We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be when in Trincomalee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were on there in July 2013. Although being an aged property, its still well maintained. Try to stay on beach chalets that are exactly on the beach. The staff is friendly, pool is great and the food is good.

Room Tip: Stay in beach chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhi5684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at Chaaya Blu.
We are happy that we have been able to cater to your needs during your visit to Trincomalee.
Hope to see you on your next Break for some rest and Relaxation on the east coast where the weather is perfect for 9 months of the year. ( Late November)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Chaaya Blue is a good resort in Kuchaveli, Trincomalee.
Chalets are right on the beautiful beach but rooms a bit too small for a family. You can bang your head on a frame of concrete that is too low at the headpiece of the bed. Rooms are clean and well kept.
Exceptionally good hospitality. But the food was exceptionally bad. They like to mix a lot of salt in the food which makes it totally unacceptable. The spread for dinner at the buffet was too limited with several local dishes which lacks international standards.
Chaaya blu totally differs in this matter from Chaaya tranz and Cinnamon Lodge, which serves extremely good food with an extensive array of dishes.
Except for the horrible food, the resort is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The Beach Chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRABHU60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Blu
Happy to note that your stay was good
Improvement areas are noted an will be worked upon
Await your arrival on your next holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A place with an array of positives but despite the hard work, is showing its age.
The service at this place is exceptional. All the staff were hard working and will go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable.
There was used soap, shampoo and conditioner left in the shower, which brought into question the cleanliness of the bathroom. This was rectified immediately and our two single beds were made into one bed with great efficiency.
There isn't much in terms of choice for food beyond the surrounding resorts - the popular ones require you to have made prior arrangements. There are two restaurants on the resort grounds - Crab and the typical hotel buffet. Breakfast at the buffet is very good with a wide selection of foods, however steer clear of it for dinner - your money is better spent elsewhere. Crab has a good selection of drinks and seafood but don't expect local fare as it serves international cuisine. A bit on the pricey side, but decent.
The pool is fantastic (and managed by an energetic fellow who herded our party and a group of Ukrainians into a mixed water polo match without rules - fun and a surprisingly good workout) and the beach is beautiful too. Keep your eye out for the local fauna that decides to take a dip too.

Room Tip: Be placed on the bottom level that has direct access to the resort grounds and a tap to rinse your f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBnMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for your Comments during your stay.
over 40 years old we are continuously improving to meet our needs of our guests.
Await your return for memories worth repeating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good rooms, restaurant, pool and as usual for Sri Lanka, very helpful staff who are genuinely friendly. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a beach hotel in Tricomalee. The hotel does charge way too much for the standard trips for dolphin watching or snorkeling at pigeon island, so go with one the local boat guys or dive shops instead. A good bar just along the beach is Fernandoes. Also a good alternative to eating at the hotel, but can't fault the hotel food. The breakfast and evening buffets are good.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are ground floor over looking the pool and the beach and with your own balcony. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcloupet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Blu
We are happy you are satisfied.
We will continuously improve to better ourselves for creating memories worth repeating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely location. Staff welcoming and friendly. Room near pool and beach. Room clean And air conditioning adequate with the fan on also. Few stray dogs on beach but not really a nuisance.
Food was excellent and plenty of choice. Not much entertainment but may is really out if season.thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Had beach BBQ on last night which was great but far too much food! Fernandos bar down beach great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments on your holiday
WE are happy to have met your expectations
Await your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

close to beach, good food, friendly service We stayed at the Chaaya Blu for 3 nights, the beach is just a few steps away and it is beautiful and clean. We styed in a chalet vertualy on the beach. food is expensive but ordinary

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajith226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for Comments
We are happy to have met your expectations
Await your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Chaaya Blu for 3 nights, the beach is just a few steps away and it is beautiful and clean. Our room was on the first floor with a view to the pool and we liked the fact that we could walk easily from the room to the pool. The pool was awesome, except for too many crows but it is easily forgotten with the overall beauty of the place. The sports attractions are very expensive! such as the jetski was priced at 50,000 Sri Lankan Ruppies for 15 minutes, the hotel restaurant are very pricey too. I would suggest to eat outside. We walked a few meters along the beach and found this really cool place called Fernando's Bar, where the food is affordable and really good. We ordered some sea food and it was amazing.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor so you can have the pool within steps from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmonik18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments
Our rates are in peak season from May to August due to demand
You can enjoy the serenity from September to April at discounted rates
Await your arrival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
363 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
465 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
496 reviews
3.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trincomalee
8 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range: £39 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing