We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fine for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hwaseong Guest House
Ranked #1 of 97 Suwon B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fine for the money”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I paid about 10 euros a night through hostelbookers and I think that was acceptable for the dorm room. It has an excellent location in the historic centre near the market and the fortress and many restaurants and shops near by.
The dorm was clean and comfortable but the shared bathroom and toilet were very dirty. There was free wifi advertised although it seemed to be from somewhere else as the signal was very weak and unreliable.
The guy working was friendly when I checked in, although noone seemed to be working there for the rest of my stay.
For the location and the price, I would say its worth it if you just wanna check out Suwon for a day... I dont think I would recommend it for more than one or two nights though.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emdee_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
2
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

The location of the hostel is excellent: right in the heart of the historic centre of the city and near restaurants and shops. I booked a bed in a dormitory, and had the place to myself. I don't just mean the dormitory: I seemed to be the only guest staying in the hostel at the time, so had exclusive use of all the facilities, which was an unexpected bonus. The place was clean and well maintained. The facilities included kitchen and fridge, although I couldn't find the washing machine which was mentioned in the instructions on the dormitory wall. The underfloor heating was good in winter: it was actually too warm at night time. The place was mostly quiet, although there was some noise from the street outside. The Internet worked. The staff were unobtrusive.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewmilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights... in my opinion, overpriced and too old! I booked a single room for my stay.

Good points:
1) Very accessible by bus
2) Good location - lots of restaurants and grocery shops within walking distance
3) Hwaseong Fortress is a 10 min walk away

Bad points:
1) Overpriced, I paid KRW35,000 a night. I paid KRW30,000 for the Suwon Hostel which is next to the Hwaseong fortress. The rooms are bigger, newer, cleaner and provide more amenities e.g. free use of washing machines, towels, shaver, toothbrush etc.
2) Room is very small, about 15sqm
3) Room and toilet are both very old
4) Airconditioning is old, noisy and does not cool the room
5) No towels provided
6) Room was very dirty, dead insects lying about on the floor

To wrap it up, I won't come back to this place ever. The Suwon Hostel is much better value for money. I only booked here because they were fully booked at the Suwon Hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

it's only 5 minutes walk to Hwaseong Haeng Palace and near the city side of Suwon. there're many restaurants nearby (we tried the snail rice, first place we saw almost opposite the guest house and it's interesting!) we got the private room wtih bathroom. during our stay it was very quiet and the owner was helpful plus it only cost us 30 US dollars. there's also free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank absolutcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
154 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

location is great, guesthouse is clean but somehow doesnt feel cozy. 1 PC, usually no stuff, no lockers, 2 showers, tv, place was quiet. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czhunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I've stayed here two nights and slept an average of four hours a night because it's noisier than in a dorm room. Walls and doors are paper thin so expect to wake up when the first guests are up having breakfast. One night some guys were watching tv until 3am. Also, there are no curtains which doesn't help either.Finally bring your own towel as none will be provided to you!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

From Incheon International Airport, we took the bus to Suwon. Look out for gate 7 for the Suwon bus station. Tell driver that you are getting off At HomePlus Market. Journey takes about 1 hour. We called Mr Choi for pickup at Homeplus Market to guesthouse. The only drawback is that the guesthouse is on the second floor and it doesn't have a lift. So you need to carry your heavy bags up. We originally booked 3 single rooms but Mr Choi suggested that we take 1 single and 1 double that cost us less the amount for 3 single rooms. The double has ensuite bathroom while single rooms uses the common bath outside in the hall. The double room was simple and clean. Love the warm floor as it was cold outside. They have one computer in the hall for free internet access and They also provide free guide by the university student there. It was a good stay even though we only stayed there one night. We will definitely come back again to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NymLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suwon hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Suwon
Ramada Plaza Suwon
#1 of 54 in Suwon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Suwon Ambassador
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Suwon
Castle Hotel Suwon
#6 of 54 in Suwon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Most Hotel
The Most Hotel
#20 of 54 in Suwon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Suwon
1.2 mi away
Reve Hotel
Reve Hotel
#16 of 54 in Suwon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hwaseong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hwaseong Guest House

Property: Hwaseong Guest House
Address: 4 Paldallo 2-ga, Paldal-gu, Suwon, Gyeonggi-do 442-022, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Gyeonggi-do > Suwon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Suwon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hwaseong Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hwaseong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing