We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Place and Friendly staff.”
Review of Grandpa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grandpa's Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Vigan B&B and Inns
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Place and Friendly staff.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stay at Grandpas Inn and it takes you back to old spanish colonial. Upon arrival, We check in and the staff are friendly , provide us great services in are stay. i choose this hotel because the room was unique, we stay at calesa room. well maintaied the design. they are complete amenities in the room. The experienced was very go0d and i recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ans76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    95
    29
    8
    17
See reviews for
55
49
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Grandpas Inn is located two blocks away from crisologo street, the room they have given us is comfortable, good choices for breakfast @ KUSINA FELICITAS and we also explored the said street from dusk til dawn, seems you have travelled back in time. Will definitely recommend to friends and families.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIME57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The best place to stay while you are in Vigan. It is very close to the heritage village, restaurants and souvenir shops. Besides, it’s a walking distance to the best Pandesal in town. Superb service though food is just so-so but readily available is Vigan’s very own longganisa. What’s so unique about this guesthouse is that it contains a Kalesa type of bed which is very comfortable and homey. I will definitely go back here if I do visit Vigan again.

Room Tip: Try their Kalesa Bed because it is comfy and homey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Van G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for a night because we wanted to do a Heritage visit in Vigan. I practically chose this hotel because it's a walking distance to Calle Crisologo, which is the place I wanted to visit the most at Vigan.

My advice, ask for a room upstairs. The rooms aren't sound proof, so if you were assigned a room at the first level (which btw happened to us), you might hear unwanted noise coming from the lobby from people coming in during the middle of the night.

Please take note, that rooms in this particular hotel have a high chance of getting street noise (like passing vehicles) since it's at the corner of two active streets.

Room comes with a basic plated Filipino breakfast with instant coffee.

Overall, our stay was safe and comfortable. Comfort room was clean and the linens smell fresh. The staff were courteous and professional.

I only wish they could have provisions for complimentary late check-out. We paid an extra P150 for checking out an hour later after their check-out time of 12nn even though we checked in very late (around 9 pm) the previous day.

Wifi coneection inside the room is weak. You need to go to the lobby to get a decent connection.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhezabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have eaten at Felicia's Kitchen in Grandpa's Inn on a number of occasions, and have yet to be disappointed. They have an extensive menu, including from the grill across the street from the Inn. The menu contains staple Filippino fare, as well as exotic regional delicacies such as Mountain Ant Adobo, wild boar Tapa, and a number of other dishes (I have tried almost everything except the Ant Adobo...).

The service is generally very good, and the atmosphere is homey and comfortable. It is very child friendly, and attracts a number of local regulars as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Stolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Grandpa's Inn may not be your high-end hotel but this place provides a very nice Ilocandia solace. Not the cheapest in Vigan but very reasonable. After all, why look for expensive ones if you'd spend the entire day out touring the little city. I spent two days in Vigan paying ONLY roughly around Php1,500 for a two-day-one-night stay (inclusive of breakfast). I went with a friend, meaning each of us had a share of Php750 for an air-conditioned room: with TV, hot and cold shower, and a dresser/cabinet. Tell me that's not affordable! If vacationing can't get you off your gadgets, Grandpa's Inn has free wifi. Made my reservation over phone. And because they did not require me for downpayment, I just had to confirm our stay a week before the reserved date. Room is clean, staff are nice, and the inn is only few blocks away from the "Heritage Street". A great experience indeed. I'd personally recommend Grandpa's Inn. Give it a try. You also might want to indulge in a gastronomical experience - choose from their two restos.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkyDorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Due to its vintage décor Grandpa's Inn is a bit like staying in a museum. I stayed for 2 nights in room 1 on the first floor. Although, the room was good enough for 1 person it was a bit on the small side. The bathroom was very small and would be a tight squeeze for large person. The room had rack for hanging cloths, a dressing table with mirror and a chair. Everything was clean and worked (eg.water heater, A/C and flat screen TV). A set Filipino breakfast is included in the room price, however, a credit is given if you converted to a Western breakfast. The WiFi is free but a bit flacky. The hotel is in a good location and is recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tery_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vigan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gordion Hotel
Gordion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Vigan
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ciudad Fernandina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salcedo De Vigan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Veneto de Vigan
0.0 mi away
Metro Vigan Inn
Metro Vigan Inn
#9 of 30 in Vigan
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandpa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandpa's Inn

Property: Grandpa's Inn
Address: 1 Bonifacio St., cor. Quirino Blvd, Vigan, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Sur Province > Vigan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Vigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandpa's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Grandpa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandpa`s Hotel Vigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing