We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveller rating
598
609
238
70
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
609
238
70
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab restaurantbeach chaletsri lankapool attendantmain restaurantpigeon islandseafoodwater sportsstray dogsbuffet dinnerground floorthe east coastamazing beachhalf boardwhale watchingbeach frontwelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent spot, just on a white sand beach, good service, they give you the beach towels, come with beverage, personnel is cool and helpful.
The room was clean and nice, internet in it (no need to go to the lobby), food was great, breakfast buffet huge and well supplied.

Misunderstanding on the room price though: I reserved for 2 nights, with a price guarantee of 116 USD per night. At the end of my stay, I was billed 145 USD per night. Again I checked it out too late to have it amended, but I resented a bit being overpriced of 30 USD per night.
My advice: Take care when you pay with a price guarantee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for the Comments of your stay at Blu
We have rectified the issue of rates with 3rd party supplier.
We await your return on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is located on a wonderful strip of beach. Our rooms opened out onto the beach and it was wonderful waking up to the beautiful view during our stay. Our room was neat and tidy, however the triangular arched area near the head of the bed was a bit of a hazard as we had to watch our heads every time we had to use the phone, adjust the lights etc. The staff were very friendly and Sharma of F&B was really helpful and pleasant. The buffet too had a sumptuous spread of both Sri Lankan and International cuisine and it was really nice to savour the food prepared before our eyes at the lovely action stations.

We also tried a hand at some of the adventure activities such as the tube ride they had on offer. The jet ski ride for 15 minutes however, was overpriced at SLR 5000 for 15 minutes, as Jungle beach down the road offered the same for SLR 3500..so it did feel like a rip off. Overall however, we had a very satisfying stay and the friendly staff and wonderful food were definite plus points.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for your Comments on your Holiday at Blu
We have happy you have enjoyed it
Hope to see you back on your next holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

As a hotel, they offer basic amenities and do their job well.

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
The bar and restaurant are good with live music during dinners.
The area is not very crowded so it feels like a getaway.

However there is a dearth of activities. The city has very little to offer to tourists. The hotel has a good diving center (to pigeon island) and whale watching excursions which are dictated by weather.

If you like just chilling, it is a very good place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments during your holiday at Blu
Happy to note you were satisfied during you stay and hope to see you return for your next break for Memories worth repeating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel with our family and the hotel was amazing. Their staff is friendly and the overall ambiance of the hotel is very relaxing. They have a private beach, which is clean and superb and the food was very good. Loved staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Corner Deluxe Rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for the great remarks during your stay
We are happy to note you were satisfied.
Await your return for memories worth repeating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was almost 6hrs journey from Seeduwa to Chaaya Blu.The hospitality was making us so refreshed.
We were staying at Beach Chalets (400series) and room was really spacious which was good since I was traveling with two kids.The location and the hotel were very beautiful.The food was excellent and there was a variety of local and western cuisine.The hotel staff is very helpful and polite.Especially we need to mention the security staff in the hotel was absolutely trust worthy because we had kept the car key on the door itself over night by mistake and there was some valuable things was inside the car.Next day it was found from the reception and everything was safe. The Manager (Suresh) was all over the Hotel and takes care of guest needs. We had a great feeling throughout our stay in Chaaya Blu.
Gayani.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTW2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

many Thanks for sharing kind remarks on your stay with us.
Await your arrival for memories worth repeating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews