn right and you will see the hotel.It has a good location since it is just one block away from the Heritage Village in Calle Crisologo where you can buy all the souvenirs that this place offers.There are T-shirts,blankets,Bagnet,longganisa,bibingka,vigan empanada,chichacorn and even antique looking furnitures such as tables, chairs,cabinets etc...

When we arrived at the hotel,I was impressed with the interior and the design because it adheres with the old look of the place but with a very modern touch.It was very new and clean.Check in was fast and easy but the people at the reception were not that pleasant as I expected,definitely they were not rude but it wouldn't hurt if they would smile to make their guests feel welcomed in their place.We stayed also at Hotel Felicidad (another hotel in Vigan,a few blocks away) the day before that I was able to compare the warm reception given to us by the other hotel that we stayed in.

We stayed in a superior room,located at the first floor, there was a router outside our room that the signal inside was quite strong and I was able to use their wi fi, whenever I wanted to at the comfort of our room.The room was quite small but nice and cozy. The aircon functioned well and has simple remote control that was easy to operate.The bed was good and has four fluffy pillows and thick comforter that can keep you warm all night.It has a coffee and tea area,you can have coffee anytime you want.There was no refrigerator in the room .The bathroom was small but clean.The hot water was functioning well also.It has no bidet (even not so expensive hotel has it for convenience).

Outside our room is a living room like area which serves as the lobby of the building aside from the open air area where you can stay if you just want to enjoy the ambiance of the place.Inside the building there was a sofa and table which serves as a waiting area also.You can see here very nice paintings of the land marks in Vigan.There is a complimentary hot and cold water if you just want to have cold water or have a hot coffee.If you need a parking,you just have to park your car outside along the streets.


The complimentary buffet breakfast wasn't that good in taste and service.Maybe because there were lots of people during our stay that we had to wait because the food initially served wasn't enough for everybody.

This is a beautiful new hotel in Vigan in terms of interiors, but for good value for money, I don't think they have it yet.They should improve in their services and their complimentary breakfast for them to be worth the price that they charge.If asked if I'm going to stay here again,most likely.And I hope next time,I will be more satisfied with my stay.

Room Tip: rooms at the groundfloor are better because of easy access that you don't have to go up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andi727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

If staying in old houses is not your thing, then you'll definitely like Ciudad Fernandina. It's a new hotel which opened in March 2012. The place looks very modern classic with its neutral colors mixed with wood, glass, tiles and soft lighting. Ample light from outside comes through the windows of the lobby so it doesn't feel eerie at all. The staircase is grand and very good for taking photos. The hotel is clean and well-kept.

We got a family suite which consists of a junior suite and a deluxe room side by side, connected by what becomes a private foyer/receiving area, because there is one main door to access both rooms. The Junior Suite is big and can easily accommodate 2 extra beds. The Deluxe Room, however, is small and with 1 extra bed, you can no longer open the closet. The TV in the deluxe room is also smaller.

The beds are very comfortable. The air cons have no problem. The bathrooms are very modern-looking and you'll forget that you're in a heritage village. The only problem with the bathroom is that it's very difficult to mix the water in the shower to get to the right temperature level. It either gets too hot or too cold easily. For such an expensive hotel, I was also surprised that there were no slippers in the room. Neither was there any toothbrush or comb. If you call the front desk though and ask for a toothbrush, they will provide, so not a big deal.

Location is the best! Calle Crisologo, which is one of the main tourist attractions in Vigan, is just a few steps away from the hotel. Ciudad Fernandina has a quiet restaurant that serves an all day breakfast and a good selection of pasta and sandwiches. There is, however, a limited selection of main meals. I remember there was only 1 Filipino main dish on the menu. Dessert was also very limited. If you get hungry at night, they're open until 10 pm and provide room service until that time. During our stay though, there were at least 3 items on the menu that were out of stock, which was a bit disappointing.

Staff is very friendly and courteous. In the restaurant though, they would often forget who ordered what. For a group of 8 like ours, the orders got mixed up often.

Over-all, we love the hotel and would stay there again if we come back.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a second room floor if you are in the company of the elderly. The grand stairc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happy_mommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

The location is ideal, the room is clean, albeit small. Wi-fi connection is limited to the lobby, and gets congested when a few people use it.
Breakfast was supposed to be served at 7 am. When we went down at the outdoor seats of the restaurant, we were made to wait. After 15 minutes, when we followed up with the servers, was told to wait for 15 minutes. I placed the order for 3 and thought it was noted, since we only had coupons for 2.
Unfortunately though, after 50 minutes, the same server I placed my order with, came out and took our orders. Just when I thought it will be served already! When confronted with the situation, they could not give an answer. I spoke to the front desk clerk and she cannot do anything about the situation, either. it's an hour already aince we were seated in the restaurant, and all we got were the placements and utensilsnn front of us. Poor service.
There is only one toilet in the ground floor to serve guests, and it is unisex. You don't see attendants in sight, especially in the morning. Parking is in the streets, and no one guides you as to where to leave your vehicles. It is peak season, mind you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP0128, Manager at Ciudad Fernandina Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Ma'am,

We are deeply sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. The hotel is relatively new and comments like this help us improve the way we do things to provide better service to our valued guests.

Allow us to invite you to stay with us again and hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muntinlupa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

It is the newest and priciest hotel in Vigan. A block away from Calle Crisologo. Their rooms are average in size but have modern interiors. Service is just fine. Their breakfast area is small and often times diners overflow to the patio.Parking is along the street. I would love to stay here again only if they have promo/discounted rates.Otherwise there other nice hotels with reasonable rates along Calle Crisologo.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blazt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vigan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.4 mi away
One Vittoria Hotel
One Vittoria Hotel
#2 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salcedo De Vigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gordion Hotel
Gordion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vigan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Veneto de Vigan
0.0 mi away
Metro Vigan Inn
Metro Vigan Inn
#7 of 27 in Vigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciudad Fernandina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciudad Fernandina Hotel

Property: Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
Address: 26 Mabini St cor. Plaridel St., Vigan, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ciudad Fernandina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Ciudad Fernandina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing