We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
613
613
241
70
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
613
241
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab restaurant beach chalet sri lanka pool attendant main restaurant pigeon island seafood water sports stray dogs buffet dinner ground floor the east coast amazing beach half board whale watching beach front welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
861 - 866 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great property. Nice pool and beach area. Beach is clean and is at the quiet end of the bay. Sadly no spa so no massages. Great restaurant the crab. You have to try the Jaffna crab curry. So many great dishes to choose from.

I regret paying full board, wish I had just left it open to choose. We ate at the crab anyway. The food was great, if you like sri lankan food. The non sri lankan food was a bit on the boring side, but there were alternatives.

Great restaurant and front office staff, looked after us well.

The beach was a bit unclean, with a few plastic bags floating around which was a bit sad. Spent hours in the pool. Nice kiddie pool.

Best way to get there is to fly from Colombo if you can't be bothered with the long drive.

The beach challets give you beautiful views and access to the beach.

Room Tip: Beach chalet is the best to get with nice views. but the beach is so close you don't need to pay the premium just for beach access.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfreaks4lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments during your stay.
We are happy to note that you were satisfied with your stay
We have rectified areas of improvement commented
Await your arrival for memories worth repeating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We had a nice pleasant stay for 2 nights. The buffet and view from our chalet were worth every penny. However the room I felt could have been slightly more spruced up- blinds were broken, shower was dark as light was broken. For the price I think it can certainly be spruced up. However it is not terrible and didn't make our stay any less enjoyable. The beach is beyond amazing. The sand is soft and flat. Best beach in Sri Lanka!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nisa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Blu during your stay.
We are continuously improving the 40 year property to met the needs of our guests
The improvements will be attended during your next visit. Await your arrival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We reached Trinco after a long and tiresome car journey from Negombo.The white hotel almost on the beach, provided a spectacular sight of the Indian Ocean and had an excellent pool. The rooms though were a bit small but the service was good. The beakfast and the toiletries were quite good. The live music in the evenings are very soothing.

Room Tip: Choose the ground floor rooms!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guharoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

thank you for the Comments during your stay at a Blu
Hope to see you on your next holiday soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Chaaya Blu has so much going for it but does not seem to feel the need to make use of it. Great location stunning beaches and a lovely pool. Food is good too..buffet with quite a bit to choose from. Very friendly staff. This what keeps Chaaya Blu going.Maintenance seems to be pretty sloppy and room cleanliness standards not really upto the mark. Right now besides Nilaveli Resort there does not seem to be much competition to make Chaaya Blu pull up its socks but once competition sets in then a definite make over is required to stay in the running.But overall a lovely experience and would definitely go back to the lovely beaches n the good food.We stayed in the cottage and the view of the ocean was just amazing.Chaaya Blu certainly is a place to treasure.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages for an ocean view and the standard rooms for a pool view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangorange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments during your stay.
We are happy to hosted you.
Areas of concern have been addressed to better serve you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights towards the end of our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka expecting it to be a relaxing couple of days where we could unwind after attending hectic wedding celebrations and tourist attractions all over the country. We couldn't have been more disappointed.
The hotel is old, worn out and mediocre at best. The rooms are extremely basic and below average and not very clean at all. This was the most expensive of all the hotels we stayed during our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka and by far the worst value for money.
The restaurants are expensive in comparison to others and the food is not very nice. We tried the Captain's Deck buffet restaurant on the first night and were very disappointed then chose The Crab for lunch and dinner the next day. Prawns for lunch which were awful however the chicken we ordered for dinner was alright. Could not bring myself to order a crab despite their claimed speciality after the horrible prawn dish we had for lunch.

Overall we were so dissappointed with our stay at Chaaya Blu. I would definately not recommend it to anyone expecting to relax and enjoy a beach resort holiday. The hotel does not live up to expectations and the only plus side is the awesome beach it sits on.

Room Tip: Beach chalets may be a better option.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKN311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments during your stay at Blu
The hotel is 40 years old continuously improving to serve our guests needs.
Please visit us again to enjoy a improved facility. Contact me directly for reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews